We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Needs improvement” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Stella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Stella
Ranked #54 of 86 Hotels in Cebu City
Marikina Heights,marikina city
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Needs improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

When choosing this hotel, don't expect too much. The right word would be BASIC.. Breakfast is served for 30mins.. Terrible.. Ordering for hot water at our room takes 45mins.. Our accommodation is a family room with an adjoining family room. The bathroom is small that is challenging when taking a bath. The place is nice and budget friendly knowing that cebu has pricey hotels. The front desk staffs are accommodating to all our queries and gladly helps us when asking for directions around the city

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wifeychie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    48
    43
    16
    11
See reviews for
30
31
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cavite Province, Philippines
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

the room's nice. for me it's ok coz we stay most of the time outside, cool aircon. the staffs were polite and friendy. in addition, the food was great! and the location is just near within the capitol and fuente circle, the central business district. the environment is peaceful and accesible. two thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iammitsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

• Rooms are Small but clean
• Beds are comfy though linens have stains so it looks dirty
• Accommodating and friendly staff
• budget friendly hotel
• fast wifi at rooms
• water pressure is low on the 5th floor of the building

- overall i recommend this hotel ☺☺

Room Tip: • standard rooms good for 2 pax - P999 w/o breakfast • 5th floor rooms has low water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gheinA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel has modern and classy interiors and furniture that will make you feel like you're in a 4 or 5-star hotel even if the rooms are very tiny. The bed was great, and pillows were very, very comfortable. The bed sheets and towel are very clean, thick, and new. The room itself, and the bathroom are very clean and new. Blazing fast wi-fi. The hotel staff are also friendly and courteous. At the end of the day, you really can't deny the rooms are really small (and so is breakfast), but everything I just mentioned makes up for the small room, not to mention the price is good.

Room Tip: I noticed that the rooms on the left side of the building (when facing it) are much bigger, so reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul Bray O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We happened to stay in this hotel when my booking with the other nearby hotel was cancelled unexpectedly. We arrived at 5am and luckily, they have available superior room for us. Although the room is small and nothing special on its layout/design, the quality service of the staff can cover up that flaw. The room rate includes breakfast which you have the option to eat in their cafeteria or have it serve in the room for free.
They recommended a van service which brought us to different tourist destination in the city. And I find the rate reasonable plus the driver is good. He's not only a driver but a tourist guide because he's ready to answer all our question in the places we visited. This made us decides to get his service the following day on our way to the beach.
The hotel may not be the best among the budget hotel around the area but still worth the money. I will come back next time if given the chance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family_trip101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle N S W
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Hotel Stella is a relatively new hotel situated one street back from Osmena Boulevard in Barangay Capitol

I would recommend this hotel to somebody who really just wants somewhere clean comfortable to lay there head at night or someone on a trip to Cebu City to meet a say prospective partner.

Everything they offer on their website www.hotelstella.com.ph is true.

One warning this hotel does not really suit families as the rooms are very small even the family room which we stayed in is small but saying that the rooms are clean, 81cm flat screen tv wall mounted with a good range of both local and cable channels,small standard bar fridge, wardrobe for basic clothing, bathroom was clean but small.

Staff are very very friendly nothing was a trouble.We had a couple of issues getting the room cleaned but that was more miscommunication and the time we were leaving the room of a in most cases afternoon.

I stayed in a room with breakfast included..As is the hotel the breakfast is also small, one plus was it was delivered to our room free of charge on request.If like a big hearty brekkie this brekkie will leave you disappointed and hungry for me it was ok.

It doesn`t really have any outstanding qualities aside from the really friendly staff everyone from the security guards to the porters, cleaners, receptionists is a credit to the hotel

I would stay here again if I had to but will be looking for something bigger next trip..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiesamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod City
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

The family room was small. Wall mirrors gave an illusion of space but then, it was just an illusion. And to add up to the minuteness of everything... they serve a small and forgettable breakfast.

The location, near the major hospitals Chong Hua and Cebu Doctors, make this tiny little hotel a decent place to stay if you are on a medical visit to Cebu. The hotel is a short walk to Robinson's Cybergate.

Some taxis do not know of this hotel so tell them to bring you to Capitol Tourist Inn at Gil Garcia. Stella is across Capitol Tourist Inn. Other inns nearby are Jasmin Pension and Westpoint Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.4 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#36 of 86 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#37 of 86 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#61 of 86 in Cebu City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Azia Suites
Azia Suites
#22 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Escario Central Hotel
Escario Central Hotel
#17 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella

Property: Hotel Stella
Address: Don Gil Garcia Street Capitol Site, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 86 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stella Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing