We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At the Heart of the City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of GV Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
GV Tower Hotel
Ranked #70 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“At the Heart of the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel is located at the city's downtown, along Osmeña Blvd.

I checked-in in a single bed accommodation on the higher floor and I had a great view of the city. I'm not really that picky so I was satisfied and pretty comfortable with the clean and simple room.

I did not book in advance so I was expecting a higher rate - but, surprisingly, I only paid PhP700.00 for the night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sole_iAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    16
    24
    5
    7
See reviews for
6
7
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cavite City, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

It was in October 2013 when my friends and I booked for a night at GV Tower Hotel in Cebu. At the entrance we were greeted by a polite guard and instructed us that the lobby is at the 7th floor. The reception area was clean and there were sofas which you can sit by while waiting for the accommodation. Check-in time was 2pm and though we arrived at 11am, we were allowed to check in early. I paid for a room (good for 4pax) at P2,025 plus 200pesos deposit for our room key card. Our room was at the 10th floor. It had a full view of the busy city outside because of the glass panes. It was not too spacious, just enough for sleeping, tidy enough for comfort, presentably enough for travelers.

I can say that the hotel is conveniently placed, having local shops (Gaisano, etc.) and fasfood outlets (KFC, Mang Inasal) at walking distance. It is also one ride away from destinations like the Basilica de Sto. Nino, Crown Regency Hotel, Taboan Market etc.. It is located on a busy street therefore, commuting towards your destination becomes hassle-free.

Don't be disappointed by the pricey meal at their restaurant.There are plenty of good buys for food outside.


Because we know no one in Cebu, the free use of the bedside telephone and directory in GV Tower Hotel became very helpful (my friend was looking for a nearby Christian Church, i was trying to locate a certain restaurant), since the next hotel we stayed in charged us five pesos for every local call.. Duh?!

Staffs are courteous enough to answer our queries at their most. We even tried to experiment, entered, and asked out the rates of the inns nearby (Hotel Sogo, and 3 more) but still find GV Tower Hotel the best for its room rates..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mehitabel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

If you are on a budget, this could be the right choice. Mind to get the highest room, the view is nice. Even if that's the worst area in Cebu. Gv offers a decent environment, and it seems to be safe. You can get delivery food & drinks for a reasonable price.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Wolfgang F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I had our stay in GV hotel for a 2 day vacation. This hotel was referred to us by my wife's friend in cebu. Everything went fine at the reception area with the staff and we availed of their promo. We paid the down payment for 1 day plus 200 deposit. When we went to see our room, I immediately went to watch tv but the cable is not working. I called up the front desk only to find out that their cable tv is under repair and no other rooms are available. I was shocked to hear that we cannot watch tv. I went to complain to their supervisor because we wanted to check out and look for another hotel to my dismay, our downpayment can no longer be refunded as stated in their hotel policies.we found it very unfair since we were not informed that the cable is unavailable due to repairs,because if we were informed properly, we never should have stayed at GV hotel.we were so disappointed and vowed never to return to this worst hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Arnel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

cagayan de oro city
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our group stayed in GV Tower Hotel for 3 nights. We booked a Room good for 8 pax at Php2400 plus an extra bed for Php375. The room is located at the 5th floor and to get there, we had to ride the elevator up to the 6th floor and go down the stairs to reach the 5th floor (yes, no elevator passing the 5th floor). The room had a low ceiling but apart from that, it was averagely good. It had 8 single beds plus 1 extra foam and sheets, 2 comfort rooms, 4 cabinets, free towels, bath soaps, and toilet paper, aircondition, cable tv, and a hot and cold shower. Out from my experience in GV Hotel in Davao - no extra outlets available in the rooms -I brought an extension wire just to make sure. True enough, only 1 outlet was available and only 2 persons can get to use it at one given time.

Food chains were just walking distances from the hotel - McDonald's and Jollibee.

We never encountered any blunder from the hotel except for one thing - upon check out - where we were asked to pay Php250 for a stained towel! Now where did it come from when I was sitting across the reception desk waiting for the receptionist to advise that the room was already checked and we were good to go? I did not see anyone of their staff coming in from the 5th floor and bringing with them a stained towel. The receptionist insisted that the towel came from our room and we had to pay the corresponding price. Given that we were at a race against time and we might be late for our flight, so we paid. I just gave them the benefit of the doubt because we did not get to fully check our room before leaving it.

So dear travellers - be warned - do double check your rooms upon check out. Best that you stay there until the staff gets the room fully checked to avoid these circumstances. I did get to read one review from a traveller on his/her experience with the "stained towel" as well. I did not expect it would also happen to me.

Apart from that, the place is good to stay only when you plan to sleep there for the night and loiter the whole day. It's affordable especially for big groups.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pritsininni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

we have been there for 1 night only, even when more planned we would have been ran away next morning: air-condition makes noises all night, could not be fixed or in any way regulated, tv-channels are not clear, room small as i-dont-know and even staff... i don't know who seeingtheworldtoday did meet, but we only met the receptionist, who didn't know anything. the only friendly stuff have been the guards... the promotion-fee was a joke, as without nobody would visit that place. why a double-bed is more expensive then 2 single beds? and pillows that only gave headache... 925 peso for that night, no breakfast, nothing included... poor poor poor... never again...

Room Tip: how to remove the point for swimming pool? there was no swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoDiCou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Room was ok but the air conditioner was right next to the bed but the staff were very helpful and like all asian cities it is noisy. The room was clean and tidy and very basic, as for value for money I would stay there as it is for the budget conscious. If you are on a budget and not expecting much then the hotel is comfortable enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seeingtheworldtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#28 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#56 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#61 of 87 in Cebu City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location
1.1 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#39 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Gloria Residence Inn
La Gloria Residence Inn
#40 of 76 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GV Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GV Tower Hotel

Property: GV Tower Hotel
Address: Cor. Osmena Blvd. and Sanciangko St., Cebu City, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — GV Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GV Hotel is one of the fastest growing budget hotel groups in the Philippines. With 22 branches strategically located all over key places in the country, the GV Hotel Group has also become one of the largest provider of great value accommodations in the Philippine hospitality industry.With its rapid expansion in Visayas, Mindanao and Luzon since starting out in 1999, the GV Hotel Group has become synonymous with quality, service and value for money for the tourist, ahente (sales agent) and negosyante (businessmen/women) market. With no frills practical accommodation, the hotel caters to basic needs whilst ensuring a safe stay during one’s travels.As testimony to the company’s vision and commitment to providing affordable accommodation, GV Tower Hotel was completed in October 2006. The largest branch as of date (June 2013), the GV Tower can accommodate bigger functions and special events; and being one of the tallest buildings in downtown Cebu City, it offers an excellent view of the city and ease of access to the significant tourist spots, such as the Sto Nino Basilica & Magellan’s Cross, as well as access to the Major Markets in Downtown Cebu City.Staying at any GV Hotels is perfect if you’re traveling for business where you will spend most of your time outside on meetings and sales calls. It is also recommended if you’re a tourist who will be outside most of the time appreciating the history, culture, and beauty of the city and province you’re visiting. GV Hotels provides nothing fancy, but it can definitely be the home you can come to at the end of the day to get that good night’s rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your GV Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GV Tower Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing