We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget at its BEST!”
Review of Red Planet Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Planet Cebu
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel I got. For just 1,800 pesos, you'll get the best accomodation in town :)

Situated right in front of Metro Ayala Cebu and has 7-11 at the groud floor.

Tip: Upon booking, make sure to get the cozy package on the add-ons because if you won't get it, when you check-in at the hotel, you'll have to buy all the add-ons one-by-one :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUANderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 855 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of February as we were doing some filming in Cebu. It's about 45 minutes away from the airport so expect to pay for a taxi when you arrive in Mactan. It was about 700 pesos for a taxi as we had a lot of luggage and there was 4 of us. But coming back to the airport, we took metered taxis instead which cost us 250 pesos each on the taxis, so much cheaper than the airport taxis.

The hotel price was mega cheap and definately affordable compared to the other hotels in the area and it was definately worth the price. Staff were very friendly and always greeted you when you walked past them. When we came back to the room from one of the day trips, the cleaner made swans from the towels! :) Most of the time, we left most of our stuff out and about, but they were always there when we go back from the rooms. Nothing went missing, although, still be cautious and lock away your important stuff and gadgets in a locked suitcase.

The room was very clean, however you do have to pay for the 24 hours use of wifi, TV, towels, aircon etc. But if you book through Agoda, you get your wifi, TV, towels and aircon in the price. This was very helpful as I knew what I was getting. You do get a ceiling fan in the room if you don't want to use the aircon.

The beds were very comfortable and the water in the shower was hot. Shower was always good and the bathroom was also very clean. The room's aren't very big, but it was plenty of space for two people and it was very cosy.

There isn't any food available in the hotel, but there is a 7/11 at the ground floor, next door to the hotel. Food there is cheap and if you want to walk a little further, like 2 minutes, then you'll find the Ayala Mall where there's plenty of restaurants to choose from. We always had breakfast at The Pancake House at Ayala Mall as it was one of the few restaurants that would open at 7am. The hotel was find with us taking food back in, we had plenty of Jollibee takeaways!

For transport, there's always metered taxis available which aren't very expensive to get around.
We found out that there was an amazing view on the roof deck of the hotel and the staff were friendly enough to let us film up there. The sunset up there is amazing!

Overall, excellent value for the money, great location, friendly staff, extremely comfortable beds, hot shower, clean rooms and a place for a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rochielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed @ Cebu Tune Hotel the 1st time in Nov 2012 and a 2nd time Feb 2013. It was awesome the 1st time receiving the promo price. The 2nd time wasn't as great since I didn't receive the promo price but I did use my Agoda points which made the price cheaper. The hotel is in a good location near Ayala Mall and not far using a taxi to the Mango Ave. night life. The rooms are small but clean. I was going to book a 3rd time for this April but the higher price turned me off. I decided to get a different hotel in the same area with a pool and free brkfast @ a slightly higher price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cblt08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at the Tune Hotel in Cebu for 4 nights in February and was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. This is a clean hotel that is strategically situated in the heart of the shopping area of Ayala Mall. It is a 2 minute walk to the Ayala Mall. This affordable hotel is located near other hotels that are more pricey in the same vicinity. Although there is no restaurant, there is a 7-11 store next door and near such good places to eat like Rodeo Grill. The shower is hot which is always a must for travelers. This is a basic, no frills hotel. Staff was always smiling and helpful. Yes, if you are on a fix budget and want a clean, safe, and well located hotel in Cebu - this is the place for you!

Room Tip: The rooms that do not face the main street and the Ayala Mall are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I never been to Cebu before, so thought of choosing a strategic hotel just to avoid transportation problems. I booked the hotel through Agoda.com

The journey from Airport to Tune hotel is roughly 45 minutes, with narrow and dusty "highway" all the way. There seem to be a road construction going on so heavy traffic at certain part. Few times the driver brought us through some back lane to avoid the traffic.,but everything is okay actually, I mean the driver are friendly if compare to those at Manila.

This Tune Hotel is new, and it's just five minutes walk to Ayala Center. I didn't walk to other surrounding part of Tune Hotel, but I can see Banks, Malls, Cafes, almost everything you need are around there.

Nothing much to command about the hotel, my packages come with 24 hours wifi, air-conditioning, TV. The receptionists are friendly, even the security guards which claimed to work for 24 hours are always friendly and greet us every time we enter the hotel. So we bought him a hot-dog with soft drink from 7-Eleven next door. I mean really, work 24 hours? But we did saw him from morning until late night we back he still working..

I would recommend those want to do city-tour to stay at this hotel, for those that hope to do island hopping or just want to be close to the sea side, it's rather far so I suggest you to choose hotel at Lapu-Lapu city or at Mactan Island.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy_L421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

the double room was small but enough for 2 people with some room to move a bit. eventhough the shower door was not there, not much of an issue. check-in and check-out were fast although the hotel emailed afterwards that our booking was not eventually charged to my card (and i confirmed) and so i had to pay in cash via bank. nevertheless everything was convenient.

Room Tip: the hotel website might get you confuse upon booking due to the 'add-on' thing they have, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

best budget hotel you will find in cebu the location is best for someone unfamiliar with this crazy place taxis stop immediately in front of hotel staff are really friendly 7eleven store staff became my friends straight away good safe location room was great for me maybe small for some but just what i was looking for cebu is not for everyone spent 21 nights here and can recommend highly definitely book here again my number one choice for price in a new hotel keep it up tune cebu you have a goldmine here

Room Tip: noisy city centre so not suited to all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
0.1 mi away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#30 of 92 in Cebu City
233 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#11 of 92 in Cebu City
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 92 in Cebu City
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Cebu

Address: 36 Archbishop Reyes Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Cebu)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range: $33 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Cebu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Planet Cebu provides guests with easy access to this energised city's best attractions. The famous Ayala Cebu Centre is right across the road, while nearby tourist landmarks include Magellan's Cross and Basilica del Santo. Located just 11km from Mactan Cebu International Airport, Red Planet Cebu is also close to a host of shopping malls, restaurants and bars. The Ayala Centre Cebu and the Cebu Business Park are a short drive away. The 150 practical and comfortable rooms include one with wheelchair access. Red Planet Cebu has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Red Planet Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing