We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even though it's a nice looking hotel, untrained staff (and some minor false advertisement in the room description) makes for a”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Henry Hotel Cebu
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Even though it's a nice looking hotel, untrained staff (and some minor false advertisement in the room description) makes for a”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review while inside room 605 at this hotel. Just checked-in a few minutes ago. First thing I checked was if they had set-up the curtains in the bathroom doorway of XXL room as previously requested, NO CURTAINS!

I had done this request first time when I made my original reservation and second time when I confirmed my reservation last night.

Upon arrival and check-in, I reminded the the person doing the check-in of this request again and she seemed surprised at my request and was it was obvious she wasn't informed about my request. Since the room was not yet ready, my family went for lunch nearby and I was confident the curtains would be set up when we got the room.

And as I mentioned in the first part of my review, NO CURTAINS!

I immediately called reception and requested for the curtains to be set up. Lo and behold, the person had the galls to tell me that the bathrooms really don't have doors and curtains would only be set up upon request! DUUUHHHHH!?!?!?!?!?!

On a side note. Reception called me as I am writing this review, informing me that the person who will setup up the curtains is quote "ON THE WAY". 15 mins later, still nothing...

THUS THE LOW RATING FOR "SERVICE" CATEGORY.

Going to the room itself, The Henry's official website notes that XXL rooms have "1 double sink and pedestal bathtub". Upon checking, only 1 sink in both bathrooms, and bathtub was regular type and NOT pedestal.

THUS THE LOW RATING FOR "ROOM" CATEGORY.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benitz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your feedback is paramount to us and we thank you for your review. Please accept my sincerest apologies that your bathroom curtains were not set up timely, and for the inconvenience it caused you. Discussion was done with the team prior this response and rest assured that necessary actions were already taken. We shall also review our website content to ensure all info are updated and correct. Meantime, we hope you would still consider our hotel and allow us to make it up to you on your future visits. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    292
    76
    18
    10
See reviews for
126
339
102
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Fantastic hotel, great room, good food. The hotel is located in a neighborhood with European restaurants and shops, so a nice little perk if you're missing things from home. Very clean and modern, equipped with cable tv.

Room Tip: The hotel is located in a hip little neighborhood with new European shops and restaurants. Room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Althea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review. Looking forward to your next stay in The Henry, a destination like no other. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zamboanga City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Rooms on the street side are noisy. Windows did not close well. Bathroom had no door. All else is ok, just ok. Food in restaurant, especially the breakfast is not good. Bar was dead. It was off-season.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your thoughts. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience brought by the noise and for not meeting your expectation on breakfast and bar. We are working to rectify all the issues raised and be assured that the whole team appreciate the opportunity you presented to improve our services. We look forward to hosting your next stay in Cebu. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We got upgraded to the XX-Large room and it was awesome! There were 2 king size beds and 2 bathrooms. But one bathroom with the bath tub was open (no door closure). There was a bedroom inside the suite with one of the beds and the bathroom (with door). The whole suite was very roomy also with a couch and lounge area. It could fit 1 big family with lots of luggage. There's also a swimming pool downstairs.

As you can see from the photos, the hotel was nicely decorated and service was very friendly. If you appreciate interior decor and art, this would be a good hotel to stay in.

Loved the toiletries - good quality. and free bottled mineral water.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzlightyear182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review and for considering The Henry a perfect boutique hotel. Your inspiring feedback will be shared with the whole team. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The perfect hotel 2 stay in.Nice room, very clean.The breakfast was very good with a good coffee and ham.Super friendly staff.Styly decorations, everything fits.100% in all.Thanks!Also a good selection of wines in the restaurant.We looked into other rooms, we would have stayed in any room.The only thing which was not good, the toilet paper holder almost hits the floor.Better to install higher

Room Tip: Can take any room.They are all very nice.We had a "BigRoom", kit was already very spacey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 946Matthias1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your experience at The Henry..Like No Other. Happy to know that our breakfast, coffee, ham, wine selection, stylish decor and staff met your expectations. Yes, our rooms are a lot bigger than the usual cut. We acknowledge your suggestion on the positioning of our toilet paper holder and will further look into possible improvements. Meantime, please give us the privilege of hosting your stay again when back in Cebu. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Henry hotel makes you smile! The hotel feels very fresh and the staff is extremely professional and service oriented. We got a free upgrade to a larger room which was appreciated. We stayed at different hotels during our time in Cebu City, and I think that The Henry hotel had by far the Best Deal. The hotel has very good prizes!

Rooms are incredibly large, comfy bed, huge bathroom and many TV channels. The prices in the mini bar is pretty low, but the range could be a little wider. The hotel is near several restaurants, and beauty salons. We had an awsome night at the bar next door. where we met many local residents who showed us around the city's nightlife.

There is also a nice pool in the courtyard where we were trying to sunbathe, but there was no sun by the sun loungers, so we lay down on the edge of the pool, which worked fine. Asians do not want to lie in the sun as we Swedes do. So there is an explanation for why the sun loungers are in the shade.

I will stay here next time I visit Cebu, After I made the reservation I found out that they had really good deals on accommodation and dining at their website, I will book it next time. The only thing that could be improved is the breakfast, which in my opinion was boring.

I will be back next time i visit Cebu!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiklasKarlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking to time to share with the millions of on- line visitors to Tripadvisor how your stay has been in The Henry as compared to other hotels you've been to in Cebu City because our hotel simply offered you the best deal. It's nice to know too that our hotel made you SMILE because of our professional and service oriented staff as you so generously put it. We welcome your feedback and suggestions and be assured that they will be appropriately acted upon. The whole team looks forward to The Henry..Like No Other. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Effort is made to be a bit different and creative, which is appreciated. There is an 'art galery' adjoining the bar on second floor, which didn't have anything particularly impressive, but it has potential, could be a really cool place if they have the right kind of events there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturalnature9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for noticing and appreciating the hotel's creativity and unique self. Your feedback is paramount to us and we are constantly looking for ways to make each and every area of the hotel equally interesting to attract more guests and activities. One undertaking we have at present is an ongoing improvement of the front driveway which upon completion will not only level up our service but create another eye candy experience for our guests. We look forward to your next visit to The Henry... Like No Other. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
3,030 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 87 in Cebu City
1,151 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 87 in Cebu City
2,666 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
#7 of 87 in Cebu City
536 reviews
8.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Hotel Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Hotel Cebu

Property: The Henry Hotel Cebu
Address: Ma Luisa Entrance Road | One Paseo Compound, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henry Hotel Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Cebu City, The Henry is a boutique hotel that is unique, full of personality and charm. A hotel "like no other", it radiates an out-of-the-box hospitality experience. A mix of European, vintage, industrial and rustic vibe radiates from The Henry's interior. With 38 rooms of unique decor, your stay at The Henry will be a memorable discovery! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Henry Hotel Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Hotel Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing