We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Tune Hotel”
Review of Red Planet Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Planet Cebu
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I've about had it with Tune Hotels and their sister company, Air Asia. For the most part, they are not worth the savings based on the hassle and lack of accountability they provide.

HOWEVER, the Cebu hotel is the only one I would stay in again. I've stayed there twice now and service seems to still be good. Unlike Manila which has gone from average to flat out bad, Cebu is still OK. Wifi was relatively fast and always on and the staff was helpful. I do think it's a bit expensive for being located in a second-tier city in the Philippines, but such is life.

This is just a room to sleep. I was meeting people the entire day, so I didn't worry about not having a desk or other issues. Bed is comfy enough. The best part about Tune Hotels are their nice shower heads; you can't get much better with a budget hotel.

Overall, the hotel is clean and very well located right across from the Ayala Mall and its endless food and shopping offerings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 916 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

Basic hotel that is clean. Everything you use (AC, TV, Wifi, even towels) cost extra though. Booking through Agoda will include all of those though. I loved the location right next to the mall Ayala Center which made dining/shopping so much easier. 7-Eleven in the same building is another plus. Wifi was the fastest of all hotels I have ever stayed in the Philippines. Check-in was also very efficient. However, don’t expect much else from the front staff. We spent two nights for a long layover in Cebu so for that the hotel was perfect. For the price it still is an excellent value if you just need a comfortable place to stay. If a Tune Hotel is available in any of my future destinations, I would book a room with Tune Hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

if you only need a room to sleep - this is the best option. very close to AYALA, Wi-Fi is excellent.
clean rooms and comfy bed! Friendly staff and the check-in was fast!


would recommend and would stay again! :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wabby426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Hotel is located near Ayala Center - Cebu. The room is small. There is no cabinet, no mini bar, no chairs. The staff are nice. The Hotel need some improvement in terms of facilities and service....in general the hotel is good in terms of Value for Money...Not Bad at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_7s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Very clean, very sterile, just for sleeping, nothing else. Rather small rooms, but clean and all works. More TV channels than some 4 n 5 star hotels, internet working (and fast) but a bit cumbersome to log in. If they want to control login, use room number as login and pax name as password and linked to room software (that cuts out all nonsense). Most places incl hotels just have an open system nowadays. Cool room cleaners with their cute animals made from the fresh towels. There is no emotional ambience, no room for feelings - just sleep. For that price you can get a better feel elsewhere. This was my first Tune hotel experience, and if they are all like that, hmm, not sure what it will do to people's emotions. Travelling breaks in hotels do need a bit of a sanctuary feeling, the Tune does not have that.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

The room rates are not bad at all 1800 pesos(2single beds) around 77 dollars. Very near the mall and a 711 store just outside the entrance of the Hotel.Very friendly staff as well, except for one girl receptionist.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Rooms are small but functional. I like that you can customize your booking..if you need towels or toiletries or not even aircon use! You can add or subtract depending on your need.

One of the staff members in front desk does not do his job well. He was not friendly and not efficient at all. I was demanding an explanation why at 6 pm and can't still check in one of the rooms I have booked. We came from a 4 hr bus ride from Oslob and really wanted to freshen up. Of course he didn't make me feel good that to extend our check out is not possible unless we pay the extra charge? I think if you have a good mind and if you want to make your guest feel good, you can at least offer something in exchange of that inconvenience.

Room is clean including toilet.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor and bring toiletries. But then there's a 7-11 in the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank isayqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
0.2 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#30 of 92 in Cebu City
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 92 in Cebu City
545 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#12 of 92 in Cebu City
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Cebu

Address: 36 Archbishop Reyes Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Cebu)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range: $37 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Cebu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Planet Cebu provides guests with easy access to this energised city's best attractions. The famous Ayala Cebu Centre is right across the road, while nearby tourist landmarks include Magellan's Cross and Basilica del Santo. Located just 11km from Mactan Cebu International Airport, Red Planet Cebu is also close to a host of shopping malls, restaurants and bars. The Ayala Centre Cebu and the Cebu Business Park are a short drive away. The 150 practical and comfortable rooms include one with wheelchair access. Red Planet Cebu has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Planet Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing