We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a joke.”

Choi City Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #150 of 720 Restaurants in Cebu City
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“What a joke.”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I tried Choi again after a couple of years because of these recent reviews and it was actually even worse than before. Rather than focusing on quality, they seem to be going for more of a budget crowd and  both the food and service reflected this. They used to have about 50 waitstaff on the floor and now its mostly ojt's and a few supervisors.  Disappointing and  I won’t be returning.

 

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gigibrugado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just like Hongkong”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Never thought that Cebu Philippines have restaurant that taste like Hongkong. very good for service and food. Very cheap too compare in Hongkong. I eat in other restaurant in Cebu, they are no good and not real taste like in Hongkong. This is the only good place to eat. i did not expect that there is a restaurant like this here. Now i have a place to eat when i come back in here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheng Long H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese Food”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Had my brunch here today. During weekdays, they have eat-all-you-can dimsum and hot pot for less than Php 400.00. Dimsum includes siomai, hakaw, shrimp rice rolls, asado pao, hamsoikok, radish cake, etc. Hotpot includes a soup pot, meat choices, like beef and pork's internal parts, vegetables, and seafood balls. They serve authentic dimsum very hot and fresh, and since this is an eat-all-you-can lunch, they don't compromise the quality of their food. Their ala carte dishes are also sumptuous and very-mouthwatering.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SassySara2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“EXOTIC FOOD FOUND HERE”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

So i am into trying new things and lo and behold i find out that one of my favorite restaurants in the country- choi city, actually has one of the few.. if not the ONLY kitchen thats prepped and trained to cook exotic food. I tasted, pigeon, braised lizard... snake - a 5 kilo snake cooked several styles. All very delicious and all safe --- compared to the feeling i would get if i went to downtown and got it at a street food stall (not that they have them there) so yes...

Lizard
Snake
Pigeon
and a couple other surprises

Call a few days ahead to prepare the snake, as most of them are caught live and prepared the day you dine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
“So Worth it!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I'm glad that we decided to stop by at Choi City. The food are all delicious! the meats are all soft and juicy. their waiters are all attentive, I don't need to raise my hand for them to know what I want, I can see that they all love their work and they serve people whole heartedly. It's so nice to be there at Choi, It's like i'm a part of their family.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle Joy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choi City Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Choi City Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing