We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay away from this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Era Pension Inn Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Era Pension Inn Cebu
Ranked #44 of 76 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Erkelenz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“stay away from this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel delivered one of the most horrible stays in my whole touring life. We were received from the front desk with:" If you loose the Roomcard, you pay 50P, if you make stain on bed linen you have to pay a penalty". This is the first time i heard ever from a Reception desk in my whole 20 years of touring life and staying in hotels.
In the couples Room, it was just space for a queen bed, no cabinets, no space to put our Baggage. Very small room, it looks in the pics at hotel site and tripadvisor big, but in reality that is'nt.
Bathroom is so small that it's difficult even for a slim person to turn around. No Shower curtains. So everytime we showered, whole bathroom went under water, even the toilet paper rolls got dripping wet, Towels and whole of our toileteries too. To add more adventure the water geyser is situated beside the Tap from the basin, and during showering there was a short circuit and fire caught up in the Bathroom.
One good point is the room boys are very nice and friendly, but thats only it.
Breakfast is outsourced to a street side kitchen situated 50m from hotel. Breakfast traditional phillipino, rice with egg and pork or corned beef. Always the same with one free drink, instant coffee or water, nothing more. BORING.....
May be this hotel suits backpacker but definitely not for couple.
We say "never again to this hotel", it doesn't deserve the name hotel, in Europe we say it doesn't even fulfill the motel standards.

Room Tip: We won't suggest this hotel to anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kiddidad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newerainn_cebu, General Manager at New Era Pension Inn Cebu, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Sir we never claimed to be a hotel. we are a budget bed and breakfast place. Thus we are a Pension Inn. Even if we are less than a year old, we are likewise doing our best to learn to make our guests happy. Since our room rates our cheap, we loose money if you don't return key cards or if you stain our linens. Ultimately our good occupancy rate is the best judge. thank you for staying with us and we apologize for falling short from your standard.
We hope your budget permits you to better comfortable accommodation in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
2
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service. Warm and accommodating staff. Very close to ayala center and sm.

Great value for money. Looking forward to my next stay!

Clean rooms.

We have been coming back regularly. We found a home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wickedvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

the rooms were very clean and big for its value, the staff were very good, location is very accessible to major shopping malls and the IT park. The solo rooms are small but enough for 1 person, the junior solo rooms are better if you want a spacious room. I just take the jeepney to travel to and from the new era inn to the places I need to go to. Most of the hotels I stayed at in cebu have wired internet in the rooms... new era has wifi in the rooms and the signal is strong.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Cebu is a must go when you travel to the Philippines. It is rich in culture and heritage yet it has all the modern features necessary for you to have a memorable visit to the Queen City of the South. Staying the New Era Pension just made this trip more than what we have expected. Our PESO went farther than expected because we chose to stay in this hotel. You do not need a 5 star rating Hotel when you come to Cebu. In fact you need a place where all the action takes place. You need to explore and allow yourself to have a great adventure. New Era Pension is located at the heart of Cebu. Cebu is a tropical place you so want a nice airconditioned room, they got it. Geographically it has the best location even better than the higher star rating hotels that you find in Trip Advisor. I do not want to tell you what value I experienced while staying at New Era. I want you to experience for yourselves. If I am making this all up, you could always negate by making a bad review. I hope you all enjoy Cebu and try to stay at New Era. You'll be surprised by the extra dough you'll find in your pocket just because you chose the best value for your sleeping nights.

Room Tip: Rooms are all brand new so you do not have to worry about getting a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YonggoY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilar, Bohol, Philippines
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

its a good room and clean yet just a small room just enough space to walk no chair..lol..but the staff are friendly and acomodating

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lady d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
1.3 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Red Planet Cebu
Red Planet Cebu
#9 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cebu R Hotel - Mabolo
Cebu R Hotel - Mabolo
#22 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kiwilodge Hotel
Kiwilodge Hotel
#34 of 213 in Cebu Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropical Hostel Cebu
Tropical Hostel Cebu
#9 of 60 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.7 mi away
TR3ATS Guest House
TR3ATS Guest House
#23 of 76 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Era Pension Inn Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Era Pension Inn Cebu

Property: New Era Pension Inn Cebu
Address: New Era Street | (Juan Luna Avenue) Pope John Paul 2 Mabolo, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Era Pension Inn Cebu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of Cebu’s Business District at Mabolo Cebu City. Just beside Carmelites Monastery – across PLDT Mabolo at the back of Vicky’s Pastry and Ngohiong Express. The location gives you a village atmosphere but your right at the heart of Metro Cebu. Just a few steps out of the Pension Inn, your at Pope John Paul II avenue ( formerly Juan Luna ave). This street leads you to SM CITY CEBU, Asia Town IT Park, Waterfront Hotel and Casions, or at Cebu Business Park and Ayala Center Cebu. Everything is 5 minutes away literally. This budget tourist and travelers inn is equipped with 23 rooms, an elevator, 24 hour back-up generator, FREE WIFI, RFID card locks system, L.E.D. TV with cable, hot / cold shower, room safety vaults, and 24 hour security surveillance system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your New Era Pension Inn Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Era Pension Inn Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing