We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Henry: Setting New Standards in Hospitality and Service Management | Cebu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Henry Hotel Cebu
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

“An urban boutique hotel that surprisingly showcase its character through its exquisite design and offers comfort and convenience at a very reasonable price”, that is how I would describe my overall experience at “The Henry” in Cebu.”

Full review here: http://trackingtreasure.net/2013/07/the-henry-setting-new-standards-in-hospitality-and-service-management-cebu/

Genuine hospitality, an art gallery, a great value for your money, all of this only at The Henry.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarwinCayetano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review that highlighted the unique character, exquisite design, great value for money, guest comfort and genuine hospitality - the kind of experience our guests can look forward to at The Henry... Like No Other. I look forward to having you back in the near future. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 993 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We finally got the chance to stay at the Henry Hotel (formerly the House of Cebu) when we had stay in the city for one more night after our trip to Northern Cebu due to flooding in Manila.

It's a fun and quirky boutique hotel in an area with watering holes, restaurants, and a nice-looking spa. You only need to walk a few steps and you can take your pick from the many establishments surrounding it. Vintage pieces, graffiti art, and random objects are cleverly placed throughout the building. I never felt that it was pretentious. You also get the industrial feel because of the exposed beams, lighting, AC units, etc on the ceiling.

There was a swimming pool but we didn't check it out. Before checking in, we took a look at the Big and Large rooms (the XL and XXL rooms were all booked that night) and decided on the Big room since there was just two of us girls and the Large room had no partition between the bedroom proper and the bathroom. That kind of setup would probably be more suited for couples or families.

This is a boutique hotel, so don't expect porters/bellboy helping you with your bags as well as room service and stuff. The room was clean and very spacious; i wondered how much bigger the other rooms are. They provided towels, drinking water, room slippers, toiletries. The AC is also easily adjustable. One very minor thing...when we first went inside, there wasn't any toilet paper in the bathroom. Not really a good thing when one of us really had to do her business and the other person wasn't in the room.

We got the rate without breakfast. It's an additional php1000, if i remember correctly. Instead, my friend ordered breakfast ala carte the next day. The corned beef serving was really small for the price. Kinda felt ripped off. Upon seeing the small serving, i opted not to order and just look for food at the airport. Front desk let us leave behind several boxes of lechon belly with them (for pickup later in the day by our other friends), which was nice.

They'd gladly look for a cab for you, so we never had any problem looking for cabs during our stay. They were usually there within 2 minutes. All in all, I had a pleasant experience during our stay. Wished we could've stayed another night, though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you had pleasant experience all in all in The Henry that you wished you stayed another night. The whole team certainly would look forward to your next visit. Regret that we fell short on some items. Please be assured that the concerns you raised will be addressed appropriately. Nonetheless, it has been a pleasure to have served you and thank you for making The Henry your choice of hotel in Cebu City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My only regret with booking a room at The Henry Hotel is that we could only stay for one night. Everything about this hotel is fantastic, from the welcoming staff, the art in the rooms and lobby, the unbelievably comfortable beds and the great bathrooms.

Possibly the best value hotel I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. I would fly back to Cebu City just to stay here again.

If you stay, you must try Michaelangelo's pizza a few doors down. The best pizza I've ever had!

Room Tip: Even the smallest rooms are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamalaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Delighted that your stay in The Henry...Like No Other was such a fantastic experience. We are inspired to know that the team did a great job. On your next visit, you might want to try our white pizza at Rica's restaurant at the ground level- a certified winner! I look forward to hosting your next visit in Cebu City. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Is kind of strange to find an hotel like this in a city like cebu. It could be perfectly in Sydney, Hong Kong or Singapour. Its a concept, very urban, like the modern versión of Chaplin's Modern Times.
Its more than chic, is stylish. Rooms are excelent, bed are a dream. Every rooms has it own soul. The decorador and the architec did a very good Job. You will find all you need in the room. They have a lovely restaurant, made me think to Alice in wonderland, with a very welcomeming table with high chairs, you will feel special during your breakfast or dinner. Service is so nice and philipinians are, charming. So you should be coming here to stay, if you are visiting Cebu. Congratulation for all the good work. Ps there is a nice spa just in the right side, and some fancy skin treatmens shop, and an italian restaurant just outside.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairedelune078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your your review and such rating that simply gives an impression of the out of the box and stellar experience you had with us. I couldn't agree more when you mentioned that hotel is comparable to hotels found in other countries yet not common in Cebu (and in fact, in the Philippines) which makes The Henry...Like No Other. Further, thank you for pointing out in your review our strength and unique qualities which is why more and more guests and travelers want to revisit and stay in our hotel. We look forward to your return. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Where do I start? Everything was above and beyond what I had expected.

This hotel is impeccably perfect. The staff was very helpful and kind to me. The room interior itself has so much character with a very comfortable bed along with beautiful paintings. The room was very big and extremely comfortable. I loved the swimming pool. It was very clean and inviting. The restaurant attached to the hotel has a great breakfast menu and nice coffee drinks offered. There was a really delicious Thai restaurant behind the hotel along with Japanese and Italian restaurants. I loved my stay. I have zero complaints. The staff answered all of my questions and gave me advice as to where in Cebu City I should visit. If I'm ever back in Cebu City I will gladly return for another stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alana67716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Happy to know that you are among our many satisfied guests. Thank you for appreciating our service, the comfort and artistry in your room and the hotel facilities. The ladies and gentlemen of The Henry would gladly look forward to having you back soon. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I booked Henry because it is quirky and unique. I am always attracted by a different kind of experience. It seems everybody feels the same way because they were all there on a Saturday night. The check in was very straightforward exactly how they sounded like when I confirmed my reservation on the phone. It's not exactly the "welcoming" feel u get from most hotels. Of course they didn't seem to note down my initial request over the phone to get us a room on a higher floor away from the party noise. It didnt matter anymore I just wanted to get my room pronto so I can get some sleep. The drain in the shower clogged and again the design wasn't really about good lighting. Not much of a concern really but these are small things u notice when traveling. But the art, the design and architecture is fascinating. Its not BenCab, but its something the young and hip would appreciate. Nice location too. Good restaurants surround the area, u won't worry about walking out at night to grab a bite.

They have a small pool good enough for a quick dip. Make sure u lock ur doors. Elevators don't have a security access. My husband also asked for an extra security key and the front desk never asked for his identity or if he was a hotel guest. Overall it was a good experience. Something u might want to try once while in Cebu.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luciouslu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Your review is paramount to us and we welcome the opportunity you presented to further improve our service. On behalf of my team, my sincerest apologies for whatever inconvenience you might have experienced. Nonetheless, thank you for recommending our quirky and unique hotel and we look forward to having you back soon. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

It has been almost a month since I once again visited the queen city of the south: Cebu. I miss the hospitality of the Cebuanos, the clean air and Cebu's pride lechon. But before filling my stomach with Cebu's delicacies, the first thing that I had to do was to look for an accommodation. And when I say accommodation, it's not just a room where I can sleep and rest. I want something that is unique and will make me feel like I'm at home. Good thing there's The Henry Hotel.

The room that I got is specially designed for couples. A glass wall separates the bathroom. But there's a shower curtain for your privacy of course.

The bed is spacious enough for two. Linens are clean and changed daily. Pillows are so fluffy I'm gonna die (heard that line before hehehe). The floor is not carpeted so it really blended with its architectural design. Feels like in Europe.

There's TV, a DVD player and mini-refrigerator. Worried about your personal belongings? Don't worry, a security vault is also included where you can place your important documents such as plane tickets, passports etc.

The Henry Hotel has its own restaurant located on the ground floor. It has similar interior and design, which makes them stand out to other restaurants. Breakfast is included in your room rate and they offer different sets: Filipino, American and European.

The Henry Hotel's interior is really an eye-candy. Paintings hanging on the walls, classic car etc will really get your attention. It's like a museum within a hotel and a hotel within a museum.


The Henry Hotel is 10 minutes away from major establishments like Ayala Center, SM Cebu and IT Park. Airport transfers are available upon request.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay here and if I will visit Cebu once again, I'll make sure that I'll stay in The Henry Hotel one more time.


Thank you The Henry Hotel.

Room Tip: 3rd floor i think is specifically designed for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bino B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your eye candy experience at The Henry. We truly appreciate your positive review and look forward to your next visit. Thank you very much.

Mirro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,485 reviews
1 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#3 of 92 in Cebu City
1,334 reviews
1.4 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
1.9 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#2 of 92 in Cebu City
518 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
#6 of 92 in Cebu City
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Hotel Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Hotel Cebu

Address: Ma Luisa Entrance Road | One Paseo Compound, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range: $63 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henry Hotel Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Cebu City, The Henry is a boutique hotel that is unique, full of personality and charm. A hotel "like no other", it radiates an out-of-the-box hospitality experience. A mix of European, vintage, industrial and rustic vibe radiates from The Henry's interior. With 38 rooms of unique decor, your stay at The Henry will be a memorable discovery! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Henry Hotel Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Hotel Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing