We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Gives a Good Background on Cebuano History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Sugbo

Museo Sugbo
Ranked #9 of 98 things to do in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vatican City, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gives a Good Background on Cebuano History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This small museum gives an excellent background on the history f Cebu, from Pre-Spanish times to the present. It's location, the old Spanish Colonial prison, is also interesting. This is a must-visit when you are in Cebu.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vaticanozzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    61
    16
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
184 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Interesting collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

There is a wide range of historical objects in Museo Sugbo including ceramic wares from centuries ago to the Presidents Hall. The place was a former prison and the city did a great job transforming the place into a museum while preserving as much of the original building as they could.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank floRDMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We really enjoyed visiting Museo Sugbo! It was located in the former jail is a very pretty building, maintained very nicely. The museum is well laid out and highly informative......you really learn and understand the history of Cebu and the Philippines.
I would recommend it highly!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pavalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A quick taste of Cebu... Worth going”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Tis is a wonderful building within a short cab ride of some of the other attractions such as Magellans Cross, and it would be a shame not to visit if you get to Cebu.
It shows snapshots of various time frames in the Pholippines from prehistory up to present day spread over 12 rooms.
I took a guide around the day I went - and she was quite knowledgeable to a point, as long as you aren't looking for a lot of detail outside the scope of the exhibits.
Makes me very keen to visit the museums in Manila next time I'm in town.

You can take photos without flash and there are some nice photo spots in the courtyard itself as well as a souvenir shop, etc.
It's a very low cost way of spending an hour or so and learning a little about this great place!

Helpful?
1 Thank RoadRises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go here if you are in Cebu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This museum was very good to get a taste of Cebu's history. Entrance fee for my girlfriend was more because she's a foreigner but that was ok as this museum was worth it. The information of Cebu's history was good although fragmented a bit, ie can skip large segments of time but I guess nothing noteworthy happened in Cebu's history during those periods. The only other complaint I have was some of the pictures had no information... case in point, a poster of prominent Cebuano women I think during the war but it had no information of what made them prominent. I would have liked to have seen more information of the history of Cebu prior to Magellan getting there.

The information about the colonisation of Cebu by Spain and then the US taking over and then WWII was very interesting. What got me was just how much Cebuano's kept fighting for independence. The history of Media in Cebu was ok and the room with all the old religious figures was ok.. a bit creepy and wouldn't like to be locked in that room late at night.. some of the statues/sculptures are pretty good though. The rooms with the Philippines presidents was ok.

The people that run the place are very helpful. We got followed by a guy which we thought was a bit weird, we found out after that he was a guide. We didn't know this as just sat in a corner and played games on his phone... maybe he was waiting for us to ask him a questions.

This place used to be a prison and is the actual one that had the dancing prisoners that became a YouTube sensation.

The museum has a large courtyard/square and my girlfriend stepped in cat poo there and she tried to discretely clean it off but it seemed everyone in the place saw her, they tried to give her a refund which we didn't take but it was nice of them to offer. Having said that, don't be a jerk and purposely step in poo just to get your money back.

This place is worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Pcoope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Sugbo also viewed

 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Museo Sugbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing