We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel and lovely staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Henry Hotel Cebu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Henry Hotel Cebu
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great hotel and lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was excited about staying at this hotel as the reviews were so good and I wasn't disappointed. This hotel was great. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the hotel itself had good facilities.

The room was large with a nice comfy bed and everything cleaned nicely. Some people have commented that you could hear music from the bar on the second floor but I couldn't hear anything, but I was up on the 5th floor, so perhaps that was why.

i thought the bar itself was pretty good too and the staff were very attentive and helpful.

The pool was nice and very quiet so was nice to lounge by and the staff at reception will provide towels.

I had breakfast at the restaurant and it wasn't bad. They weren't the biggest portions, but filled me up all the same. I guess I'm just a bit greedy and would have liked a bit more, but they do provide a huge pot of tea.

The hotel is about 10 mins car journey from the Ayala Centre which has some great restaurant options.

My only complaint would be that when the rooms were made up, they didn't put out more water, but I'm sure it would have come if I'd asked for it. Also the wifi connection wasn't great. If you need to do important work while in Cebu I probably wouldn't chose this hotel for that reason, however the receptionist did tell me they would soon be getting an upgrade.

All in all a very good stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    234
    54
    14
    5
See reviews for
100
271
84
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I spent a night here and really loved the San Francisco loft vibe, the Asian minimalist bath, ecclectic decor in the rooms and in the public spaces, the comfort of the beds and luxury linens, and I even enjoyed the Germanic-inspired menu in the restaurant. I popped next door to the spa in my downtime for a massage. This was a great value compared to other decrepit properties in Cebu nearing the same price point - this place was really decadently nice compared to a place I stayed in Cebu only a week earlier that was very sketchy as far as cleanliness among other things, and not much more expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N_bay_tk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The service is awesome! Right down to the security staff! Clean, spacious and comfortable room. Awesome decor with plenty photo taking opportunities at every corner. Pleasantly surprised with the surroundings boutique cafes, spas outlets, Korean restaurants and nearby shopping outlets. Really great value for money! :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThamLaiMun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in a XL room what was really spacious and modern but same time felt cold and empty with congrete finished sailing. No privacy on the shower and cr because no doors. Room did not include minibar was mentioned on the booking site i reserved room but upon my request i got a small refridgerator.

Next 7 nights i stayed in a standard room what i liked a lot more and really good value of money price under 2500 pesos/ night. Comfortable bed and quality liners.

Hotel pool was nicely kept,.cleaned up daily and there were few sun bathing beds also for resting. But only 2 tables just nearby hotel restaurants which were many times occupied. I really liked pool bar and took a daily pm. coffee and findador over there. What i maybe missed was music even silent mode?

Rica,.hotel restaurant is desingned stylish and the food was realy delicious. My friend from Australia complain chicken he ate as a raw and pizza not so tasty but i ate beef and salads and i loved it every single time. Breakfast is really so expensive 425pesos+ 10% service charge and only 4 different kind of ones available, BUFFEE,..i could understand that price but not a selection of basic breakfast plate with juice and coffee.

Scrapyard bar and lounge on the second floor,.ohh,..service is even too intensive, grew followed me what ever i did what felt to European some weird,.

Service , nothing to complain,.this hotel really wish you welcome and enjoy your stay even few problems appeared upon the time of check out , which was handled professional way and customer was happy having smile on his face again.

I will be back, hotel is new and nice, safe and clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Niko_sta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

After a bad expierience on Mactan Island, we came in a heaven of courtesy. House of Cebu.
This is what you expect in Design hotels in the big cities of the world. And now also in Cebu.
All the rooms with an own caracter and paintings on the wall. A perfect swimming pool outside, a nice menu in the restaurant and the Scrabyard bar on the 2nd floor. We stayed there for four nights and promissed to come back after visiting Busuanga Coron Island. Coming home, is what we said when the management and staff welcomed us back for a last night. Go and see for your self. We loved it. Cees and Theo, Weert, Holland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceesentheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The main highlights of our stay at House of Cebu were:

Staff - Friendly, helpful and always smiling. Customer service at any place that you go to, whether it be a hotel, restaurant, bank etc is always a reflection of the business itself. I was very impressed by the staff at the House of Cebu. One staff even offered to take us out to the Sinulog feista celebrations and I was so grateful for her offer.

Rooms - We selected the Big Room to stay in and it blew us away. Not only was the room very big, it was furnished with impressive furniture and had a nice large modern bathroom.

Restaurant - I loved the food here and was happy to eat here for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The downside of the hotel was:

Location - It was a little out of the city centre, not that it was a big deal. Given that we were there during the SInulog celebration, it was harder to get into the city from the hotel if you were keen to watch the SInulog parade.

Scrapyard Bar - I've read that this bar is a separate business from the hotel itself. We found the staff here very rude and given that it is a bar... it was opened til the early hours of the next morning. Therefore, there was always loud music playing and often you could hear from your room the people at the bar. We came across a couple who had checked in that night, just to stay for that night, but had to re-locate to a different hotel as it was difficult for them to get a good night's sleep. That is disappointing. It is hard to have a bar at a small hotel like this as the noise can be heard on all levels of the building.

Room Tip: Opt for the 'Big Room' option. You will not be disappointed :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petporter
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you are needing a place to stay over night or you are there on business this is a great hotel. loved the swimming pool & interiors. staff were friendly and professional.
We stayed in two rooms, they moved us to a room which was away from the bar as a big party was booked for NYE.
Rooms are all individually designed, clean, large and modern.
This hotel is in a process of changing its name to Henry. It should be noted that the rooms do not have a door to the bathroom & toilet, they are located in an alcove in the room, would be good if the hotel reviewed this for guests privacy.
The breakfast which is included was very basic and not consistent each day, hopefully they will look at addressing their menu as it is quite basic. Overall this was a good choice, thanks for a great stay! We would book here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 86 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,497 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#3 of 86 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#7 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
#6 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#5 of 86 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Hotel Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Hotel Cebu

Property: The Henry Hotel Cebu
Address: Ma Luisa Entrance Road | One Paseo Compound, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henry Hotel Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Cebu City, The Henry is a boutique hotel that is unique, full of personality and charm. A hotel "like no other", it radiates an out-of-the-box hospitality experience. A mix of European, vintage, industrial and rustic vibe radiates from The Henry's interior. With 38 rooms of unique decor, your stay at The Henry will be a memorable discovery! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Henry Hotel Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Hotel Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing