We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New clean budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Stella
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels in Cebu City
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“New clean budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice and clean budget hotel 60php taxi ride from Ayala mall. Cheap prices include breakfast for Filipino taste, continental breakfast is more like a joke.

Rooms are small and executive room for 1290php didn't have even a window. Room size is like Tune hotel if you have been there.

Kind and attentive service, easy to get a taxi in the morning. It takes a while for them to answer to emails or even to txt messages.

This is though a nice budget hotel from the best of the choices.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    45
    40
    16
    10
See reviews for
28
29
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just arrived from our 4 night stay in Hotel Stella and it had just been a wonderful experience. It started really with Anne, the person I dealt with via email durng reservations with the hotel. She was very diligent, efficient and made any of my concerns easy to resolve. Because of her help, we were able to check in with so much ease and I was able to get a room with a nice view of the city.

The room and the whole hotel was very clean and tasteful. Whoever designed the hotel was able to maximize the floor area, so that even if the front desk and cafe were beside each other, it did not feel cramped. The minimalist design of the hotel was also a sight to enjoy.

Same can be said for the rooms. The size of the room was just right and was properly placed to maximize the space. The bed in the room was to die for! I have not gotten such great sleep in years, and am not exaggerating. At times, I would just like to lie on the bed and rest! The LCD TV and the mini-fridge was a great addition to the room.

Another thing I would like to talk about is the breakfast. The serving size was just right, not too much and not too short. If you have a big appetite, you can always order more and the prices for thr food in their 24 hour cafe was very affordable. Nevertheless, it was a nice way to start your day and it was nice that you can have the breakfast in the room.

The staff were all wonderful, from the front desk ladies to the bellboy to the guard. However, the one I wanted to give the kudos the most is the housekeeping staff. Whoever cleaned our room was very particular with details and even took the liberty of fixing our things. That really sealed my stamp of approval with the hotel.

Two things they can improve on: the wifi was not reaching our room, or at least where the bed was. We had to sit near the door just to surf...though when it was working, it was fast. Also, hope they can consider placing a bidet in the toilets. It shouldn't cost a lot to add such.

Nevertheless, if you want to stay in a hotel that's trendy, near a lot of good places, accesible to transportation to anywhere you need to go in metro cebu, this is the hotel for you. I found my second home and I'll be staying here again when I go back to Cebu this year.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rye_b0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mngt_Stella_Hotel, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Stella, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the very nice comments you have given to Hotel Stella.We are very happy we able to gave you comfort and meet your needs.We are working very hard to do better if not best of the service we can give you.
With all your comments and suggestions we can be able to assess ,improve our services to provide excellent and quality satisfying experience to our beloved guests.
In behalf of the management of Hotel Stella.We thank you guests for giving us the chance to take care and serve you while enjoying your stay here in Hotel Stella.
Until your next booking.

Sincerely,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

a room with no window is 995 pesos, comes with a comfy queen size bed, a 42-inch flat screen TV, aircondition, your very own restroom
the room with a window is 1395, all of the above amenities plus a set breakfast
taxis are abundant, the security guard will holler for a taxi, he sweeps too on his downtime
i find the employees very friendly, the place is new and very clean

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markjohnledesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

It's my third time to stay in this hotel. Service is excellent, considering it's a budget business hotel. At P999 you can get a clean and cozy room with a really nice bed and pillows. Simple luxuries you can't find in any budget hotel in the city with this price! Plus, the free breakfast that comes along with some of it's rooms are really good and server in hefty size! Even the guard in this hotel is very courteous!

If you are looking for a budget hotel that has good and clean rooms, plus cozy beds, this is your hotel in Cebu! Location is prime, great if you have some meetings to attend to in the Capitol of the city. Walking distance to Robinson's Cybergate, ChungHua hospitals and Cebu Doc Hospital. If you're visiting the city to join the street party in Sinulog, then this is your best choice!

However, bathrooms are really small though but still clean and maintained well.

Heads up! This hotel is always fully booked so better make an early reservations.

Overall, this hotel has exceed expectations based on its category. Perfect for family, business, or any couple on vacation. :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outdoor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had a short holiday with family, and my criteria in a hotel is no. 1is it must be clean, friendly staff.. And ofcourse cheap price in where the service and quality will not be compromised.. I must say say that this hotel is good enough to enjoy your holiday... Clean and comfortable rooms, friendly staff, good wifi.. :)

Room Tip: Bring your own toiletries which i believe not really a big deal ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shenshenmara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Sorry late review, anyway here last February this year and the room that we had was at the top floor and the first reaction we had was the room was small and had no windows. Breakfast taste like what a free breakfast should taste. Service was good though need some speedy action. We actually don't like the room but since we are sleepy coming from shift we booked it anyway. Room is small, has no windows. Located near Provincial capitol, Fuente Circle, Robinson's Place Cebu and Larsian. What I like in this hotel is its fast wifi, near to Fuente Circle were your near to some convenient stores and some stuffs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YOURBLUEKNIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina Heights,marikina city
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

When choosing this hotel, don't expect too much. The right word would be BASIC.. Breakfast is served for 30mins.. Terrible.. Ordering for hot water at our room takes 45mins.. Our accommodation is a family room with an adjoining family room. The bathroom is small that is challenging when taking a bath. The place is nice and budget friendly knowing that cebu has pricey hotels. The front desk staffs are accommodating to all our queries and gladly helps us when asking for directions around the city

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wifeychie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.4 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#35 of 83 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
#17 of 83 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Escario Central Hotel
Escario Central Hotel
#18 of 83 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#31 of 83 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#40 of 83 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella

Property: Hotel Stella
Address: Don Gil Garcia Street Capitol Site, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and ETB so you can book your Hotel Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stella Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing