We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice clean place friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Planet Cebu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Planet Cebu
Ranked #10 of 86 Hotels in Cebu City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice clean place friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I'd stay here again
Nice modern clean place to stay
A bit from anywhere but close to large shopping Mall
Children begging outside
But it's Normal here
Not far from the Square
So 100 peso taxi
To almost anywhere always a taxi outside the hotel 7 Elleven 11
Opposite so plenty of supplies

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisblackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    251
    102
    22
    8
See reviews for
41
169
124
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jstern115
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

After originally making a reservation at a nearby hotel and finding it to be less than I expected (I won't name names but the room was falsely advertised) I made a last minute reservation at laterooms.com. I had a fantastic stay: the rooms was clean, it had everything I needed including a good range of satellite TV options, and a reliably fast internet connection. The location is very central, just across the street from Ayala Mall and a short taxi ride from the port or older section of town. Yet what stood out the most was the extremely friendly and helpful nature of the staff. In particular, the security guard and doorman at the front of the hotel (I wish I remembered his name) was very welcoming and knowledgeable in terms of directions and pointers on tourist sites. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again and I would suggest that mid-range travelers (the type to normal stay at a Holiday Inn Express or similar) also give it a try as it is above and beyond a budget hotel. To relate a property like this to EasyHotel is not a fair comparison.

Room Tip: You need to pay extra for A/C, towels, wifi etc, but some third-party booking sites like laterooms.c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jstern115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This Tune Hotel is located directly across the road from Ayala Mall in Cebu City. A large mall that provides shopping and great food choices. This Tune Hotel is budget priced with very friendly and efficient service. The location within Cebu City puts it next to a KTV bar and a short taxi ride from SM Mall Cebu. All up this Tune was clean, showers hot and easy checkin/checkout process. Its easy to travel around with taxi's and local bus services near bye. I was on a high floor which offered a great view of Cebu City. The location is safe and about a twenty minute taxi ride to the airport. Overall A+

Room Tip: Get a room not near the lift if you want sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dabster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My whole family stayed here for 1 weeks last Feb 2013. The room is so cheap $28 bucks per day. The laundry service is so cheap too, kinda paying $1.80 for load for 3 boys. It's so close to Ayala Mall where all the pretty girls are DAMN !
No fancy restaurant or elaborate lobby. Washroom kinda small and no cabinets. There's a safe though but for $28 - that a deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Tune hotel is a good stay for those on a budget. While I booked online and not direct with the hotel I got a package deal and did not have to "choose" all the amenities of my room. If you book directly you will have many choices of the room and amenities available to you.

The room we had was small but fine for the two nights we were there. We had a rental car and parked right at the hotel as well. The Ayala Mall is right across the street for shopping and restaurants. There is a 7/11 convenience store right at the hotel which proved very nice for our stay.

The staff was efficient and helpful. The hotel is kept neat and clean.

A good value stay near a mall!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrown406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandaluyong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I call this the essential hotel because all you have are the essentials. An air conditioned room with a double bed, TV and bathroom. That's it. And for a traveler with a budget that is more than enough. The room is a bit cramped though and movement can be a challenge. The location is excellent... near Ayala Cebu and with a convenient store below the hotel. I cannot stress the importance of waking up in the middle of the night and getting coffee anytime I want to. The staff could use a little courtesy training though... I remember going to the internet area near the reception desk and was not even greeted by the receptionist, although no big deal. Overall, if you are on a budget, this is a hotel with great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Upon arrival at Tune Hotels Cebu City the polite security guard will advise you to check in at the 2nd floor.
Like all Tune Hotels (in Asia), accomodation is very basic, you pay for what you need, from airconditioning, wi-fi, towel and toiletries. which you can prepay when you book online. Taxis are very accessible and readily available in front of the hotel. Hungry? Just cross the road to Ayala Center. Forgot/need something, there's a 7-11 at the ground floor. Pretty decent hotel if you just need a place to sleep and you are out all day. Also, as with our experience with Tune Hotels KL and KK, TH Cebu City is not particular if you have a small child, they dont charge extra for as long as your child shares the same bed with parents. Complementary newspaper is available at the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TayNayNak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#7 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#12 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 86 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,497 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#8 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#5 of 86 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Cebu

Property: Red Planet Cebu
Address: 36 Archbishop Reyes Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Cebu)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Cebu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Planet Cebu provides guests with easy access to this energised city's best attractions. The famous Ayala Cebu Centre is right across the road, while nearby tourist landmarks include Magellan's Cross and Basilica del Santo. Located just 11km from Mactan Cebu International Airport, Red Planet Cebu is also close to a host of shopping malls, restaurants and bars. The Ayala Centre Cebu and the Cebu Business Park are a short drive away. The 150 practical and comfortable rooms include one with wheelchair access. Red Planet Cebu has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Red Planet Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing