We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Henry, very nearby rated 5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Henry Hotel Cebu
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Finland, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Hotel Henry, very nearby rated 5”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in a XL room what was really spacious and modern but same time felt cold and empty with congrete finished sailing. No privacy on the shower and cr because no doors. Room did not include minibar was mentioned on the booking site i reserved room but upon my request i got a small refridgerator.

Next 7 nights i stayed in a standard room what i liked a lot more and really good value of money price under 2500 pesos/ night. Comfortable bed and quality liners.

Hotel pool was nicely kept,.cleaned up daily and there were few sun bathing beds also for resting. But only 2 tables just nearby hotel restaurants which were many times occupied. I really liked pool bar and took a daily pm. coffee and findador over there. What i maybe missed was music even silent mode?

Rica,.hotel restaurant is desingned stylish and the food was realy delicious. My friend from Australia complain chicken he ate as a raw and pizza not so tasty but i ate beef and salads and i loved it every single time. Breakfast is really so expensive 425pesos+ 10% service charge and only 4 different kind of ones available, BUFFEE,..i could understand that price but not a selection of basic breakfast plate with juice and coffee.

Scrapyard bar and lounge on the second floor,.ohh,..service is even too intensive, grew followed me what ever i did what felt to European some weird,.

Service , nothing to complain,.this hotel really wish you welcome and enjoy your stay even few problems appeared upon the time of check out , which was handled professional way and customer was happy having smile on his face again.

I will be back, hotel is new and nice, safe and clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Niko_sta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    321
    84
    22
    12
See reviews for
134
365
108
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

After a bad expierience on Mactan Island, we came in a heaven of courtesy. House of Cebu.
This is what you expect in Design hotels in the big cities of the world. And now also in Cebu.
All the rooms with an own caracter and paintings on the wall. A perfect swimming pool outside, a nice menu in the restaurant and the Scrabyard bar on the 2nd floor. We stayed there for four nights and promissed to come back after visiting Busuanga Coron Island. Coming home, is what we said when the management and staff welcomed us back for a last night. Go and see for your self. We loved it. Cees and Theo, Weert, Holland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceesentheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The main highlights of our stay at House of Cebu were:

Staff - Friendly, helpful and always smiling. Customer service at any place that you go to, whether it be a hotel, restaurant, bank etc is always a reflection of the business itself. I was very impressed by the staff at the House of Cebu. One staff even offered to take us out to the Sinulog feista celebrations and I was so grateful for her offer.

Rooms - We selected the Big Room to stay in and it blew us away. Not only was the room very big, it was furnished with impressive furniture and had a nice large modern bathroom.

Restaurant - I loved the food here and was happy to eat here for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The downside of the hotel was:

Location - It was a little out of the city centre, not that it was a big deal. Given that we were there during the SInulog celebration, it was harder to get into the city from the hotel if you were keen to watch the SInulog parade.

Scrapyard Bar - I've read that this bar is a separate business from the hotel itself. We found the staff here very rude and given that it is a bar... it was opened til the early hours of the next morning. Therefore, there was always loud music playing and often you could hear from your room the people at the bar. We came across a couple who had checked in that night, just to stay for that night, but had to re-locate to a different hotel as it was difficult for them to get a good night's sleep. That is disappointing. It is hard to have a bar at a small hotel like this as the noise can be heard on all levels of the building.

Room Tip: Opt for the 'Big Room' option. You will not be disappointed :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petporter
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you are needing a place to stay over night or you are there on business this is a great hotel. loved the swimming pool & interiors. staff were friendly and professional.
We stayed in two rooms, they moved us to a room which was away from the bar as a big party was booked for NYE.
Rooms are all individually designed, clean, large and modern.
This hotel is in a process of changing its name to Henry. It should be noted that the rooms do not have a door to the bathroom & toilet, they are located in an alcove in the room, would be good if the hotel reviewed this for guests privacy.
The breakfast which is included was very basic and not consistent each day, hopefully they will look at addressing their menu as it is quite basic. Overall this was a good choice, thanks for a great stay! We would book here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The interior of the House of Cebu has a modern industrial look. The ceiling and floor of the entire hotel is left unfinished. So you could see bare cement . No carpeting on the floor. I guess this was the reason that on my second day, I could hear what seemed to be trolley bags rolling on the floor above my room and footsteps of people walking around the room above me. I was not able to rest after a hectic all-morning meeting. There is no kettle in the room and no refrigerator either. The wifi inside my room was very weak.

However, the room is clean, very large and the bed is comfortable. I was glad to see a toothbrush among the bath amenities. Toothbrush has disappeared in most European hotels except the five-star ones. The staff were very helpful. I was served a nice lemon drink when I arrived late at night. Though not in the city center, location is ok. Cebu is a small city and the hotel staff can get you a taxi anytime. There is a nice restaurant by the lobby on the ground floor which serves reasonably priced dishes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b0h0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your valued feedback. As our guests' comfort and the improvement of our facilities are always our top priority, be assured that we are taking the necessary action to address the issues on your review. Meantime, i look forward to your next visit. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

great reception and fine room but unlike promised there was no internet. I called the reception and they advised to come to the lobby to connect. Also there no reception though the password was correct. My mac always and everywhere connects in a blink. A boy reset the router to no effect. The manager said their own devices were connected. On the way up to the room i asked a random guest if he was able to connect and he said no,....we called reception 5 hours ago and they quoted a technical defect. Had to go to a restaurant around the corner to easily connect and do my urgent business and importantly.... know what to do tomorrow! This doesn't make sense to me really. The floors may be polished and the staff over friendly but i do not want the feeling of being held for ransom.

Room Tip: don't if you need to be online, not reliable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Peter G,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. Pleased to advise that upgrade of our WIFI facilities is underway and we expect to have better and improved WIFI very soon. Meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and for the late response. We hope to host your next visit to Cebu and regain your confidence. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab,Ut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel changed owners in November. The staff, pool and rooms are great but now there is a disco in the hotel which is incredibly loud until after midnight--impossible to sleep. I politely complained but they said that there is nothing they can do as the disco is a separate operation. Also the I had a late breakfast on the first morning and there was very loud disco music in the restaurant-- just muesli, yogurt and coffee was 12 usd. THIS IS A ONCE GREAT HOTEL WHICH HAS BEEN RUINED BY NEW OWNERSHIP.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmikesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Mike Smith,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. On behalf of the whole team, please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had during your stay with us due to the noise coming from the bar and the loud music at the restaurant. Please be assured that together with the owners/ management of the bar we are taking the necessary measures to resolve this issue. Your comment on the restaurant music and breakfast were well noted too. Meantime, we look forward to your next visit and offer service recovery. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,282 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 91 in Cebu City
1,261 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
1.9 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 91 in Cebu City
483 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
#7 of 91 in Cebu City
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Hotel Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Hotel Cebu

Property: The Henry Hotel Cebu
Address: Ma Luisa Entrance Road | One Paseo Compound, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henry Hotel Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Cebu City, The Henry is a boutique hotel that is unique, full of personality and charm. A hotel "like no other", it radiates an out-of-the-box hospitality experience. A mix of European, vintage, industrial and rustic vibe radiates from The Henry's interior. With 38 rooms of unique decor, your stay at The Henry will be a memorable discovery! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Henry Hotel Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Hotel Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing