We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business/Budget Hotel with a Clean and Comfortable Ambience”
Review of Red Planet Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Planet Cebu
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Although the room was not very spacious, with no cabinets, and with only a small folding board for a "table", everything else was very clean and comfortable. I slept soundly on a good bed, the bathroom had a strong shower with hot water. I think that the ambience was a notch higher, compared to an average business/budget hotel. I would recommend this hotel for travelers travelling solo, or with two/three friends who just want the sleeping comfort of a good bed, and who do not mind the "basic" amenities. Add-ons for air-conditioning, towel, and wifi are optional, and provide an opportunity to lower the cost of stay.. No breakfast included, but a 24-hour convenience store is very near the ground floor. Location near Ayala Mall is an added convenience too. The hotel staff were courteous and professional. Check out was a breeze. Will definitely come back during my next trip to Cebu.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flaris100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
There are newer reviews for Red Planet Cebu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 806 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I've stayes with almost Tune hotel in Philippines so staying here is not new to me - new hotel means new bedsheets and clean room. As always you will get a good price if you book early online. mine I paid less than 1,000 pesos only.

We stayed on 24th dec and booked for 2 rooms. Ayala mall is just across the hotel, which saves us paying fares and huggle taxis in cebu. 7-11 is just downstairs. Downside is, there are no nearby restaurants before 10am if you are looking for a breakfast meal. Other than that Its ok. I feel safe staying on this hotel.

Will certainly stay here again on my next visit in Cebu.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wcmlumix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Bottom line up front: Great budget hotel as advertised, provides bare necessities.

I arrived to this hotel with my wife, the mother-in-law and a friend so we split two rooms. You first check-in on the 2nd floor lobby. Check-in was painless, they provide 1 key card, 24hr WI-FI, and a bag with a towel, shampoo/conditioner and bath soap. There are also 3 free computers in the lobby area for your use. There is no breakfast in the morning, as the staff put it "we provide only the rooms and bare necessities." Once we got into the deluxe room my first impression was ... man this is small. The pictures on the this site is right on. However, after throwing down our bags there was still enough space to walk from the bed to the bathroom. Cable television and AC work well, but all power only work as long as THEIR key card is in the slot. We tried sticking other cards in there but it must recognize a specific chip that's only in their key card. I would have loved having AC run while we were out since the Philippines was extremely humid when we were there in December.

Lastly, there is a 24/7 convenience store on the ground level which is great for late night cravings and a 4 story department store mall across the street.

I wouldn't mind staying here again but I would try another hotel first the next time I return to the Philippines for some extra space.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itbecal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Though the staff was very friendly and correct, the service is limited. We where to much depending on a mall for breakfast etc. Which opens at 10 am. No extra bed possible in the small room and no table with chair for the laptop. Only a small shelf with uncomfortable sit on the bed. Positive was the safe, large flat screen and free WiFi on the room. Beverages where for sale in the nearby 7-11 store. Didn't felt terrible but I won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Just call first for the possibilities. Specially a family with mall kids. The site mentioned that fo...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerrit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Tune has its formula. The rooms are all pretty much the same (which I have no objection to - it's a standard I quite like, I would love some of their linen). However, the staff at this Tune were just amazing. Philippine hospitality is lovely, and the staff just excelled. Djana was able to assist when I had to deal with some business back home and saved my day!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjisaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The room here is really small. You can’t find a single table or chair inside your room. The space is relatively small if you’re a tall man. For couples-I think the only place you’ll go is the bed. It reminded of the the hotel we stayed in Singapore. It’s really a budget hotel wherein if not maintained well it will become a hostel in the near future. The only plus about this property is that it is brand new, it’s clean and fresh. The bathroom is a little weird since it’s half open leading to the shower so water easily lands on the area near the toilet bowl floor. The room has a huge ceiling fan and the ac works fine. The location is a good since it’s close to Ayala Mall and a 7-11 convenience store is just waiting for you downstairs. Expect the basic services to be achieved when staying here.

Room Tip: The rooms facing Ayala Mall is a bit noisy
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOVEME2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Tune Hotels has a good concept especially for budget travelers like me...pay only for amenities you need. Although the rooms come cheap, there is no compromise when it comes to quality of the room and amenities, not to mention the courteous and helpful staff they have. The rooms are fairly sized, bed is comfortable, large flat-screen TV, clean toilet and bath with hot and cold shower.

Tune Hotels Cebu is conveniently located near transportation terminal and very close to Ayala Mall.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrbebing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 91 in Cebu City
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#27 of 91 in Cebu City
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Cebu

Address: 36 Archbishop Reyes Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Cebu)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range: $33 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Cebu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Planet Cebu provides guests with easy access to this energised city's best attractions. The famous Ayala Cebu Centre is right across the road, while nearby tourist landmarks include Magellan's Cross and Basilica del Santo. Located just 11km from Mactan Cebu International Airport, Red Planet Cebu is also close to a host of shopping malls, restaurants and bars. The Ayala Centre Cebu and the Cebu Business Park are a short drive away. The 150 practical and comfortable rooms include one with wheelchair access. Red Planet Cebu has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Red Planet Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing