We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Cebu City
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Front office team were always attentive and efficient. Uno resto and the Cafe Madeliene are my favorites! The room needs a total renovation or refurbished, bed linens are clean. The spacious lobby lounge is nice, and the service crew attending me most of the time were excellent and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zytoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    628
    328
    106
    80
See reviews for
343
344
160
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Hi all,
we stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in 2 rooms (Bridal and Junior Suite) during the wedding of my gf's sister in Dec 2012.
As to the location and building as an architectural POI, view of the city it is nice. Lobby and 1st impression is great, the lobby is really nice and amazing. Rooms are normal size for this type of a hotel, but it is already rundown. A little bit of modernization would be appriciated, it was IN about 15 years ago, but still comfortable. BUT there are things, which made our stay really uncomfortable and even terrible. 1st of them is the non-working air-con/cooling system in both rooms. Cooling can be only ON with lowest temp possible or OFF with no fan/change of the air at all. The thermostat is not working so you can choose if you will be freezing or sweating, nothing in between. 2nd - check the room right after your arrival, you might be charged for anything! One missing hanger with value of 0.5 USD will be charged 50 USD even if you didn't take it, just because it wasn't in the closet. Dirt on the carpet = 130 USD, even it was there before your arrival.
The Waterfront hotel is pretending to be 1st class hotel with all facility you might need. BUT under this shiny facade they will try to rub off your wallet and everything you have in it. I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pezzli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

such a rip-off! guest beware! make sure to take photos of the room before you start using it. it can be used as proof that you didn't destroy any of their already run-down rooms. had a really bad experience with this hotel. it's definitely not worth the money you spend there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sabrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Everything was fantastic, all the Buffets were amazing, Comfortable beds, all the staff go out of their way to help you out, a special mention and thank you to the assistant sales manager Joseph, who was so pleasant and helpful to us, a very professional manager.

Room Tip: Make sure Breakfast Buffet is included in the package as the Buffets are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the Waterfront over the New Year, the room was great and had a very comfortable King Size Bed. The location is great and a quick taxi ride to anywhere in the city. The Buffet offered and variety of food available for breakfast and lunch is definitely a highlight. The Staff are definitely what make this hotel, everyone is friendly and accommodating and always happy to assist, especially the assistant sales manager Joseph, before & during our stay he was very professional, helpful & very accommodating. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Be aware that the hotel is currently being renovated. The entire mezzanine level is closed. The only reason we chose to stay there was Sally's Piano Bar on the mezzanine (now closed). They made no mention of this while booking the room and only found out about it when we attempted to go to the bar on our first night. The also charged 1000 Php over the amount quoted when making the reservation. They claim that we made the reservation with a "Brian" who quoted the rate. I never spoke with a Brian, in fact I only spoke with a woman.

The rooms are overpriced, the Italian restaurant SUCKS, and the buffet is also over priced and very average.

When I stayed here 5 years ago I was double billed.

These people are arrogant thieves and this overpriced dump should be avoided at all costs.

Room Tip: STAY AWAY, there are much better hotels in Cebu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 324432443jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Pls. beware as Waterfront hotel Lahug Cebu will try and rip you off and cause some hassle when you disagree to pay. We checked in the hotel suites for our Wedding preparations. When we returned at night after the wedding, we found a note in our room informing us that we will be charged an enormous fee for damages found on the carpet of our other room. We immediately called housekeeping to check it out. Upon checking it was a small dark spot on the carpet and we wondered how it happened when all the guys did was sleep in the room and just change for the event. The hotel told us it was probably caused by an iron that was left but we never did use an iron since all the clothes was pressed before we brought it to the hotel. They told us to write a letter to appeal our case since they insisted we need to pay. All these happened in the wee hours of the morning after a long tiring day from our wedding. Instead of going back to the hotel to rest and relax, which is why we checked-in for 2 nights, we really had a very bad experience of the hotel trying to rip us off and accusing us of something we never did. There was not even any due process of investigation and giving us the benefit of the doubt. Waterfront Hotel just immediately charged us. We couldn't sleep because of bad mood. Luckily for us when we were reviewing the photos of the wedding, we found a photo we took when we first entered the room and there was a photo of the same spot. We found out that the burned spot was already there even before we checked in to the room. And we remembered that upon checked-in, we requested the 2nd suite to be near the bridal suite for convenience and the hotel told us that there is a room that they blocked and will have to checked if it can be released. We wonder if the reason they blocked it was bec. of the damage and they released it to us thinking they can pass on the blame to the next guest? It was really a hassle checking out the next morning as they made us wait for a very long time. Even though we had evidence that we did not damage the carpet, they still made us wait. Not only that, they also charged 2 hangers, 2,000 pesos each. We asked them to check on the 2nd room as we could have just moved it there. It was there alright but how can they charge it right away without checking? Pls. check the room conditions and count all items first before you can enjoy the hotel as this hotel has really bad service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 86 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,507 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#3 of 86 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#7 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#12 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
#4 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 976 reviews
5.0 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino

Property: Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Address: Salinas Drive, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Waterfront Cebu City Hotel)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel And Casino
Waterfront Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing