We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place but no internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Henry Hotel Cebu
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great place but no internet”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

great reception and fine room but unlike promised there was no internet. I called the reception and they advised to come to the lobby to connect. Also there no reception though the password was correct. My mac always and everywhere connects in a blink. A boy reset the router to no effect. The manager said their own devices were connected. On the way up to the room i asked a random guest if he was able to connect and he said no,....we called reception 5 hours ago and they quoted a technical defect. Had to go to a restaurant around the corner to easily connect and do my urgent business and importantly.... know what to do tomorrow! This doesn't make sense to me really. The floors may be polished and the staff over friendly but i do not want the feeling of being held for ransom.

Room Tip: don't if you need to be online, not reliable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Peter G,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. Pleased to advise that upgrade of our WIFI facilities is underway and we expect to have better and improved WIFI very soon. Meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and for the late response. We hope to host your next visit to Cebu and regain your confidence. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    292
    76
    18
    10
See reviews for
126
339
102
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moab,Ut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel changed owners in November. The staff, pool and rooms are great but now there is a disco in the hotel which is incredibly loud until after midnight--impossible to sleep. I politely complained but they said that there is nothing they can do as the disco is a separate operation. Also the I had a late breakfast on the first morning and there was very loud disco music in the restaurant-- just muesli, yogurt and coffee was 12 usd. THIS IS A ONCE GREAT HOTEL WHICH HAS BEEN RUINED BY NEW OWNERSHIP.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmikesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Mike Smith,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. On behalf of the whole team, please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had during your stay with us due to the noise coming from the bar and the loud music at the restaurant. Please be assured that together with the owners/ management of the bar we are taking the necessary measures to resolve this issue. Your comment on the restaurant music and breakfast were well noted too. Meantime, we look forward to your next visit and offer service recovery. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This review is overdue but hopefully not too late. My husband and I stayed at this property in the first week of SEP2012 and we chose this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary and my husband's birthday. There were very few reviews of the property as the hotel had opened its doors only a few months earlier, but after viewing the hotel website, we knew we wanted to stay here. The hotel does not look like one from the exterior or interior. Once you step into the lobby, you are greeted by the friendly staff and a RED MAN with a cheeky grin! The lobby is eye-catching in its decor and you feel as if you stepped into someone's home. We chose the X-large room which is the size of a one bedroom apartment and it was very spacious and well decorated. The mural on the wall, the polished cement flooring, the uncovered ceiling and the furnishings gave it a realxing atmosphere...and the ensuite was absolutely spacious too. The hotel's dining room has large glass window panes that let the sunlight through and a decor that is well balanced and unique. Lots of cosy spots to chill out. The breakfast menu has various options and it was perfect for us as we do not like buffet spreads. We loved the swimming pool area with its terrace and greenery and it is very similar to a large pool in the backyard of a lovely home! The service is very professional and not overbearing and the food delicious with a menu incorporating western and local dishes. The decor and furnishings of the hotel gives you an insight into the character, creativity and personality of the owners. It is evident that they have dedicated a lot of time, effort in sourcing for the materials and furnishings and are very passionate in making this hotel work. For us it was a hotel that was absolutely comfortable, clean and welcoming. We felt very much at home, dined comfortably and slept soundly at night.
The location of the hotel was perfect for us too....away from the hustle and bustle of downtown.
There are lots of restaurants specializing in European cuisine within walking distance as well as Asian supermarkets located on the main thoroughfare and a shopping mall with restaurants. pubs, cineplax, supermarket and a department store that caters mostly for the locals. We stayed here for a week and it was a most relaxing holiday for us. Our sincere thanks to May and her husband and to Bev and all the wonderful staff for making this a holiday to remember. Thank you also for the delicious and mouthwatering birthday cake! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Lots of art and quirky furnishings make this hotel fun. I liked the over-sized rooms with modern, minimalist furnishings. Wonderful staff and decent location off the busy street.

This is definitely one of my favorite hotels in Cebu and most certainly will be my choice when returning.

Room Tip: Just book a standard size room, the larger ones are only slightly bigger. Also, note that there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeaducedByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel is so nice and peaceful. the room is so clean and the rest room is so impressive. I'm so satisfied with the service of the staff and the amenities that The House of Cebu has. This is an incredible and affordable hotel. It has a unique style and appearance from the outside. The staff are excellent and friendly. Truly a House of Cebu that can be consider a HOME>

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Percy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed just for one night, but the service was excellent, very clean and with a nice terrace and swimming pool in case it gets too hot. The decoration is funky and although they combine different styles it doesn't look overwhelming. Its a unique style! The service is wonderful, very helpful and quick...trying to make your stay even better! You have a variety of options for the breakfast, its worth taking it!!! All in all...100% recommendable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cludie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We found this incredible hotel on Agoda. It is like nothing we have ever stayed at in all our travels. The hotel decor is out of this world. May has done a fantastic job of combining her ideas into something unique and special. The staff are excellent and so efficient and friendly. We only stayed one night in a BIG room and it was BIG. Our bathroom did not have a door which was not a problem as this is the design of the room. Each room is different. My sisters room had a glass wall looking into the bathroom...with a curtain for privacy. Oh the bed was incredible. The sheets were first class and the pillows were heaven unlike most SE Asian hotels which are like rubble!!! Even the toilet paper was absolutely beautiful. The decor has to be seen to be believed. We went back the following night to check out the Scrapyard bar and it was interesting. She has used a lot of recycled materials in her design. A truly wonderful hotel. Highly recommended. We really appreciated the lift in the hotel van to the Ayala shopping centre. We wish you every success.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank astra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
3,029 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 87 in Cebu City
1,151 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 87 in Cebu City
2,664 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
#7 of 87 in Cebu City
535 reviews
8.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Hotel Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Hotel Cebu

Property: The Henry Hotel Cebu
Address: Ma Luisa Entrance Road | One Paseo Compound, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henry Hotel Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Cebu City, The Henry is a boutique hotel that is unique, full of personality and charm. A hotel "like no other", it radiates an out-of-the-box hospitality experience. A mix of European, vintage, industrial and rustic vibe radiates from The Henry's interior. With 38 rooms of unique decor, your stay at The Henry will be a memorable discovery! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Henry Hotel Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Hotel Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing