We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best but pretty darn good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zubuchon

Zubuchon
Ranked #7 of 618 Restaurants in Cebu City
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Filipino, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We serve roast pork as the main dish, with nearly three dozen other Filipino dishes that are either include roast pork or are pork-free complementary dishes. We offer an extensive seafood menu in three of our restaurants as well as many vegetable dishes and natural local fruit shakes. This is the roast pork that Chef and TV Host Anthony Bourdain declared as "The Best Pig, Ever!" On his No Reservations episode on the Philippines. For a taste of Filipino cuisine, in clean, bright comfortable surroundings, visit us at any of our branches in Cebu.
Delta, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not the best but pretty darn good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I wouldn't say Zubuchon's lechon is the best I've ever tasted, but it's pretty darn good! Although the lechon was tender and the skin was crispy, it tasted kind of bland to me. The camias shake was refreshing. Service was friendly and efficient. We did visit CNT but there was no more lechon when we got there. The smell of the place made me want to gag though. Good thing Zubuchon was clean and spotless.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiLuvsToTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    292
    134
    42
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Definitely not the best pig EVER - Cebu produces the best Lechon but maybe CNT or Ricos”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was really looking forward in my first dining at Zubuchon in my trip to Cebu. This restaurant's claim for fame was the Anthony Bourdain's food show that said that this is the best pig dish in the world. I agree that Cebu makes the best pig (Lechon) but maybe it is CNT or Ricos - the original Lechon Cebu.

What I like about Zubuchon is the restaurant feel (air-conditioning and decent facility) unlike CNT's Rugged and hot restaurants (they are more for take aways). They serve good dinuguan but that is about it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting experience in a spotless environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Wanted to try great lechon baboy... and it was indeed quite good! Welcomed to the sight of a whole pig (not a suckling however, keep that in mind) resting in a display window, waiting for dinners.

Service was ok, although explaining some of the dishes was a little difficult. Had a plate of the lechon and the calamari stuffed with sisseg (a local pork-chicken liver dish). The pork was excellent, although cold (I believe that's how it's normally served though). The calamari was tasty, but way too salty (and I'm a salty eater).

Liked the experience, but would like to try another version of the lechon baboy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Foodie_errant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergenfield
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Place for Lechon feast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

They say Zubuchon meant Sugbu Lechon.
Sugbu is a vernacular term for Cebu.

The roast pig was a delicacy. The crunchy
skin and the tasty meat were worth a second trip.
I would not be ashamed to bring and invite my friends to
dine in.

The places are not that big but I have seen
Zubuchon branches in many parts of the city since
I last visited Cebu.

They also serve other Filipino foods.
To try once is not enough. To come back meant to
come back for the third time. I like their new Capitol
site restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip07621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummychon!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you are a lechon lover then Zubuchon is probably the best place for you. they have a variety of choices which will satisfy your tastebuds. plus try to partner it with their kamis shake to burn out all the cholesterol.. :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zubuchon also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Zubuchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing