We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“clean budget hotel right next to Ayala Mall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Planet Cebu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Planet Cebu
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Cebu City
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“clean budget hotel right next to Ayala Mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I've stayes with almost Tune hotel in Philippines so staying here is not new to me - new hotel means new bedsheets and clean room. As always you will get a good price if you book early online. mine I paid less than 1,000 pesos only.

We stayed on 24th dec and booked for 2 rooms. Ayala mall is just across the hotel, which saves us paying fares and huggle taxis in cebu. 7-11 is just downstairs. Downside is, there are no nearby restaurants before 10am if you are looking for a breakfast meal. Other than that Its ok. I feel safe staying on this hotel.

Will certainly stay here again on my next visit in Cebu.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wcmlumix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    255
    105
    22
    8
See reviews for
43
170
125
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Bottom line up front: Great budget hotel as advertised, provides bare necessities.

I arrived to this hotel with my wife, the mother-in-law and a friend so we split two rooms. You first check-in on the 2nd floor lobby. Check-in was painless, they provide 1 key card, 24hr WI-FI, and a bag with a towel, shampoo/conditioner and bath soap. There are also 3 free computers in the lobby area for your use. There is no breakfast in the morning, as the staff put it "we provide only the rooms and bare necessities." Once we got into the deluxe room my first impression was ... man this is small. The pictures on the this site is right on. However, after throwing down our bags there was still enough space to walk from the bed to the bathroom. Cable television and AC work well, but all power only work as long as THEIR key card is in the slot. We tried sticking other cards in there but it must recognize a specific chip that's only in their key card. I would have loved having AC run while we were out since the Philippines was extremely humid when we were there in December.

Lastly, there is a 24/7 convenience store on the ground level which is great for late night cravings and a 4 story department store mall across the street.

I wouldn't mind staying here again but I would try another hotel first the next time I return to the Philippines for some extra space.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Itbecal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calumpang
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Though the staff was very friendly and correct, the service is limited. We where to much depending on a mall for breakfast etc. Which opens at 10 am. No extra bed possible in the small room and no table with chair for the laptop. Only a small shelf with uncomfortable sit on the bed. Positive was the safe, large flat screen and free WiFi on the room. Beverages where for sale in the nearby 7-11 store. Didn't felt terrible but I won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Just call first for the possibilities. Specially a family with mall kids. The site mentioned that fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Tune has its formula. The rooms are all pretty much the same (which I have no objection to - it's a standard I quite like, I would love some of their linen). However, the staff at this Tune were just amazing. Philippine hospitality is lovely, and the staff just excelled. Djana was able to assist when I had to deal with some business back home and saved my day!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjisaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEBU
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The room here is really small. You can’t find a single table or chair inside your room. The space is relatively small if you’re a tall man. For couples-I think the only place you’ll go is the bed. It reminded of the the hotel we stayed in Singapore. It’s really a budget hotel wherein if not maintained well it will become a hostel in the near future. The only plus about this property is that it is brand new, it’s clean and fresh. The bathroom is a little weird since it’s half open leading to the shower so water easily lands on the area near the toilet bowl floor. The room has a huge ceiling fan and the ac works fine. The location is a good since it’s close to Ayala Mall and a 7-11 convenience store is just waiting for you downstairs. Expect the basic services to be achieved when staying here.

Room Tip: The rooms facing Ayala Mall is a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVEME2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Tune Hotels has a good concept especially for budget travelers like me...pay only for amenities you need. Although the rooms come cheap, there is no compromise when it comes to quality of the room and amenities, not to mention the courteous and helpful staff they have. The rooms are fairly sized, bed is comfortable, large flat-screen TV, clean toilet and bath with hot and cold shower.

Tune Hotels Cebu is conveniently located near transportation terminal and very close to Ayala Mall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrbebing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Tune Hotels is known for charging separately for amenities it offers and for me, it was ideal because I am a budget traveler.

But inspite of it being a budget hotel, the sleep quality is not compromised as they have a big bed and the shower was also good. The rooms were clean and the space efficiently managed.

I booked online via their website and was able to get the room for Php 1091 (USD 26) which included a towel and toiletries, 12 hours air conditioning and 24 hours television (-a big flat screen TV).

You can also book this hotel cheap at booking.com and agoda, complete with amenities.

The hotel is located in front of Ayala Mall (famous mall centrally located in Cebu) and has a 7-11 store at the ground floor.


I stayed at Tune Hotel Downtown KL and was not disappointed so I lso booked at Tune in Cebu. Both are highly recommended for budget travelers like me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atty_mich77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#7 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#12 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#8 of 86 in Cebu City
5.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#9 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 86 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Cebu

Property: Red Planet Cebu
Address: 36 Archbishop Reyes Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Cebu)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Cebu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Planet Cebu provides guests with easy access to this energised city's best attractions. The famous Ayala Cebu Centre is right across the road, while nearby tourist landmarks include Magellan's Cross and Basilica del Santo. Located just 11km from Mactan Cebu International Airport, Red Planet Cebu is also close to a host of shopping malls, restaurants and bars. The Ayala Centre Cebu and the Cebu Business Park are a short drive away. The 150 practical and comfortable rooms include one with wheelchair access. Red Planet Cebu has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Red Planet Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing