We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia
Ranked #25 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed June 26, 2014

had an overnight stay last April with my friends.location is near to some tourist attraction where Cebu is famous for.hotel staff were so friendly and accommodating.we were so amazed of the warm welcome we experience the moment we arrived.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jean0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 221 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

stayed at this hotel last May 30. we were five in a group so we picked executive family room. the room was spacious enough. neat and clean. rest room serves well. the staffs are friendly and accommodating. the location is strategically located near Magellan's Cross, Pier 1 and few places where you wanna go. well, the budget price is worth the service you'll gonna get. :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JZMiance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Hotel is 30 mins ( about 250 pesos) from Mactan airport by white taxi, 10 mins walk to Ferry Pier 1. For the cheap price you are paying, you should not expect high quality. Good if you need the room just to rest or sleep. The room is basic and decent with thin beds, window ACs and TV. No fridge though. Toilet is small but sufficient. Hotel is also near tourist souvenire shop, Supermarket, petrol kiosk, fast food, and 7-11. Several of Cebu's sights is also within walking distance. Do note that hotel is a quiet part of town. Hotel also provides a spa service that's less than 10 USD. If you come to hotel from airport by taxi, do have small change for payment.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Sam_herethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Been staying here evry year for annual vacation at the same time for the feast of sto.nino de cebu. I booked thru my relative in cebu. I usualy stay at the 6th floor, just a single room. Based on my experience, since it was my 4th time already, room is always tidy when i checked in, c.r is neat and clean. Bedsheets were fresh and clean. Frontdesk staff or shall i say all staff are courteous and respectful and friendly. The place is near historical sites, and near the church.. i stayed here for 8 weeks, it was indeed a pleasant stay. I will comeback next year
.. i love cebu and i love sampaguita suites..

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mcdhants D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I’ve never seen more blatant false advertisement. The room and bathroom were TINY and FILTHY.

We booked the Matrimonial Standard, where they advertise room enough for 3 adults and 2 children. Ridiculous! There was barely room for two of us. The room was so tight we had to crab walk around the bed, literally. There was nowhere to move, and the one chair in the room sat in front of the disgusting dirty bathroom where the entry door would hit it when opened.
We were booked for 5 nights, but immediately after seeing the room I informed the front desk we would not stay there. I was eventually told, after trying to track down a manager for 8 hours, that I would only receive half of my money, citing it was their policy. I still haven’t received my money.

If you’re still thinking “maybe” to stay here because it’s inexpensive... think again!! Go to the Hotel Capitol Central Hotel and Suites. It’s a beautiful, new hotel (about 10 minutes away), and for only another $4 USD you can get a very nice new room. This is where we ended up and loved it. The staff is great there too.

Still thinking of the Sampaguita Suites Plaza Garcia? Here’s an additional list of the terrible experience:

1. The 13inch TV from 1980 didn’t even work.
2. There were holes in the pillow cases.
3. Mold everywhere in the bathroom.
4. Open electrical socket in the bathroom.
5. Very old furniture, dinged up, and had a sticky surface.
6. The AC is right next to the bed and extremely loud. It’s also very inefficient.
7. Walls are very thin and could hear some horizontal dancing going on next door.
8. The elevators are operated with a slick touch screen that takes a minute in failed attempts to work.
9. The lobby is dirty (it’s a different lobby than the one pictured here – more false advertisement).
The lobby furniture has stains everywhere on the upholstery.

Oh, one more... the convenient 7/11 around the corner doesn’t sell alcohol because it is across from the church. Understandable, but not when you want to have a beer to forget about how terrible this hotel is.

Room Tip: Get a room in another hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dylan_Novak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed in for 2nights, P1798/5pax. The location is good, just a few steps away from the basilica and plaza. Cabs and jeepneys are accessible. mcdonald's is just across the place. Staffs are very friendly. There is also a small spa/massage center, price is okay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katanisven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed here for 4d/3n. The room is clean. Staffs are very attentive. They were very energetic, greeting Good Morning Ma'am/Sir. The aircon is not that cold. This is the best place to stay in downtown Cebu.

Room Tip: Choose room 606, 607 or 608. (matrimonial room)
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James4582014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#26 of 91 in Cebu City
58 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sampaguita Suites JRG
Sampaguita Suites JRG
#43 of 91 in Cebu City
141 reviews
1.8 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#75 of 91 in Cebu City
94 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#42 of 91 in Cebu City
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
GV Tower Hotel
GV Tower Hotel
#61 of 91 in Cebu City
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia

Address: Magallanes St. | Plaza Garcia Building, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
#10 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range: $15 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location Hotel Cebu City
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing