We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small business hotel that can use some improvement...”
Review of Harolds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harolds Hotel
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here for a few days while in Cebu for business. I was struck by the cleanliness and upscale feel of the rooms.... Despite starting on the wrong foot upon check in. I clearly indicated in my online check in and several email messages thereafter that i requested early check in.
After an hour or two, front desk staff managed to find a room, clean it quickly, and i finally got some much needed rest.
The location is ideal if one wants to be close to Ayala Center... Otherwise, there isnt much within walkable distance... However, from what i can see, that will change in due time considering commercial growth in the area..
The buffet breakfast was good.... Sufficient to get one started on one's day... Garlic rice, tocino,eggs some fish dishes , fruit, and juice... Even hot tablea chocolate.
But the biggest downside is no WiFi in rooms, but only LAN wired connectivity. There is WiFi in the lobby but i just couldnt see myself in my pajamas wiling away.... But understand this will change by next year...
Overall, enjoyed Harolds Hotel and will most probably return on my next visit to Cebu....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EWWSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 545 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

on oct 12, 2012, i experienced the hospitality & the comfort of this new hotel in cebu. the manager sir hembler mendoza is so accommodating. the room is cozy, the bed is soft and the linens are superb. the bathroom is clean. though there is no wifi signal in our room but the big tv screen is good enough for me. the buffet breakfast is ok also. the staff are so courteous and accommodating to my needs. they are patient to give directions. the rate is so reasonable for a 3 star hotel. i will definitely recommend this to my friends. try it too!

Room Tip: the higher floor rooms i recommend, 12th floor, cool bathroom, you can see your partner taking the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glengonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Strong Attributes
- Accommodating and very courteous staff from in house security, front desk personnel, dining crew, HighLights Roof Deck personnel and also to house-keeping. Night Manager on duty knows what truly is the meaning of courtesy.
- Room has docking station for ipod.
- Has iron and ironing board.
- Has a weighing scale.
- Has a flashlight in case of an extreme emergency.
- Gave me an immediate upgrade to deluxe room which was very spacious.

Opportunity
- A short delay upon check-in but was immediately addressed.
- In my humble opinion I guess the initial cash out as being required from me is not necessary at all. If this guideline can be reviewed.
- The bed or room is not the issue its in my system, I do not get enough sleep in hotels.

Overall, I had a wonderful time. I don't have to be specific my final word would be, once you were treated to be a Most Important Person what more can you ask!?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enveloped_ideas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I had always wanted to stay at Harolds ever since I first heard of it from friends in Cebu. So when I had a chance (an overnighter because of airline connections through Cebu), I immediately booked myself a room.

Rates.
I booked a superior room with a king sized bed. Glad to have found out that the company I work for enjoys corporate rates for its employees!! But discounts notwithstanding, the rates are pretty reasonable considering the observations below. :)

The Room.
Very spacious, plenty of room to dance! Not that I'm a dancer...just saying. But what got me smiling the most was how clean and well kept the room was. I had no qualms walking around barefooted on the carpet and not a speck of dust on the furniture. The only negative thing about the room was the small window. But still, it was a really nice looking room.

The Bathroom.
The hotel's drive for cleanliness was definitely evident in the bathroom, too. The only downside was that, even if you carefully stretch out the shower curtain, water still managed to get on to the floor...which is a major pet peeve of mine - wet bathroom floors!

The Bed.
King size! The pillows were perfect, the sheets smelled very clean and freshly laundered and the duvet was very cozy. I almost wished the airline would call me to advise that my flight was cancelled!

The Staff.
Friendly. Although, I did throw a tiny tantrum when I was told that I'd had to pay another P1000 for early check in...something I was NOT told about when I booked my room through the phone! I'm actually amazed that they would still charge you that when they weren't even at full occupancy! Most, if not all, big hotels don't charge early check ins. This was the only disappointment from Harolds. But nonetheless, definitely friendly staff...even saw their night manager, an acquaintance from college! :) And, if I may just add...he's still a cutie. LOL!

So, would I recommend this hotel? Absolutely. Can't wait to have to go to Cebu again.

Room Tip: My view was of the "back". All I saw were the roofs of nearby houses so you may want to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Noypi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel was very clean, staff were all very courteous, rate we paid for the room were okay (P3500). Beds and blanket were very comfortable. Toilet facilities were clean and very nice. A hop, skip and jump away is one of the best pizzas in town. La Bella Pizza. Security is tough... you key is only accessible to the floor you are on. We went as a group, booking 5 rooms. We were billeted in different floors. If we wanted to go to each other's room, we had to be escorted by our companion bringing with him/her their room keys. Very inconvenient, I suggest that if you are with group and booked in different rooms, hotel should give your keys access to all floor where your companions are located.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms, specifically 305 and 307 (and maybe 303, i'm not sure) has a balcony. Any floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanjaiphen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

If your looking for a place to stay for the night this hotel is ok. Rooms are nice and clean. Complete with basic necessity.

Things that they needs improvement are the following:

- prior to booking we asked if there is wifi. They said yes. Not informing us that it was only available in the lobby and at the restaurant. No wifi in the rooms.

- speed in checking in. As a frequent traveller I'm always particular with the time they take to check you in the room. Every minute counts when you travel for business. Asking guest to sit and wait for you to do the check in shows that they lack preparation or they are just disorganized.

- event organization. They accepted our booking for 200 guest on a classroom type set up. When we were setting up they told me they can not accommodate 200 pax on a classroom set up. Why did they accept the booking in the first place? On the day of the event the set up was only for 154. What do they expect us to do with the 46 other guest? Ask them to just stand in a corner? We had to put chairs all over the place just so our guest will have a place to sit. The table cloth didn't even match. It was white black and blue. When I asked why is it that way, they told me they don't have enough. So disappointed in the way they handle events.

- it would be good if you can open the window in smoking rooms.

- speed in checking out. Took me almost 30 min just to check out.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Kylesligh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I love the hotel. It's new, modern and spacious. The firm bed with soft linen made the bed an almost permanent place for my tired body. The lobby was clean, staff friendly and the breakfast buffet delicious.

I was checked in the top floor which was 12th. The view of the city was incredible to say the least. Mountain ranges, small shanti towns, and modern buildings make up most of the viewable sights from above.

However, above the 12th was the Roof Deck...There was a private party that evening, the noise from the party descended down to the floor below. It was uncomfortable to sleep. When the party was finished, the noise from the tables and chairs being moved around was even more annoying.

My tip for an enjoyable stay here...pick a room that's on the 6th-8th floor...but that's just me.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,635 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 92 in Cebu City
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
#5 of 92 in Cebu City
625 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#12 of 92 in Cebu City
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harolds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harolds Hotel

Address: Gorordo Avenue | Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range: $57 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harolds Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HAROLDS HOTEL offers a vantage point to guests with business or leisure reasons in the city. Situated in the uptown area of Cebu City, about 30 minutes away from Mactan International Airport, Harolds Hotel is only ten minutes away from financial districts, government offices, universities and colleges, and major shopping centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and getaroom.com so you can book your Harolds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harolds Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing