We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service from Cebu's finest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Impeccable service from Cebu's finest”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed here for two nights, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

The hotel itself is a complex, and there are restaurants and bars abound. So if you don't feel like trekking into Cebu (which has a really bad traffic congestion problem, even at night) you have entertainment right there- it even has a Casino. The bedrooms were clean and modern and very quiet. Bathrooms were pristine,

But what really impressed me is the customer service. The assistant sales manager (Joseph S), really made sure that everything was in order and that my all needs were catered for (I had a pregnant wife). I also had some friends stay in the hotel, and he took great care of them too. His professionalism and attention to detail is a merit to the hotel.

The bars and restaurant was also very good. Finding properly made cocktails can be a little tricky in most small Asian cities, but their bar was up to it, and the buffet had a great spread as well.

Room Tip: There is a wing of the hotel that was recently renovated- The assistant sales manager (Joseph) place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Migzonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    842
    430
    144
    104
See reviews for
499
475
216
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Look this hotel very nice for cebu city yes can find nicer hotels in other region of cebu but this one locate right in Cebu city.
Nice pool and atmosphere.
Problem it very expensive for Philippines mostly business men and forigners here.
Buffet nice but they need to explane dinning rules better like it a buffet not a restraunt.
Has nice King bed, but be carefull when getting room because lots of twin beds in all hotels in Philippines.
Need to state what type bed before booking if you can.
Again very expensive hotel for City but it something speacial for Philippine people that can afford this luxery hotel.
In america this at best three star Vegas casino hotel but in Philippines its consider very nice.

For price and stay I recommend Alpha Suites price is good and great buffet breakfast.

But if you want wine and dine Water Front is best for this, but family I would stay at Marriot or Alpha Suites

Room Tip: Make sure to book room with type of bed you want up front. Like 2 twins or 1 king
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is one of the best hotel in Cebu (except those in the beach). It's a 4 star hotel, one of the best, if not the best in Cebu. Comfortable beds, excellent food (especially the breakfast) and there is a casino inside the hotel. The is also an acoustic band (not the rock-style band) playing in the lobby every night. Location is excellent. Just across the hotel, is the IT Park, lots of restaurants, bars, offices and banks. Get a cab and about 5 mins, you are in Ayala Center (a very nice mall).

Very nice pool, well-equipped gym, excellent location, comfortable rooms, reasonable price, what more can you ask for?

Book the family suite (2 rooms, good for 4 persons) and you will not want to leave the room. There is a personal computer with internet connection and fax machine inside the room. For about $288, it's really a good deal.

Room Tip: Book the family suite (good for 4 persons) and you will not want to leave the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I was staying there for three days this September. I had booked this hotel because it looked really close to Cebu city and with easy access to all facilities. I had booked a suite (5.6 K in PHP with a reduction on their site). However, for a high-level hotel, the prostitution taking place in this hotel is just scandalous: vulgar prostitutes in the lobby, disgusting scenes with their (mostly Koreans) customers... The personnel turns a blind eye to this, and you wonder who's getting a cut of this immoral business. Management seems comfortable with this and that's a reason I won't be returning to this hotel anytime soon.

In addition, although the premises were quite comfortable, the airco was not working in the bedroom, and the phone kept ringing without anybody calling me (explanation was they upgraded their phone center and had some glitches).

The lobby bar had terribly awful prices (about 100 PHP for a San Miguel light, or 75 PHP for a glass of milk!). The breakfast buffet is excellent, and very well furnished though, but the personnel at Uno café smiles with parcimony (not to say not at all), at the point that you wonder if they hate the customers...

The business center then... is expensive. 49.5 PHP just to print ONE page of paper. Considering the huge price paid for the room you would expect these services to be free at least.

In short, for less than that, you could have better premises, better service and a cleaner environment. Definitely not a place for families, unless you want to explain your children what is prostitution.

Room Tip: I chose a junior suite, but avoid that unless you're a smoker: all the suites are on a smoker fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank FreeMindXs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I have stayed at the Waterfront before and wrote review(s), and after my most recent stay I will write one again:

Booking
I made the booking directly with the hotel and got a better deal then at the various hotel booking sites coz I opted for "long stay." something that I have not been able to do via agora and hotelbooking.com and the likes. It took a bit of convincing with the booking dept to book with them for a specific amount coz for the lower rates they refer you to the various booking sites. That is a policy I never understood but it did not cost me much trouble to get a price as low as the lowest price mentioned on the internet, but then for a 'better' or 'higher' room.
Booking process in the end was quite simple and the booking dept was quite helpful.
I received by mail for the long stay from Mr Jerry Santos from their commercial dept. Santos was very friendly, helpful and efficient.

Arrival+check in
Always a pleasure to arrive at the hotel. Friendliness of staff is great. Check in was fairly quick and though the hotel has a 'rooms available by 2 pm' policy, I already received mine early, directly upon check in. As I do not like creditcards that much, I left a deposit in Euro's at the cashier for an amount that was sort of my hotelbill.

Room
A Deluxe, spacious, fresh and clean. Sufficient amenities. Good, be it somewhat small bathroom with a bath. Good towels. Clean, marble.
Bed: kingsize, very spacious. Good matrass, slept like a rose.
Room not noisy at all as a matter of fact very quiet.
Aircon: perfect. fresh air, no sign of any stuffyness. Cools very well, very quickly
Room has a frige stocked with juice and softdrinks and has a tray with small bottles of liquor and snacks. Like in any hotel, these are a bit pricy so i never used them.
Furniture: desk, two tables. TV closet, clothes closet and suitcase table.
Chairs and tables are decent, not opulent but decent and classy. I would have liked to have at least one armchair though instead of the regular no-arms four-legs, but other than that the chairs were reasonably comfy.
TV: big, with plenty of channels.
Wi-Fi: free!!. Sometimes a bit slow though (but very doable) and sometimes had to reconnect. However, Free internet is a big bones (compare the Diplomat Hotel that charges I think 60 php for an hour).
In Room Safe: Though I have never lost anything that was left outside the safe. It is a good feeling to have a safe available in the room
Housekeeping: Frienly guys and girl that are always willing to help. Some are sometimes a bit shy in English which may lead to some communication problems but nothing serious. They do their work promptly.

Ambiance: beautiful hotl inside and out. Lobby is under reconstruction but this hardly causes any problem. It is a huge lobby.

Restaurants: The hotel has several in house restaurants. I have only used the Uno for breakfast and the one upstairs for dinner every once and a while.
Uno restaurant breakfast. Breakfast was included in my daily rate. Very friendly staff. Breakfast is copious buffett style. I heard someone remark in his review that 'it is the same every day'. Aprt from the fact that that is not entirely true, there is so much that you do not have to eat the same every day: choose from:
Salads, cereal, fruit or sandwiches for cold breakfast, or a hoist of warm breakfasts like soups, fish, rice, meat dishes, warm potato dishes such as torte or gratin or just fried patatoes. Scranbled eggs, boiled eggs, omelets, veggies etc.!
Top off with a variety of fruit juices (mango, orange, watermelon, pineapple) or coffe/tea together with cookies, muffins, donuts.
I was pleased to see that teh general manager of the hotel had his breakfast there as well, sampling the various dishes from day to day. I am sure that keeps the quality up.

The upstairs restaurant ( I think it was called Fortuna) has a hoist of western and Filipino dishes. Quality is good, so are the amounts. The staff is very friendly but it seems to go a bit slow, even if there are only a few tables occupied. Anyway, they serve enough and a doggie bag is not a problem should you so wish.

Room service
Again. Friendly staff. When a guest I had liked a dish she saw in a picture in the menu, but without a name. The room-service waiter promptly came over to have a look at he picture to identify the dish. Quality and speed of delivery was very satisfactory.

Door policy
Going in and out of the hotel is a feast with 2 uniformed ladies bidding you goodbye or welcoming you back. Like in any hotel or mall in the phils there is a security upon coming in in which bags are checked. But like anywhere in the Phils, foreigners are whisked through, whereas locles regularly have their bags quickly inspected.

Taxi's
Taxi stand right outside the hotel, still on the grounds. The hotelstaff is efficient in running the taxistand. Helped in and out taxi's and they will quickly scan your seat to see if you forgot anything in the cab.

Shuttle bus
The hotel has a shuttle bus going to ayala and sm shopping malls that goes I think 2x a day (I only took the 10 am one).
They also have I believe an airport shuttle that in some promo's is included in the hotelrate, but I have not used it.

Pool and Garden
Very pleasant to be. Both formed a nice backdrop for photography and the water is surely inviting on a hot day.

Gym
I have seen a spacious gym, but I have not used it.

General attitude
The general attitude of the staff is a friendly, helpfull, 'can do' attitude. As I did modelphotography I asked to be allowed to use the now closed 'international casino' as a decor. That was no problem at all. I am sure if I had asked to send someone to my room to carry the photogear down there they would have.

Concierge was very helpfull with tips on where to go or where to find things and would propose alternatives if he tought I'd better not go somewhere (like carbon market-did anyway though).

Surroundings. Though the hotel is not situated smack in the middle of shops such as the various hotels in midtown or around Fuente Osmena, there is IT park within walking distance. There is a variety of shops there including a Jollibee, a McDonalds, a KFC, a Starbucks and a pharmacy.

Ayala, where everyone goes to look and be seen is a quick taxi ride away.

Overall impression:
Like usual very good. It is no coincidence that I keep coming back. I have stayed in the Marco Polo (when it was still Cebu plaza) and though that is a good hotel where once the later miss Earth 2008 Karla Ginteroy Henry was part of the staff, I still find the Waterfront to have more charm and warmth.

In my taste, the waterfront is overall the best hotel in Cebu City

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cebutraveller110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Arrived at lunch time, tried the buffet and it was DIVINE. So many lovely things to try and there must have been about 25 types of cakes/desserts.
Service at the front desk is very slow. Took forever to check in. They are very friendly though. Also took four times of asking to get a baby cot set up in our room. Like previous posts have mentioned, this hotel is aimed at business travellers and couples. Not very family friendly. Rooms arent very sound proof, you can hear whats going on in the room next door. Rooms aren't flash but they're not bad either.
AWESOME gym, lovely pool and great casino. We will be back, even if its just for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I had the unfortunate circumstance to be booked into this nightmare of a property for two nights on my first visit to Cebu. The price per night was ridiculous and at the time of my booking they only had a twin bed room available. I can tell you as an adult woman who is 6'1" tall, I experienced my greatest nightmare spending time in a twin bed which I have not had a reason to do since I was 17 and that is a while ago.

On top of the twin beds, the room looked as though it were decorated last in the 70's with rattan furniture. Rattan? I would rather refer to it as "ratty". The room was dingy and dirty and smelled faintly of cigarette smoke which for one who doesn't smoke is neither pleasant nor enjoyable in any way.

To add insult to injury, the air conditioning in the room was not working. A call to the front desk for maintenance assistance yielded no response. They were solidly booked for a convention and I was "lucky" to have this room they replied.

A hot, dirty, smelly hotel room is not my idea of a worthwhile evening spent. To top it all off, the loud casino drove me insane. If I want a casino, I will choose Las Vegas - thank you very much!

Overall, one of the biggest nightmare experiences of my travel history. If you go, you'd better not be interested in clean and or any semblance of nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank courtneyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#9 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
#5 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino

Property: Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Address: Salinas Drive, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Waterfront Cebu City Hotel)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel And Casino
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing