We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do go inside......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basilica del Santo Nino

Basilica del Santo Nino
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Mactan-Cebu Twin City tour with Round-Trip Transport
Ranked #1 of 110 things to do in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous church dates back to the early Spanish colonial era.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Do go inside......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Visit the Basilica on a sightseeing trip including magellan's Cross and Fort San Pedro.
This is a lovely old building- a bit drab on the outside- but inside are beautiful paintings on the ceiling. And it's huge! I felt a little uneasy being a tourist whilst so many people were in there to pray 9but it is a church after all!)and didn't spend as much time as i would've liked to look at the paintings, etc.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    573
    236
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
542 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Striking and Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This old church is thronged with statuary and murals. We went on a Sunday morning when it was particularly busy and interesting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
262 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
“Nice and in the midst of activity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Santo Nino chapel is just next to the Magellan cross and the entrance is common with the school next door (hence the security guard). It has a compact cosy feel, and you can enter it and admire the stained glass windows.

Just outside, there is a fountain where the devout light candles.

It is in the midst of activity, but the inside is surprisingly quiet. There are always people inside, praying.

You can see more photos of the chapel on my travel blog - http://expattraveller.blogspot.com/

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank New_YLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatican City, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Basilica Filled with Devotees”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

It is nice to see very many devotees in this Basilica. It has a wonderful feeling that makes you get in touch with the real people of Cebu.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaticanozzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“well coordinated knights of the altar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We spent 6 months in Cebu CIty during the review for our licensure exam. Basilica Minore del Santo Nino was the place where we came to hear Mass every Sunday. Compared to other places in the Philippines I've been to, the high Mass celebrated every Sunday in the Basilica feels more special. The movement of the knights of the altar are very well coordinated, the choir is great, and the lectors are exceptional.

Helpful?
2 Thank DCL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica del Santo Nino also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Basilica del Santo Nino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing