We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cheap, decent location”
Review of M Citi Suites Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
M Citi Suites Cebu
Ranked #16 of 78 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The standard rooms are basic fare. Clean and cosy, but not much more.

Concierge is friendly and forthcoming and I managed to have my room made up even at an odd hours. The flip side is that the room does not have a safe - instead, it comes with a caveat that rooms with valuables 'left lying around' will not be made up. I guess my laptop counted, and the cleaner gave my room a miss during his/her rounds.

The bed, blankets and pillows are wondrously comfortable, although my wife and I found the mattress and blanket curiously smaller than our queen sized bed back home. Nevertheless, we managed to have a good rest during our two nights there.

The location is good, being next to Cybergate with the excellent Moon Cafe. Avoid the street hawker centre nearby - it is haunted by transvestite touts and permeated by dense charcoal smoke. Instead, hop on the 14D Jeepney to Ayala shopping centre for 8 Pesos, or simply walk a little further for other decent options. If in doubt, the receptionist speaks fluent English and is more than willing to help.

No swimming pool or spa options noticed, but this is not a large hotel, so I didn't miss not having them

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn_Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for M Citi Suites Cebu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 87 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at M Citi last March then again in April. Great clean comfortable place to stay in, can't ask for anything more. Superior service from courteous staff; truly happy and satisfied. Will surely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missyboogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and reasonably priced. Wi fi and breakfast is included in the price of the room. It is centerally located close to shopping and eating places. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDay32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a budget hotel in Cebu where you can expect friendly and helpful staff, a small restaurant, good central location, and clean facilities, this is the place to go. While it may be a tad overpriced for what it is, the couple extra dollars is worth it. Restaurant is open 24 hours. There is also always a security guard on hand. I was happy with my choice to stay here. It was clean, comfortable, and convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_C100889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The building - it opened last year, early 2012. So the prices aren't too steep and the building is new and clean. It has a modern feel and has great ambiance. The elevator has these "touch" buttons.

Location - It's located near the heart of the city and it is within walking distance of convenience stores, two malls, two hospitals, a park and fastfood restaurants. For some reason at the bottom floor, there's a clinic and a motorbike dealer.

How to get there: Because it's fairly new, not a lot of cab drivers know where it is. Tell them it's on llorente st. at fuente behind robinsons cybergate mall.

There's two big malls located in the city: SM and Ayala. Taking a cab to either mall costs around 100 pesos. My advice is not to return to the hotel at night (6-8pm) because there will be a LONG line at the taxi stand, especially on weekends. Expect a big cab bill and to sit in traffic for almost an hour if you do so anyways.

Transportation - Cabs drive by regularly and the usher helps you hail cabs too. They also have a van that can take you anywhere, but you have to wait and it's not free. The parking area is kind of small, so it might not be a good idea to take your car here.

Food - The restaurant/cafe has great food and doesn't cost too much either. There's three small tables outside, if you're a smoker.
I recommend the cappuccino, chicken curry and fish w/ bechamel sauce.

They do have free breakfast, but it sucks! Not a lot of choices! They only have a selection of sandwiches and rice meals: tocino, chorizo, (cheap) corned beef w/ onions, etc with a fried, sunny side-up, or cooked egg (They can also give you toast instead of rice if you ask). There's a choice of coffee, tea or orange juice. But what's kind of stupid is that they give you meal tickets while it's a super small cafe and they don't offer a buffet.
You have to pay for room service, even if it's the free breakfast. About 10% of the total price.

Sense of security&safety - There's a night guard and they have security cameras on every floor. There's a fire escape. This one time, the fire alarm wailed for almost 5 minutes. Lol everyone was getting out of their rooms and racing to the stairs. It wasn't a fire drill, turns out it just malfunctioned. They don't have safes in the room. The rooms open with a key-card. You have to insert it for a few seconds and when the light turns green you can open the door. During the last week, it stopped working--turns out the front desk forgot to program the card until our last day (we stayed for over a month).

Internet - They have wifi on the ground floor that works just fine. There's no wifi available on any of the other floors but they have a LAN connection in the rooms--they give you a cable upon check-in if you ask for it. I think they said they may be installing wifi on the floors soon. The internet in the rooms is fast but there were interruptions. Sometimes it wouldn't work for a whole day, sometimes 15 minutes. When we called downstairs to ask why, they said they're still fixing it. We stayed there for an extended period and I can't recall any week where the internet was uninterrupted.

Comfort - Beds have thick mattresses and are big and comfortable. They only had one chair in a room for two--which was occupied by 3 people. They do have extra chairs available upon request. It's not really comfortable when you watch tv, because the wooden support is separate from the bed and it shakes if you lean against it, banging against the wall. (We solved this by folding up a newspaper page and putting it between the support and the wall) The deluxe room doesn't have any windows, but if you get a room with a window you get bothered with traffic noise, etc.

Bathroom - The toilet paper holder is located right next to the toilet in the corner so if you want to start wiping, etc. you have reach behind you or stand up and turn around. The toilet paper is super thin. The towels felt kinda weird, idk maybe they didn't rinse it properly or used the wrong soap. The hot shower took some time to figure out. You have to turn the knob on the heater first (normal is slightly too cold and medium is scorching hot, there's no in-between) and then the handle on the wall to the left and pull the knob on the faucet below. (We actually had to call for help to turn it on lol, maintenance responded quickly) There's some kind of leak in the shower, resulting in an almost-flooded bathroom (little overexaggerated, the floor just gets wet) every time you shower--Make sure the shower head isn't pointed at the edge of the doors and that the drain on the floor isn't closed. Apparently this problem prevails in a lot of the rooms. The water fountain didn't properly drain, they couldn't/didn't fix it while we were there. There's a smell-sucker-upper/fan in the ceiling too (I have no idea what it's called).

Electronics - The AC is a window type, but thank god it wasn't noisy. This other hotel we stayed at had this annoying dripping noise from AC's above. The room has a 23" lcd tv. The aspect ratio is 4:3 instead of 16:9 so the picture was stretched. Also, there was this huge list of channels that we couldn't access, guess the hotel owner got the cheapest plan. There's no hair dryer in the room. The room has a small refrigerator and a phone (dial 0 for the front desk).

Electricity - There was a power outage one time during our stay, it lasted for like 15 minutes. Apparently, the generator doesn't switch power automatically. They said they still had to fix it. A few days later they had to test it out, creating another blackout. There's only 2/5 power sockets, the refrigerator and tv use two and there's one behind the tv. So you can't charge your phone on the nightstand and if you brought a hair dryer with you, you have to reach under the counter to plug it in.

Housekeeping - They don't automatically clean the room every day. You have to make a request at the front desk to do so. (Even though we did, they didn't clean the first few times right away and had to call downstairs multiple times) Apparently, they've had trouble with thieves in the past. So now all cleaning is supervised and they have security cameras in the hallway. Just make sure all your valuables are with you/safely locked inside your suitcase. I placed my suitcase horizontally on the floor and I always placed my laptop inside; this one time they placed it vertically, throwing all my stuff inside around. I asked them not to do it anymore but they did it a second time, to my frustration. I don't know if they do laundry. When they do housekeeping, they also leave a few water bottles and soap. There's no extra pillows and they charge P100/night if you want one. For some reason, when housekeeping's done they turn off the AC, the fan thing in the bathroom and switch off some lights by default.

Staff - The people are very friendly and helpful. Their English is adequate and we understand each other just fine. They also had interns working there, don't expect too much from them.

Conclusion: Even with all the negatives, you have to remember this hotel is still young and there's lots of room for improvement. All-in-all I would recommend this place for anyone to stay at.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms don't have windows, but the space is good enough for 3 people. The standard rooms...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank raykyogrou0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

pros:
-good location. beside robinsons cybergate in fuente, easy to spot too as the building pops out with its bright yellow and orange finish
-very spacious room and high ceiling too!
-same with the room, the bathroom was spacious as well, the finish looked elegant, nice lighting
-"mmm cafe" had a cozy ambiance, good furnitures
-staff were nice

cons:
-we had to wait for around 20 minutes to be checked in as the room wasnt prepared yet when we arrived. front desk was apologetic about it though
-the shower drain was clogged. we had to wait for the water to go down before we could use it again (room 506)
-not too comfy bed. headboard felt unstable
-wish the tv was mounted a bit higher so its more comfortable to watch when lying down
-the room included free breakfast, but for 1 person only :(
-aircon shuts off every now and then

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

the hotel is just right at the center of cebu city, a walking distance to the robinsons malls, and to chong hua hospital...the room accommodation was very good, with modern facilities. you can access the internet inside the room. could almost think it's a five star hotel....very clean too. the staff were very polite and accommodating....all these with an affordable room rate. the next i go to cebu for a business trip, i would opt to stay again at m citi suites...to the front desk staff: see u when we check in again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hr_edalaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.4 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
The Maxwell Hotel
The Maxwell Hotel
#37 of 91 in Cebu City
107 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sugbutel Family Hotel
Sugbutel Family Hotel
#48 of 91 in Cebu City
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Red Planet Cebu
Red Planet Cebu
#9 of 91 in Cebu City
806 reviews
0.9 mi away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#27 of 91 in Cebu City
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Escario Central Hotel
Escario Central Hotel
#19 of 91 in Cebu City
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Citi Suites Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Citi Suites Cebu

Address: J. Llorente Street, Capitol Site | Capitol Site, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range: $27 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — M Citi Suites Cebu 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We want you to enjoy your total Cebu experience which begins with a most comfortable place to stay. We see your comfort and convenience as a fulfillment of our goal to deliver true customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your M Citi Suites Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
M Citi Suites Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing