We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a first-timer in cebu”
Review of Harolds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Harolds Hotel
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a first-timer in cebu”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

stayed here during a business conference

main lobby is small: can get crowded during mass check-in/out events. couches may only seat up to 5 people (big issue for me). they got welcome drinks (pineapple juice, if i recall.)

only 2 elevators: again with the crowding issue. but since the hotel only goes up 12 stories, it's acceptable, i guess.

elevator has no 4th floor. are we living in the 21st century or is this superstition that prevalent?

room is pretty much ok, what is usually seen is business hotels.

only 1 chair, considering that the room houses 2 people.

no pool.

there's 1 internet cable. not an issue because wifi is available. we've had connectivity issues during our stay, but their IT staff were there to help out.

food tastes great and is good for value. helps when i have no other reason to go outside except to eat dinner.

great location too: 10-min walk to ayala center cebu. and they were on sale at that time.

bathroom's got a clothesline, but no tub. also, no shelf in the shower to put soap and shampoo.

housekeeping staff also respected by request to not move my stuff (and change my bedding). daily changes are just excessive for any hotel, unless you're a germophobe or have a valid medical condition.

business venue was spacious enough for us. had an issue with the supply of extension cords, but audio-visual support was great.

was annoying that there was a lot of noise coming from the room next to us. i don't care if it's an essential part of their program: they shouldn't be doing that in rooms very close to others, and i think any event venue should screen clients if they are expected to generate loud noise levels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil tristan y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    184
    36
    5
    14
See reviews for
71
128
34
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel is just excellent in every way. It is clean and comfortable, the staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome and seem genuinely happy to have you as their guest. The rooms are very well maintained and comfortable and the bathroom facilities are as good as anywhere I have stayed before. The restaurant is excellent and very affordable. Breakfast is included in the room price and it is an excellent buffet breakfast with a great choice that will please any traveller.
Harold's Hotel is situated conveniently half way between Ayala Mall and SM mall and is a short taxi ride costing around 100 peso. I cannot speak too highly of this hotel and I will not need to consider staying anywhere else when I return to Cebu CIty later this year.

Room Tip: I was on floor six which is just high enough to hear nothing of the normal everyday noises that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2fletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel at least 4-5 times earlier and the coincidence is that each time I have got the same room. The staff is very courteous, restaurant serves nice mix of cuisines, the rooftop bar is perfect to get a glimpse of Cebu City.

Room Tip: Stay above 7th floor hotels for minimum road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vaibhav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed four nights at this nice hotel in Cebu City and were impressed by the breakfast buffet which was included. There was a great selection of Western and Asian choices with an omelette bar. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable and the location is within walking distance to the Ayala mall. The one complaint we had was with the wifi, which was very, very, very slow. For a business hotel this is unacceptable. Also, for some reason, the mini fridge in the room did not get cold even after we complained and they replaced a defective model which didn’t work at all. Overall, a good choice for Cebu City if you can get a good room rate online as the walk in registration is quite pricey.

Room Tip: Check the wifi speed before agreeing to accept the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I'm in a sort of hotel-hopping nowadays. I booked a hotel whenever I see a reason to celebrate. I'm trying to figure out what's in store each hotel has to offer....HAROLDS!. I definitely love the bathroom. Clean with modern design. Athough I find the bed a bit firm than what I want it to be, it was still comfortable :-) We booked in this hotel when Typhoon Basyang was bustling Cebu with rains& wind but it was all quite inside. Its as if it was calm and sunny outside! The buffet breakfast was good enough. (I would say great if there were bacons!!!! hahhahaha) Their restaurant has perfect ambiance. My hubby, kids & I are having fun & enjoying our buffet breakfast.. Overall it was a great stay!!! thanks Harolds!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 607 & it was perfect enough :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thaneecm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. Food was okay though they could use less oil and maybe teach them how to cook egg over easy :)
The hotel is good, the only thing is they don't have swimming pool. The room #1208 was nice just please add one more chair. The roof top or deck was very nice and overlooking. They could maybe put a small swimming pool or a hot tub there and the guest will be very happy. We had to move to another hotel with swimming pool. Like I said we enjoyed our stay and this hotel is also recommended if you're in Cebu and wants to be close to everything. Keep up the great job!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marjoerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is my second review of Harold hotel, and I just have to say what a pleasure it is to spend some time there. Some hotels have good days and bad days but this one does the business on a full basis, each time we visit its the same excellent service from all departments. Many thanks to all the staff, really nice bunch of people REAL service with a smile

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennedyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
3,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
1.6 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 87 in Cebu City
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
#7 of 87 in Cebu City
561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 87 in Cebu City
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harolds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harolds Hotel

Property: Harolds Hotel
Address: Gorordo Avenue | Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#7 Family Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harolds Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HAROLDS HOTEL offers a vantage point to guests with business or leisure reasons in the city. Situated in the uptown area of Cebu City, about 30 minutes away from Mactan International Airport, Harolds Hotel is only ten minutes away from financial districts, government offices, universities and colleges, and major shopping centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Harolds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harolds Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing