We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need some renovating..doesn't feel like Marriott anymore” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cebu City Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Need some renovating..doesn't feel like Marriott anymore”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I will be honest. The rooms need renovation. While the staff are very helpful, looks like overall look and feel needs some improvement. I was given the choice if I will book for a farther hotel or just Marriott that is right smack at Ayala Center Cebu. I chose Marriott because of the name but somehow they failed ot provide me the feel of being in Marriott. I waited for 20 minutes for a taxi to be called on my second day going to our Cebu office and it happened again on my way back to Manila - another 30 minutes or so standing by the lobby. Urgency issue.

I stayed for 4 days and only had breakfast on my last day = Failure. Not the type of breakfast that I would have expected from a Marriott. First and last time I will check-in there. I'd rather go to the other island's hotel that is farther but will surely put value to the money.

Room Tip: if you are a smoker, don't choose the smoking room. It smells smoking even if you are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Levelalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    438
    133
    38
    16
See reviews for
251
204
109
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lingayen, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I was so lucky of our instructor in our Tour 1 Class because he really chose this hotel for our accommodation of our Cebu Tour. I enjoyed our stay here. I felt like I was really a tourist will all the money for I managed to stay in this luxurious, elegant, and one of the most famous hotels. The lobby was so elegant and their reception area is so wide. Their room is so spacious! The bed is really like a "queen's" bed. Very comfy and i really had a great sleep. The bathroom was also great! I could stay in there for a couple of hours! :) They also have an iron and hair dryer in the room. The staffs were also very friendly and accommodation. It's like they will make you feel that they are happy that you're staying in their hotel. The rates are really a lot expensive but the stay was worth it. That was a great experience and a memorable one!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaja646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

It is so close to Ayala Mall Cebu, will make you think that its the same property complex - only one walkway with a guard post and walk-in metal detector separating them. Easy access to taxi queue for going around Cebu. Hotel itself is showing some signs of aging though, carpets and furniture already look tired and had to request housekeeping for room spray to make it smell better.

Booked the Junior Suite to get access to the Executive Lounge - good decision since you'll be entitled to breakfast (although selection is limited), snacks, and unlimited drinks throughout the day. During one day of our stay, we had a daytour of Bohol and had to leave early. They were kind enough to pack the breakfast for us to eat at the ferry. We got back from the tour in time for the afternoon tea service, which can already be considered by some as dinner since there was rice and some viands in the buffet selection.

They also gave me a big bar of white chocolate, packs of dried mango, some fruits, and banana bread. I don't know it that's because we're in the executive floor, or because of my membership to Marriott Rewards. Either way, make sure you sign up for Marriott Rewards, its free online anyway.

Commendable staff, had a pleasant experience with everyone - from the doorman, to the concierge, to the front desk, the bell boy, and housekeeping. I was so pleased that when i got home, I emailed the hotel manager of my pleasant experience with the staff.

Room Tip: Worth it paying extra for rooms/suites that provide Executive Lounge access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jbarracuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Great luxurious hotel in a good location. Close to Terraces restaurant and also close to HSBC ATM. The room was very nice, with a comfortable bed. Very helpful and friendly staff. We had dinner in the bar and it was very good. The price was high but that is expected in the hotel but the food was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin NT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

I always prefer to stay here at the Marriot hotel in Cebu, this time I came back to witness the Sinulog festival.
The room I was given was good, enough to accommodate my kids and husband.
Breakfast wa included in the package and surprisingly some staff members remembered my name from 2 years prior to my first initial visit.
They helped my kids in the morning collect breakfast while I could sit and enjoy eating my own breakfast instead of getting up at random requests like usual.
They replenished my room with water and extra soap knowing I had extra kids.
Each day without fail I did pass extra tips to the workers who cleaned my room, opened the doors for me, attended to my table alone when I did have breakfast.
I will return to the friendly staff who didn't frown upon my family members that did pay random visits. I even booked 2 extra rooms so I could allow my family experience the wonderful atmosphere at the Marriot.
Daghan salamat to the team t the Marriot.
(many thanks)
I will see you again when I return for my next vacation.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mestiza_inday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

one of the best hotels we have stayed in stayed here for six nights and nothing was a problem rooms great service will tell others will be back so if you want a good hotel this will do it all staff also go the extra mile and very helpful food also good as i have a fussy son and even he was happy

Room Tip: we booked a family room and found it was all we wanted a bit costly but worth it all in all worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The lobby and pool area of the hotel are updated, but the rooms are still in need of refreshing. That being said, the rooms are totally fine - comfy beds, nice shower, clean, good A/C, etc. The breakfast buffett is excellent - so delicious, but, as you would expect, expensive if you are on a budget (~$25/30 a person). The pool area is nice, but a bit small. Convenient to Ayala Mall (right next door) and not too far from the airport (although with traffic it can take almost an hour). Staff is very friendly and helpful. Drinks at the bar are surprisingly cheap.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivingJustOnce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
0.6 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#2 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cebu City Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cebu City Marriott Hotel

Property: Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Address: Cardinal Rosales Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#5 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cebu City Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within the city’s premier financial district - the Cebu Business Park, the Cebu City Marriott Hotel sits right next door to Ayala Mall where opportunities for great shopping and a vibrant nightlife await you. Near by are offices of top corporations, banking centers, an exclusive sports club, convention centers and the Asia Town IT Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Cebu City Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cebu City Hotel Cebu City
Cebu City Marriott Hotel Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing