We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With little effort, could improve greatly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“With little effort, could improve greatly”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Hotel looked nice from outside, common areas were also nice. Room smelled like mold and pool was EXTREAMLY dirty. Staff was no so nice and rude when asked about the dirty pool. The breakfast was very nice with many options.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    857
    433
    146
    105
See reviews for
509
481
216
619
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We requested for a top-floor, not facing the street room, and we got it. No hassle upon check-in and check-out.

If you're a fitness enthusiast, you'll definitely love their gym located inside the hotel. They also have a sauna and pool in the hotel.

Rooms are spacious. I love their buffet breakfast the most. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Eat breakfast early to avoid the crowd
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Owing to minor earthquake damage at the hotel I was supposed to stay at I was rebooked into the Waterfront for 6 nights from 26th October.

First impressions were very good with a very impressive lobby area but thereafter things were not so good...

After a terrible journey from home the last thing I needed was a slow and inefficient check in but that is precisely what I got. It needed the combined efforts of two people on two terminals to eventually get me checked in after about 20 minutes or so. Not a very encouraging way to start a visit, especially after a long, delayed flight.

The room itself was okay, and clean, but definitely looking a bit on the old and tired side of things. It seemed to be something straight out of the 1970s with dark furniture colours. There was a safe in the wardrobe in the room. The doors on the wardrobe itself did not close properly. The view out the window of the roof of a factory/industrial unit was not exactly inspiring. Housekeeping was generally acceptable and the bed was comfortable. The free wi-fi is good and generally stable. I had my usual test of a small room service delivery on the second night and it took 3 days before the dirty sundae glass was removed from the room. Not good.

There is a lot of choice for places to eat at the hotel but that huge lobby comes at a cost - it is quite a walk from the lifts to the Gourmet Walk where all the restaurants are located. This is not a compact hotel by any stretch of the imagination - it seems to have been designed on the American principle: the bigger the better! The Lobby Lounge occupies the bulk of the lobby area and is a pleasant enough place to relax, quite comfortable if not exactly the most intimate of places. The signs on the tables "reserved for dining guests only" are initially a little off-putting as they don't really mean what they say: they are to discourage people from sitting in the two sections of the lounge without partaking of beverages and/or food.

The food served in the Lobby Lounge is good but nothing special, and a little on the pricey side (as is most of the hotel food in general). No complaints about the service though - the staff were unfailingly very pleasant throughout the hotel. Note that the free wi-fi available in the room is NOT available in the Lobby Lounge but you can get a password for the secured wi-fi that is available. You will most likely have to ask for it however, as only one staff member offered the password upon seeing my netbook on the table.

The breakfast buffet is served in the Uno restaurant and it is good without being anything special. Don't leave breakfast too late though - they start clearing it away before 10.30 am.

The big advantage of the Waterfront is that it is quite close to Ayala Center (50.50 pesos there and 57.50 pesos back by taxi) so you don't have to eat at the hotel - there are a myriad of choices at Ayala that are way cheaper than the hotel, even after taking into account the taxi fares. The only downside is that the walk to the taxi rank at the hotel (a level below the lobby level) is again rather lengthy...

I am guessing that the Waterfront is selling itself as a five star hotel but it really is not. High points are the excellence and friendliness of the staff (excluding the front desk staff as far as excellence goes) and the location. The downsides are its a bit tired and badly in need of a renovation in the rooms and the price of food and drink is on the high side.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

our company host a seminar at Waterfront, it's a fantastic experience my 1st time at cebu and everything is perfect,the hotel has big room, hot tub, cable tv, pool, delicious buffet & the staff is friendly, i hope to visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanholy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagayan de Oro City, Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

been a regular guest of waterfront. from the day it started operating. presidential suite is an awesome stay. my room accommodation has always been a delight with its upgrade , complete with its turn down service , platter of fruits and a rose in the bathroom. listening to music in the lobby is a must-do when u stay at this hotel. a very nice way to soothe your soul. location is perfect. near to coffee shops and for late night fancies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinnabon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed on 17/10/2013 and it was a pleasant stay. The room is a bit old but still well-kept. Staff were friendly and breakfast spread was awesome. . My first time to visit casino in Cebu, Philippines. It is not that rowdy but won some pocket pesos to buy titbits. Security checkin points. They were many few ranges of restaurant like chinese, western, japanese. Transport is provided to shopping malls. - Bonus point for this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbA1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I didn't stay here, but visited for an evening of fun in Casino, which sounds ridiculous since i'm not a gambler, but hi ho, right?

First went to thier Japanese restaurant and had a very authentic sushi and Tempura meal with all the trimmings. It was EXCELLENT. No Hamachi and the Uni was not the best but everything else was awesome and tasted like the real thing in Tokyo. A little on the expensive side (for PH) but $50US for two for an excellent Japanese meal is reasonable anywhere.

I'm not a gambler but the Casino was nice.. too much Bee Gees music but the slots worked fine and the tables were well occupied. Topped off the evening wiht a cup of tea and cocoa in the lobby listening to the not-bad-at-all live band.

Excellent facilities... nice and well maintained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinnikinik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
3,151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
1.3 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 87 in Cebu City
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
#5 of 87 in Cebu City
1,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 87 in Cebu City
636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino

Property: Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Address: Salinas Drive, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Waterfront Cebu City Hotel)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel And Casino
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing