We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Improvement required” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Cebu City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Improvement required”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This property ought to be in the top 5 in Cebu but the new GM, will have his work cut out to get back there given the scale of this hotel and the increasing competition. Main gripe - after recent surgery I'm sensitive to dietary choices and the management need to be too. Hearing decaf coffee only available in powdered form, no decaf tea in the Chinese resto and having only three fresh fruit choices on the breakfast buffet (one a mottled, cardboard-like papaya) is way behind the curve in the Phils these days, let alone Cebu.

Likewise exercise. The gym has two bikes (one not working, the other decrepit) and one tired rowing machine. So if you're not up to full weight bearing exercise head out to the pool. But if you linger have some personal stereo on hand to blank out the competing strains of the ambient hip hop and the adjacent Zoomba studio class.

Fortunately the staff are friendly and responsive to issues which papers over but their hard work and earnest should be the icing. Location is also a plus with the Ayala Mall, SM and several good restos nearby.

Room Tip: The suites have been fashioned out of two rooms and not effectively remodeled. Doors open onto doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geejaypea888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    626
    324
    103
    80
See reviews for
339
343
160
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ozamiz City, Philippines
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My family and I stayed here for our summer vacation. The lobby is undergoing renovations but the old one was quite grand so I'm expecting big things. Room was a bit aged and needs renovations. Breakfast was better than expected and we definitely enjoyed the casino. Location is a plus as well as it is nearby the big malls in Cebu city.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors provide a nice view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_Asombrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

You pay for what you get in waterfront hotel and that means a decent place to sleep in Cebu that's centrally located. room was good enough but the only complaint I have was that instead of a large bed, we got two (unbelievably small) singles. great breakfast buffet though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mithrandir2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and enjoyed the experience. The hotel itself is on the nicer end of the spectrum in Cebu, and it is priced accordingly. The location is great as it is close to a wide array of bars, restaurants, malls and a big park. The rooms are great for a good nights sleep but aren't anything special.

We spent a late night at the casino and really enjoyed it, although we had some problems with the broken ATMs and the illogical system of buying drinks. They could have opened a few more tables but we were lucky enough to get a seat pretty late that night. Once we sat down, everything improved and the cards and drinks started flowing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The lobby is large and impressive, but then you notice that the carpets and everything else are worn out and not maintained.
The room that we had was stuffy, noisy, and worn.
Breakfast buffet is not good, and either undercooked or just plain nasty.
Difficult to sleep in our room due to the noise from the valets at the entrance to the hotel or the sounds of the elevator.
A very expensive, and bad experience.
The location is terrible. You need an overpriced, lying taxi to go anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I attended a 1500 person convention in September of this year in Waterfront Lahug and expected a lot of noise, confusion and foot traffic. I was surprised to find none of this as the hotel was newly renovated with a new wing above the casino. Again I was amazed that the floors were so quiet considering that the casino was just a few floors below. I still can't get over the size of the room and the bathroom and the soft pillows and the magnificent view. But the service is the aspect that made my stay unforgettable. From Front Desk to Security to concierge and housekeeping. Everyone makes you feel like a queen. Despite it's age, Waterfront Lahug remains regal and warm. Visit and be treated like royalty!

Room Tip: choose the rooms built above the casino
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chenelyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was contented with our room with a city view. I had a good night sleep considering I felt the onset of flu. I love that they had 2 pillows for each twin bed. I discovered a soft memory foam topping the mattress. :) made me smile, if only have the whole day to sleep in. The staff were quite friendly and accommodating. Breakfast buffet at UNO was so-so. Wasn't able to swim at their pool which was kind of small. Sleep quality was good.

Room Tip: Get the city view... nice night view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babut_Bacena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 86 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,499 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#3 of 86 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#7 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#12 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
#4 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
5.0 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino

Property: Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Address: Salinas Drive, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Waterfront Cebu City Hotel)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel And Casino
Waterfront Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing