We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and price were good but a bit too minimalist and other issues”
Review of Red Planet Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Planet Cebu
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Location and price were good but a bit too minimalist and other issues”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel location is great if your looking for easy access to shops and restaurants, as it is located across the road from one of the big shopping malls in the city (Ayala Mall).

Tune seems to model itself after the virgin brand and likes to appear hip and trendy, which it succeeds in relatively well. Upon arrival we were presented with a trendy red shoulder bag with the Tune logo containing our towels and soaps etc.

The Tune service model is one of functionality and minimalism and states that you only pay for what you need. This bare bones approach went a little too far though when we discovered that there was no tea making equipment in the room such as a kettle. Indeed there was no fridge, chair, chest of drawers or wardrobe either, instead there was a drop down shelf and v small clothes rail bolted directly onto a corner of the wall, with four coat hangers available.

The room, 407, was quite small and a little bit cramped for two of us, especially when the aforementioned drop down shelf was open, as this obstructed access to one side of the bed. The room had a decent sized window overlooking the city which was locked.

A large flat screen tv was provided with plenty of channels. Signal quality was ok.

The air conditioning unit was a wall mounted affair and rather noisy, even with earplugs it could still be heard. On our third night it packed up altogether sometime during the night so we woke up rather hot and stuffy before our long journey.

We also both woke up itching with several nasty red bumps on our legs, whether these were biting ants or bed bugs who knows. Although we never actually saw one I suspect it was more likely the later as we also had an ant problem in Panglao but didn't suffer any bites like these.

The toilet/shower was quite spacious with good water pressure and the glass bathroom door with the Tune logo looked quite trendy.

In room wi-fi was provided with our package. The signal was strong and speed quite good.

Staff were friendly and courteous and the room was cleaned daily. Hotel security seemed ok with a guard on the entrance and cctv throughout the corridors and lifts.

A safe deposit box is provided in the room and is free to use.

For £23 a night the hotel represented good value and I can appreciate the minimalist approach, up to a point. The insect bites during the night were the worst part of the experience however and would certainly give me pause when considering a second booking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corumuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    332
    122
    27
    10
See reviews for
70
222
160
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We always stay in Tune hotels where we can. These are good value for money with comfortable beds, powerful showers and cable TV. The hotels are akin to Travelodge in the UK, but with advertisements splashed across the rooms (like a plane seat on Ryanair!) ...however if you can ignore the latter, this place is really nice. Service is friendly but not of particularly good standard. We were put in wrong room then moved and were also recommended a fast food place in a food court when we enquired as to a nice restaurant, but as most people just stay here as a stopover this shouldn't affect your trip.
Location is fine. Near a mall, near Imax, a few km from north bus station, plenty of taxis around and 25 mins to airport when traffic is good. There is a 711 underneath building and a 24/7 security guard.
We would recommend you book through agoda as you get full package and so don't need to feel aggrieved by paying separatel for towels, TV etc. This is all automatically included through agoda for a more pleasant booking experience. Plus we pay approx £20 which is just as cheap as the Tune website rate. Avoid the hassle!

Room Tip: Twin beds may be a better option for a couple as double is on small side. Twins are roomy and wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazamM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Me and my best bud always stay here whenever we visited Cebu. I like the idea that you are only paying for what you need (i.e bed, internet or cable TV) for you have the option of availing which service you want. As far as i know there are two tune hotel in Cebu but we stayed at the one who is closest to Ayala Mall, which also has a convenient store (7-11) just beside it.

Our only problem is whenever you want to call / talk to their front office you have to go down or use their intercom found near the elevator area outside your room. So might as well ask for front office their cellphone number so that you can call them immediately without going out of your room or whenever you need something.

i will surely book another room here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Laundry list, great location and small rooms is what you want this your hotel. I paid $29 and some change but be ready for the Cebu City taxes and a 10% service charge to book your hotel online and a 12% service to book at the hotel. Also, here a list of further service charges that will really up your cost of this hotel. Also, there are advertisements in your room that I believe they consider art I guess.

Earthquake Damage. I am not an structural engineer but I noticed cracks in the walls when you walk into the main entrance by the car park. Other than these cracks I haven't seen any other damage in my walk into the hotel and riding the elevator up to floor.

Mandatory Fees

You’ll be asked to pay the following charges at check in or check out:

Towels/sheets: PHP 90 per person, per night

Optional extras

Early check-in can be arranged for an extra charge of PHP 300

Late check-out can be arranged for an extra charge of PHP 300

Air conditioning is available for an extra charge of PHP 350 per night

TV service is available for an extra charge of PHP 130 per night

WiFi is available in guestrooms for PHP 240 for 24 hours (rates may vary)

High-speed Internet access (wired) is available in guestrooms for PHP 120 (rates may vary)

Room Tip: My room was double room that so small I have to step over my small luggage to get the bed. Get a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nukids2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very basic hotel but quality and service is undeniably and surprisingly very good.

Location is very accessible and convenient, walking distance to Ayala center. Surrounding area is fairly safe - well lighted street, has 24/7 convenience store beside the bldg (7/11).

Very small room with window (at least on the rooms I stayed in) - perfect if you're alone but if you're with another person expect to at least bump at each other once when moving around.

You need to pay for add-ons (like a/c, wifi, toiletries) - but price is reasonable.

One down-side - avoid high peak check-in(11am)/check-out (2pm) hours, if possible. The staff is very efficient but with the large crowd - it can be a hassle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justjhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The good was the price. Nice bed and pillows and overall a nice clean comfortable room. The Bad is no phone a small room with no place to put your stuff. Overall a decent place computers in the lobby. The mall with lots of stores and places to eat. 7-11 right next to the hotel. My main complaint was there was no Ice machine so i could never really enjoy a cold drink. But will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Newly refurbished hotel surrounded by shopping attractions. Very good friendly staff. Very clean rooms, bathrooms, linen and towels etc. Big mirror for each room and satellite LCD TV. Small room yet specious. No in house phones but free WiFi available. Recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bandu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#9 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.8 mi away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#6 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
1.3 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#10 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Cebu

Property: Red Planet Cebu
Address: 36 Archbishop Reyes Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Cebu)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Cebu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Planet Cebu provides guests with easy access to this energised city's best attractions. The famous Ayala Cebu Centre is right across the road, while nearby tourist landmarks include Magellan's Cross and Basilica del Santo. Located just 11km from Mactan Cebu International Airport, Red Planet Cebu is also close to a host of shopping malls, restaurants and bars. The Ayala Centre Cebu and the Cebu Business Park are a short drive away. The 150 practical and comfortable rooms include one with wheelchair access. Red Planet Cebu has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Planet Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing