We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel”
Review of Red Planet Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Planet Cebu
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
San Pablo City, San Pablo, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Centrally located near ayala center cebu. Nice and clean room with basic amenities. They dont have free toothbrush and toothpaste. You have to rent out 24 hr airconditioner tv and wifi. Their motto is if you dont need it dont pay for it. No restaurant for breakfast and no swimming pool as well. Just a place to sleep and go.

Room Tip: Bring basic personal stuff(towel soap toothbrush) or pay for it if you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainluvs03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    341
    126
    27
    11
See reviews for
74
228
165
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The beds is so comfy and pillows too, and it is in front of cebu ayala mall..plus the 24hr 7-eleven downstairs that you can buy some refreshment and hot drinks. And all of the staff of this hotel are so helpful and courteous, which give the plus point of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beds are very comfy, showers are great and it was very clean. Rooms are small as is the norm with Tune Hotels but they contain everything you need. We paid for the comfort package so got A/C, Wifi, towel and toiletries which was great for the price.

The location is great too. 7-eleven downstairs for emergency provisions and the shopping mall across the way has a huge courtyard of eateries (although only one bar) with varied options available and an energetic vibe about it (even on a Thursday). The shopping mall is a decent size if you wanted to go on a spree.

Room Tip: Book in advance for the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claramon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butuan City, Butuan, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Since its new, it has a good feel to it. Its also very conveniently local. Being in front of Ayala mall, I was able to go back and forth to the mall and buy things I needed. It also had a 7-11 beside it, so you could get anything at any time. It just had a small room which would not be suitable for family stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Hotel is perfect located in front of the Ayala Shopping Mall. You can also reach (with Taxi) in a couple of minutes the nighlife arrear Mango Square.
The rooms are very small but equipped with safe box, flat screen TV and a comfortable bed.
The bathroom is nice but you cannot move the glass window from the shower that more or less the whole ground of the bathroom is wet. The room in general was absolut clean. The staff was friendly but a big concern is the safeness in that Hotel. The rooms have no peephole no telephones. Local people from outside of the Hotel are not controlled from the security. During our visit some Ladies and Lady boys could go to every Hotel floor without any problems and nobody security nor reception are aware of this. I fully understand that the Hotel concept is limited service with the basic needs of the travelling guests, which is a comfortable bed and a power shower but safeness is an absolut major point for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malagan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked for 3/11-16 via Tune website. I know I added the accessory packages (TV, Wifi and AC). Arrived one day early so I check in one day early. Big mistake. MUCH more expensive at hotel than online. On top of that, I found that my booking did not included the accessory packages I ordered on the receipt they send me. End result, I pay more money at checkin than online.
Room: clean but small. The only reason that I stayed there was that it was new and most likely the cleanest hotel around. When they designed the room, it was designed with the cheapest cost in mind. You only have two AC socket to plug in your gadgets. Bring a multi-plug adaptors. There is also NO phone in the room. There is only ONE phone per floor located at the elevator. If you need to talk to front desk, good luck. Bath room was actually decent size compared to the room.
Location: right accross from Ayala mall. Good if you like the upscale Ayala. S&M mall seems to be more fun and have a lot more shops.
Amenities: The concept of paying for what you use is a good idea but it failed in execution. YOU HAVE to tell them to clean your room or else your room is not going to get cleaned at all. Despite paying for 24 hrs wifi, I found that I used more than 1 wifi account per day. Why? Each account only allows 3 device to log on. If you have a 4th one, you're have to use the next wifi ticket. Sometime, the wifi account expired less than 24 hours. My TV intermittently shuts off by itself. Why? My 24 hours was up even thought I pay for the whole stay upfront. It is always a pain to go to the elevator to use the phone to call front desk to reactivate my TV.
Wifi: you have to pay extra. You have to log in each time you use it. It is a PAIN IN THE BEHIND!!!!
AC: very loud especially at night time. I have to turn off the AC at night because of the noise but then I have to turn it back on because it is too hot.
Security: 24 hours guard at entrance. Need card to go to floor from lobby but you can go directly to room without card from entrance. I can never figure out why.

Overall, I would not go back there again. There are other better deals around than Tune Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sclin460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxas City, Philippines
Level Contributor
134 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have tried several Tune Hotels in Malaysia and Indonesia, so we are not new to the concept of Tune Hotel. And we expected the small rooms too. So we were peasantly surprised that their Cebu property has a decent sized room and "big" bathroom - and it was located across Ayala Center. We booked during their room sale and got a very good deal (P36!). We would have not paid extra for aircon if only the windows can be opened. The windows were locked, obviously for safety reason. It would have been better if there was a restaurant in the ground floor (common in all Tune hotels in Malaysia) and a glass door to keep the shower area enclosed (the whole bathroom gets wet after taking a bath).

Room Tip: Wait for the room sale to get great deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickydmd888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
0.8 mi away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#6 of 87 in Cebu City
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 87 in Cebu City
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
0.3 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
462 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
3,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Cebu

Property: Red Planet Cebu
Address: 36 Archbishop Reyes Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Cebu)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Cebu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Planet Cebu provides guests with easy access to this energised city's best attractions. The famous Ayala Cebu Centre is right across the road, while nearby tourist landmarks include Magellan's Cross and Basilica del Santo. Located just 11km from Mactan Cebu International Airport, Red Planet Cebu is also close to a host of shopping malls, restaurants and bars. The Ayala Centre Cebu and the Cebu Business Park are a short drive away. The 150 practical and comfortable rooms include one with wheelchair access. Red Planet Cebu has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Planet Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing