We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I just didn't like it”
Review of Red Planet Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Planet Cebu
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The weird red and white decor turned me off, the tiny rooms made me claustrophobic, and the doorless shower flooded the bathroom because of the super slow drain. I reserved through agoda and got a good price, I thought. I like having a destination to take the luggage to when I land and the hotel location was very convenient, but didn't block for my whole stay sensing I might not like the place. After one night, I walked down the block, crossed the street, and got a fantastic walk-in rate at the Hotel Elizabeth that wasn't available online. Thats a real hotel and I was glad for my decision. There a plenty of hotels in that immediate area competing so use the Tune wifi and find another place for anything other than a fast stopover.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aitch A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 827 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Good location for the Ayala mall,rooms ok, but not too much room to move about and a lack of shelf/table to put your luggage.all small things but makes the difference..also if shower had sliding door would have stopped water into comfort room area. Good value if u don't need all the extra,s..also could do with two more extra pillows as the two in my room were not up for much sleeping just made the bed look right !!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rood46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great value hotel. It's just a year old. Everything is well kept and the place is really clean. Just a block away from Metro Ayala Cebu and about Php 80 taxi ride to the nearest SM. Just Php 1,600+ for an overnight stay with aircon, TV and wifi. You can book online through their website. Make sure to get the Php 420 package for the amenities rather than paying individually. Towels and toiletries included in that package. Toiletries just a small bar of soap and a container of shampoo conditioner. No toothbrush nor toothpaste. If you are staying for more than a night, make sure to click the corresponding number of package. The wifi and aircon are consumable. I made a mistake booking online and just paid for 1 night of amenities but booked for two nights stay. Since we were out most of the time, the 24 hr worth of aircon was consumed until 3am of our second night! So if really budget conscious, you can purchase the whole package for 1 day and then just purchase additional as you need them. Toiletries can last you more than a day, unless you want fresh towels everyday! No free breakfast but there is a 7/11 downstairs and if you feel like having sinangag anytime of the day or night, as directions from the guard. It is just about a block away, on the back of Quest Hotel. Book a room on the higher floors so you won't be disturbed by the traffic. Don't stay in room 914 because the faucet has a strong pressure and the aircon leaks.

It is about Php 100 taxi ride to Tabo-an market where you can buy dangit at a cheaper price. It is about Php 80-90 taxi ride to the pier if you want to visit the nearby islands. Just beware that though they advertise numerous ferry trips during the day, it's hard to book one because they get cancelled or fully booked. So when taking the ferry, your schedule must be flexible in case you don't get a ticket home. :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Nice, comfy budget hotel. However if you wanted to avoid the hassle of calculating how many days of wifi/cable tv/aircon/towels you need, try to ask them if they have a package for all in one.
Room size is just right with a modern feel, very clean and comfortable.
Location of the hotel is great, walking distance to Ayala Mall for all your needs. Moreover 7-eleven is just below the hotel for your convenience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelHolidayJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Price:
+ Hotel is a good deal if you are on a budget and need a clean, quiet place to get horizontal at night but can't do the whole ratty pension home thing.

Location:
+ Hotel is across the street from Ayala Center (a mall), and only a few minutes from the ferry (for those who also want to check out Bohol) and other attractions (such as the Santo Nino church). Plus they have a 7-11 downstairs.
- Hotel is located on a fairly busy road so avoid rooms facing the street if you don't want to wake up to the sounds of commute.

Service:
+ They allowed us to switch rooms after we complained about the noise.
- The second room had an awfully firm mattress so we complained about the bed, but they adamantly insisted that all beds in the hotel were identical. They finally acquiesced, but only after much time had been wasted explaining the complaint to the front desk and then again to the manager. Before moving to the third room, I inspected the bed and discovered the mattress was upside down. smh

Room:
+ When made properly, the bed was surprisingly comfortable (esp. since the room is so sparsely appointed).
- Very small rooms. Great for solo travelers, couples, or tiny people.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street are noisy. Try a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bouncinbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel I got. For just 1,800 pesos, you'll get the best accomodation in town :)

Situated right in front of Metro Ayala Cebu and has 7-11 at the groud floor.

Tip: Upon booking, make sure to get the cozy package on the add-ons because if you won't get it, when you check-in at the hotel, you'll have to buy all the add-ons one-by-one :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUANderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of February as we were doing some filming in Cebu. It's about 45 minutes away from the airport so expect to pay for a taxi when you arrive in Mactan. It was about 700 pesos for a taxi as we had a lot of luggage and there was 4 of us. But coming back to the airport, we took metered taxis instead which cost us 250 pesos each on the taxis, so much cheaper than the airport taxis.

The hotel price was mega cheap and definately affordable compared to the other hotels in the area and it was definately worth the price. Staff were very friendly and always greeted you when you walked past them. When we came back to the room from one of the day trips, the cleaner made swans from the towels! :) Most of the time, we left most of our stuff out and about, but they were always there when we go back from the rooms. Nothing went missing, although, still be cautious and lock away your important stuff and gadgets in a locked suitcase.

The room was very clean, however you do have to pay for the 24 hours use of wifi, TV, towels, aircon etc. But if you book through Agoda, you get your wifi, TV, towels and aircon in the price. This was very helpful as I knew what I was getting. You do get a ceiling fan in the room if you don't want to use the aircon.

The beds were very comfortable and the water in the shower was hot. Shower was always good and the bathroom was also very clean. The room's aren't very big, but it was plenty of space for two people and it was very cosy.

There isn't any food available in the hotel, but there is a 7/11 at the ground floor, next door to the hotel. Food there is cheap and if you want to walk a little further, like 2 minutes, then you'll find the Ayala Mall where there's plenty of restaurants to choose from. We always had breakfast at The Pancake House at Ayala Mall as it was one of the few restaurants that would open at 7am. The hotel was find with us taking food back in, we had plenty of Jollibee takeaways!

For transport, there's always metered taxis available which aren't very expensive to get around.
We found out that there was an amazing view on the roof deck of the hotel and the staff were friendly enough to let us film up there. The sunset up there is amazing!

Overall, excellent value for the money, great location, friendly staff, extremely comfortable beds, hot shower, clean rooms and a place for a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rochielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 91 in Cebu City
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#28 of 91 in Cebu City
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#10 of 91 in Cebu City
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Cebu

Address: 36 Archbishop Reyes Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Cebu)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range: $32 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Cebu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Planet Cebu provides guests with easy access to this energised city's best attractions. The famous Ayala Cebu Centre is right across the road, while nearby tourist landmarks include Magellan's Cross and Basilica del Santo. Located just 11km from Mactan Cebu International Airport, Red Planet Cebu is also close to a host of shopping malls, restaurants and bars. The Ayala Centre Cebu and the Cebu Business Park are a short drive away. The 150 practical and comfortable rooms include one with wheelchair access. Red Planet Cebu has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Red Planet Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing