We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Interesting experience in a spotless environment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zubuchon

Zubuchon
Ranked #6 of 654 Restaurants in Cebu City
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Filipino, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We serve roast pork as the main dish, with nearly three dozen other Filipino dishes that are either include roast pork or are pork-free complementary dishes. We offer an extensive seafood menu in three of our restaurants as well as many vegetable dishes and natural local fruit shakes. This is the roast pork that Chef and TV Host Anthony Bourdain declared as "The Best Pig, Ever!" On his No Reservations episode on the Philippines. For a taste of Filipino cuisine, in clean, bright comfortable surroundings, visit us at any of our branches in Cebu.
Montreal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting experience in a spotless environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Wanted to try great lechon baboy... and it was indeed quite good! Welcomed to the sight of a whole pig (not a suckling however, keep that in mind) resting in a display window, waiting for dinners.

Service was ok, although explaining some of the dishes was a little difficult. Had a plate of the lechon and the calamari stuffed with sisseg (a local pork-chicken liver dish). The pork was excellent, although cold (I believe that's how it's normally served though). The calamari was tasty, but way too salty (and I'm a salty eater).

Liked the experience, but would like to try another version of the lechon baboy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Foodie_errant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    326
    148
    45
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergenfield
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Place for Lechon feast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

They say Zubuchon meant Sugbu Lechon.
Sugbu is a vernacular term for Cebu.

The roast pig was a delicacy. The crunchy
skin and the tasty meat were worth a second trip.
I would not be ashamed to bring and invite my friends to
dine in.

The places are not that big but I have seen
Zubuchon branches in many parts of the city since
I last visited Cebu.

They also serve other Filipino foods.
To try once is not enough. To come back meant to
come back for the third time. I like their new Capitol
site restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip07621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummychon!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you are a lechon lover then Zubuchon is probably the best place for you. they have a variety of choices which will satisfy your tastebuds. plus try to partner it with their kamis shake to burn out all the cholesterol.. :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't Cebu without trying Zubuchon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

If Anthony Bourdain loved it, then its gotta be good. And it indeed was ABSOLUTELY delicious.

There were three of us and we ordered - 1/2 kilo lechon, daing rice, shrimp sinigang, and the kamias shake. The branch we ate at was in One Mango Mall, Cebu City.

I'm not particularly a big fan of lechon. At Zubuchon though, I don't remember ever eating more lechon in my life. The tradition Cebu lechon is lovely and bursting with flavor but Zubuchon is a tad bit different. Its still full of flavor yet a little lighter, which I love. The meat was wonderfully tender and wasn't oozing with oil. If with other lechon,you feel the deadly oil as you chew, with Zubuchon, it feels... clean? I'm not sure what word to use.

The daing rice was the perfect side dish to accompany the lechon. It is fried rice, with some garlic, a tad bit green onion, and dried fish bits.The dried fish allows for that occasional tiny burst of saltiness in your mouth. I even think the rice is cooked with pandan as I think tasted hints of pandan in the rice. It enhances the flavor of the lechon for me.

And of course, to counter the cholesterol and to neutralize the rich flavors in your mouth, the tangy-ness of Kamis shake is perfect for clearing your pallet. T

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Glittersmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lechon with a different taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Zubuchon offers a different kind of taste, not the typical taste of lechon in Cebu city. I still prefer the traditional taste lechon in Cebu. We requested them if the lechon can be deep fried, and they asked us for a charge, what kind of restaurant is this ? money is not issue for us but the kind of service they give.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank raffr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zubuchon also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Zubuchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing