We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good budget hotel at a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Planet Cebu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Planet Cebu
Ranked #9 of 83 Hotels in Cebu City
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good budget hotel at a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Booking the hotel via its website was pretty easy. Check-in time is 2pm whereas check-out time is 11am. The counter staff kept things simple and checked me right in after I gave them my booking confirmation slip. You just need to buy what you need besides the room, like wifi, tv, air conditioning, etc. I found the room clean, functional and comfortable for a good night's sleep.

A 7-Eleven convenience store is just next to the hotel and the Ayala Center mall is just 5 minutes walk away with a lot of restaurants, stores and cafés. Taxis are easy to get right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Like everything else, you pay for what you need. The air conditioning is for 24 hours but if you use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikonwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    247
    99
    22
    8
See reviews for
40
168
121
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have been consistently impressed with Tune Hotels across asia, and the Tune Hotel in Cebu is no exception. The rooms are small, but are clean, but had everything we needed. You pay extra for things like AC, wifi, and towels, but we purchased the comfort package, which gave us 24 hours of AC and wifi per day, as well as clean towels each day for a good price. The location is great - right across from the Ayala centre and the Terraces (with lots of great restaurants). It's refreshing to get a clean, safe room for such a great price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kalyso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We love Tune hotels! Very efficient and clean. The rooms are basic and just big enough to sleep in, but thats what keeps the price down. There is a 7-11 on the ground floor if you need anything (eg drinking water) and the hotel is right across the street from one of the main malls in Cebu, full of trendy restaurants and shops. It is close to most of the main travel sights. We used the hotel to stage a day trip down to Oslob to swim with whale sharks!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkG99963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Alabama
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I had to visit the US Embassy Consulate in Cebu.I did not have a reservation but walked in. The rate for "walk-in" was the same as on the websites. They did charge me 100P per hour for early check in but it was worth this small fee. The facilities were clean, well kept and completely modern. We stayed on the 4th floor and it was quiet. Free computer and internet access in the lobby. The hotel is conveniently located about a block away from Metro Mall. We walked over for dinner. There is no breakfast at the hotel but there is a "7 Eleven" store on the ground floor next door.

Room Tip: Walk over to Metro Mall for shopping and dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryGCarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I saw tune hotel Cebu rated a few times on tripadvisor, but I really was not attracted to the loud color scheme. The hotel I wanted in the beginning was booked up, so I stayed at tune hotel. The hotel is very clean, the staff was very professional and helpful ( You would have thought they was from the western world lol). The room was nice, modern, clean, and the safe very easy to use. The only thing I did not like was shower glass only covered half the shower and did not move, that is my only complaint. The room is not big at all, but I did not care because I usually leave my clothes in the suitcase anyway. Next door, is 7/11, across the street is Ayala mall, my favorite mall in Cebu. Although I did not want to book online, I found I got a better deal booking online with agoda, than booking at the hotel. I would recommend tune hotel for any single man on a budget. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel desk is on the second floor. If you want to be discreet, do not take a room on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

TUNE HOTEL, CEBU

Modern well placed hotel about 15 minutes from the Airport. We had a double room & whilst the bed was comfortable there was little room in the hotel room. Once the bags were in there was little room to maneuver. In room safe & shower was very good.

Views over to Metro Ayala Center but only being on the 4th floor the road noise was an issue.

Very clean, very modern with electronic door locks.
No onsite eating facilities however there is a Seven Eleven on the ground floor for snacks &
coffee.
Staff very friendly & generally a comfortable stay.

Overall 7/10

Free WIFI available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalboHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Me and my best friend had a short get-away before Christmas last year and we stayed in Tune Hotel.
We were so pleasantly surprised to find out it is right across Ayala Mall!
It's a great boutique hotel that's so affordable and yet everything's so clean and new!
WE were so happy we chose this place to stay!
We will definitely book in Tune Cebu next time we come visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timibanzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#7 of 83 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#11 of 83 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 83 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Escario Central Hotel
Escario Central Hotel
#19 of 83 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#8 of 83 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Cebu

Property: Red Planet Cebu
Address: 36 Archbishop Reyes Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Cebu)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Cebu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Planet Cebu provides guests with easy access to this energised city's best attractions. The famous Ayala Cebu Centre is right across the road, while nearby tourist landmarks include Magellan's Cross and Basilica del Santo. Located just 11km from Mactan Cebu International Airport, Red Planet Cebu is also close to a host of shopping malls, restaurants and bars. The Ayala Centre Cebu and the Cebu Business Park are a short drive away. The 150 practical and comfortable rooms include one with wheelchair access. Red Planet Cebu has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Planet Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing