We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average, accessible transport to the city ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Stella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Stella
Ranked #59 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average, accessible transport to the city ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. We arrived around 6pm and our room wasn't ready yet. I was surprised what took them so long to prepare the room. I communicated with them like 3 hours prior to my arrival just to confirm that we were coming. The impression I got is they don't value customers. Lack of quality service.

The good thing I like about this hotel is they deliver breakfast to your room which some hotels would charge you for P50-100 for this service.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wisdommatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    48
    45
    17
    12
See reviews for
30
32
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I find this hotel very convenient when one has to take a jeepney to get around Cebu City. It is near the highway where jeepneys to places one wants to see is available. The staffs are courteous. I would like to especially mention Ann, the lady in the reception. She's so helpful and very informative of which to jeep to take in order to reach one destination. She also gives suggestions on where to go around the vicinity. Inclusive set breakfast is not generous. It has a few pieces of viands to go along with the rice and egg. Room is clean and spacious enough. The next time I am with my family, I would want to stay here again. Really value for my money!

Room Tip: Between deluxe and superior, choose deluxe room. It is good enough. The only difference is that su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilar168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Piñas, Cavite, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

​Stayed here for two separate dates, aug 4 and aug 7. Our first day was great, we got a Standard room and the room was pretty. lighting was great it was so homey even if the room was small. The staff is friendly. The only complaint was the tv since we have to call a couple of times to have it fixed and a request of 2 glasses of water took an hour to be delivered.
Now here comes the second day. Horrible. We have a late check-in at 5pm and to our surprise, the room is not ready yet. We have paid in advance and full for our stay. front desk asked us to wait for 10mins and said that's fine. but after 45mins the room isn't ready yet. When i asked about this, they said that the room is being fixed by the maintenance as it has no shower head and lighting. we are disappointed as hell.
When the room is ready, we have anticipated the whole thing. The room was dirty, they used a typical fluorescent light, the shower head's sprinkler was so thin you can't bathe yourself well because of it. no "bedet" for the toilet and viola, drinking water didnt come as requested. And by he way, this was a Deluxe room which is an "upgraded" version of the standard room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chiescake_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacoor, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

hotel is located in the heart of cebu, hotel rooms are small but I am not complaining. comfortable bed and pillows, bathroom are clean with cold and hot water. considering the size of the room, it gets too cold that we need tor turn off the A/C at times. we never had a chance to avail our free breakfast as we need to check out by 5am, we should have been given a free coffee while waiting to be cleared for checkout.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oozingkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

1.toilet bowl & sink are very small , looks like a potty trainer for a child.
2. I don't get the idea why don't they just provide a sign that you can hang in at your door if you need their staff to clean up your room, instead of their housekeeper knocking each other asking if you need houskeeping.
3. Rude staff! they just too excited to kick you out of their hotel when you are due for check out.
Check out time is 12NN, as early as 11AM we got calls every 5 minutes reminding us that check out time is 12NN. not even satisfied when we already informed them that we are on our way out.
4. A/C is noisy

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank vidathk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

this hotel has very modern looking room, good location, rooms are bit small but you get what you pay for. the staff are very polite and helpful. only problem we had was the breakfast is very small and can be slow (but it is free)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohol Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We got a "superior" room during our over one-week stay here. But the room and bathroom are extremely tiny! Barely 50cm of walking area beside the queen-size bed, which itself is big and comfortable covered by a thick bedsheet. The toilet bowl is quite small, perhaps it's a pot meant for 10-year-olds. The hot shower works, so that's a plus. There's only a 1-2cm separation of the shower from the rest of the bathroom, so expect the floor to get wet.

Nothing special to say about the complimentary breakfast. But what I don't understand is why they don't have an "American breakfast" available as a choice for the free breakfast. If you check the menu, the American breakfast costs P100 and the others P90. Why not charge P10 extra for people wanting to order the American breakfast over the other choices (which are Filipino and continental I believe)

The A/C was broken when we got into the room, it did not cool at all. The staff was quick to respond and they immediately replaced our unit with another one. (Apparently the previous guest in this room left the A/C on nonstop and it required some cleaning or maintenance) They, however, dirtied the floor while putting in the other A/C but that was quickly cleaned up by housekeeping.

Staff is friendly and courteous.

The "restaurant" is a row of lined-up tables at the side of the lobby. Their menu isn't exactly special but if you have to order something, get the fried chicken. It's juicy inside with crispy skin instead of dry like the way most people cook it here. The ketchup that comes with it though is this disgusting banana-flavored ketchup so you might want to eat it without that.

The hotel is in a good central location, near the Fuente roundabout, two Robinsons malls, two big hospitals and lots of shops on the main street. Taxis come by frequently but it's a little far from the SM and Ayala malls (both in opposite directions, btw) so expect fares of P100-120 and travel time from 30-45min (if there's no excessive traffic).

Overall, there's nothing special to say about this hotel. It's new. Perhaps good for a few nights if you're by yourself. From what I've heard from the staff is that all the rooms are the same size, regardless of class (deluxe, superior, etc.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raykyogrou0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.4 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#51 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#40 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Escario Central Hotel
Escario Central Hotel
#17 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
#31 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premiere Citi Suites
Premiere Citi Suites
#45 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella

Property: Hotel Stella
Address: Don Gil Garcia Street Capitol Site, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stella Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing