We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare to excite your palate”
Review of Dong Juan

Dong Juan
Ranked #203 of 735 Restaurants in Cebu City
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Makati, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Prepare to excite your palate”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Dong Juan started out as an informal hole in the wall diner in Guadalupe which already had a loyal following from foodies who like good food but like 'em cheap. Just recently, I visited their newest branch in Panagdait, and boy, I must tell you a lot has changed in terms of ambiance but their food is still to-die-for! If you want good food at an affordable price, then Dong Juan is the place you need to go to. I ordered their marinara pasta and steamy seafood soup -- the two were a perfect marriage for any hungry man.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Came for their burgers, might save first before trying other dishes”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

When you're craving burger, and you're in Cebu, you'll try to ask a Cebuano where we can find the best burgers in town. One responded that we should try Dong Juan. As there are several branches in the city, we tried the relatively new branch at J Center Mall as we are assured that Its business hours is the same as the mall's.

We were greeted by a homey atmosphere not typically found on American diners (after all its Dong Juan). Alas! we tried their burger. We were told that their patty is not 100% pure beef but we can't complain. It's juicy and tasty all the way to the middle, without the overcooked feeling of fastfood burger patties. In other words, 'twas perfect. And wait, their lemon iced tea on peculiarly shaped bottles is a novelty that is surely appreciated. But we still think that for a home-grown brand the price was a little bit steep.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xmackdab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“When you want burger that's not that pricey!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

They have very good pastas here, try their seafoods and chorizo pasta, both are so yummy and it really suits the tastebuds of pasta lovers out there. Their Burger is quite very good as well, way way different from other burgers I've tasted plus their amazing kalamansi blush. Ull be amazed when u take a sip first without stirring it because there is a slight deviation of white and relatively old rose color, and so the taste changes after stirring it and the flavor get mixed already, so amazing!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jazzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good food, good prices, SMALL PORTIONS”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

the burger has a microscopic bun. the fish and chips was severly lacking, and the gambas is more of an appetizer. dont be fooled by the low prices, its almost tapas level servings so u need to order multiple dishes

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerJoe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What used to be a secret hideaway.”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Dong Juan started off as a small restaurant hidden in the suburban area of Guadalupe. They served good food at affordable prices. It was quaint and had a nice homey feeling to it.

Although personally, with the expansion, I think their quality has dipped slightly. I still like their chorizo pasta because they always manage to keep their pasta al dente ;) Their burgers are pretty good as well.

Dong Juan now has several branches: One Mango (Gen. Maxilom Ave.), Crossroads (Banilad Road), and along A.S. Fortuna.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cymbellineo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dong Juan also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Dong Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing