We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magellan`s Cross a landmark”
Review of Magellan's Cross

Magellan's Cross
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Mactan-Cebu Twin City tour with Round-Trip Transport
Ranked #7 of 112 things to do in Cebu City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the spot where Ferdinand Magellan planted a cross in the soil in 1521 and claimed the Philippines for Spain.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magellan`s Cross a landmark”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

One should visit Magellan`s Cross. There are women who sell candles and pray for you.Very interesting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank docferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    409
    392
    112
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Legazpi, Philippines
Level Contributor
223 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“A Must see in Cebu!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have been in this monument several times in my lifetime, but was only now that I thought on giving a review regarding this site. I just thought that not all monuments like this are given the highest regards and appreciation as the Magellan's Cross. For us Roman Catholics, its the birth of Christianity in the Philippines! And taking pride of our religion as Roman catholics headed by the Pope in Vatican. This has been centuries old wooden cross and it is in this very site that Magellan plot the cross as a symbol of Christianity in the country.

The cross is enclosed in a very simple concrete and steel structure. The ceiling of this enclosure is hand-painted with the history of Christianity in the Philippines. Nicely painted as if it was some sort of Michelangelo's painting at the Sistine Chapel in Rome. (but of course, a much simpler version )

Iam just happy that now, I finally made this very upfront review. Go ahead and visit this site, Its nice to know that you have once been a part of the history by just being in this site.

Recommended length of stay: less than an Hour.

You might also want to visit the very nice Church next to the monument -- its a mere 3-minute walk. Go and be amused of the beautiful church most especially the interior. The church's name is the Basilica Minore de Santo Nino.
In the church's courtyard, you can see people lighting candles (of course you have to pay some peso as a donation for the candle you used) -- go and light some candles and make your prayers -- or even just wish -- who knows, your wish might come true!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ricoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We included this as part of a walking sightseeing morning with the Basilica and Fort San Pedro.
It says there is some of the original cross inside......would be nice to be able to see it in a see-through panel, The paintings on the ceiling are great. The visit was marred by hawkers and incense sellers being quite pushy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
544 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Kind of a Fake Attraction”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

They allege that there are fragments of Magellan's Cross inside the big cross you can see. I'll take their word for it, but that doesn't make this particularly worthwhile. On the other hand it's right by the very worthwhile Basilica of the Holy Infant, so why not?

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must see but nothing much to see”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Magellan's cross is one of the historical tourist attraction in Cebu and in the Philippines. It was clearly been a part of every history subjects I had when I'm still studying. I guess the teachers from my elementary years took it overrated since there's nothing much to see in it. But because of it's popularity, you have to include it in your Cebu itinerary.

On the other hand, after taking pictures you can go to pasalubong shops nearby, Malacanang of the South, Sto. Nino Church and Fort San Pedro to make it worthwhile.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank necabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magellan's Cross also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Magellan's Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing