We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“good location in the old town area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Cebu City
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good location in the old town area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

just located in the old town, near to the historial building,charch etc.
the room is clear, the air conditions are noisy.
only the ground outside is not good, some waifs are around,ask for money or food.

Room Tip: closed to historial building and charch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank elane z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    73
    69
    12
    8
See reviews for
41
41
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Sampaguita Suites has an ideal location, it's just a stone's throw away from famous Cebu landmarks, the Magellan's Cross and Basilica del Sto. Nino church. Just a few steps is the Fort San Pedro, the Heritage of Cebu Monument, and a Shamrock store where you can buy all the famous Cebuano goodies/pasalubong (otap, barquillos, dried mangoes,etc) to your heart's content. And if you really love walking as much as I do, you can just walk to see the Museo de Sugbu (about 2km from Fort San Pedro). A 24-hour convenience store, a grocery store, bakery, souvenir shop, fastfood chains are all within walking distance from the hotel. The room that we had was just basic but clean and comfortable. They have a dining area at the 2nd floor (with free wi-fi) which serves Filipino dishes. I only got to try their breakfast meal and was particularly fond of the homemade longganisa. What I liked most about the hotel is the friendliness and courteousness of the staff, they are always ready to assist you. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamblingRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days and 3 nights and I must say I was very satisfied with their service. Guards and hotel staff whom I mostly able to talk to were very courteous and friendly. Even at the wee hours of the morning, they pretty much look like they are working on a day shift. I just stayed on a standard room (below $20 conversion from peso) because of a tight budget being it just a unofficial business trip for me. What even wowed me is their efficiency in reservation. I booked (actually someone from Cebu booked for me) 3-4 weeks ahead (because i already anticipated the overflow of visitors in Cebu because of the Triathlon event), the morning of the date i was about to check in, they text me confirming my reservation and i just said yes but will have a late check in.. around 4 pm, i text them again to inform i wouldn't make the initial 6pm time i said i will check in and will instead be there at 8pm. they only said ok and they simply trusted me.. imagine if i just did not show up (but that's not my nature).. =) all these without me paying any reservation fees.

I even had a massage (just add Php50 to have the massage done in your room) and was satisfied with it. Not too great yet not too bad. As i've said, this hotel is worth every peso you pay for =)

As for what i just felt uncomfortable with are the ff:

1. Pillow. It was too low for me and not too soft. It was like i had now pillow at all.. I hope they read this and replace their pillows with a comfortable one. I'm sleep ok even if with 1 pillow only.. as long as it is comfortable..

2. Towels. They'll provide you with only 1 towel.. They'll already charge you Php50 for your next towel if you request it. Since i stayed there for 3 nights, i more or less took a bath 5 times.. imagine the towel being room dried for 3 nights.. :(

3. Lights. I don't know with other rooms but my room (at the top most floor) did not have a light near the corner where my cabinet is. thus i needed to use the light of my cellphone just to look for something inside.. i would have gladly traded the lamp light above the headboard of my bed to that certain corner where the cabinet is..

4. Window. I was like inside a jail. there was a small window but i could only see what's outside if i step on my bed.. therefore what the hell is that very small window doing there?? i wouldn't mind a not so nice view as long as it was at least my eye level though..

However, despite the issues I mentioned above, i'd give this budget hotel a chance. i'd even come back next year. therefore i still gave them a very good rating. there's a mini grocery, convenience store, tourist spots like magellan's cross, 24hr fast food chain, souvenir shop and a (surprisingly) very quiet environment specially at night. imagine it was only 8pm and the feeling outside the hotel was already like 2am.. it was weird for me considering it was at the downtown area and just 2 or 3 streets apart is a very busy colon st..

I just hope management read's this and hopefully they put me in a room where there's good lighting, a window, comfortable pillow and extra towel =)

Room Tip: I haven't really seen the other rooms but based on the inconveniences i mentioned above, just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamilBuergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here during the Aug'13 IronMan 70.3 Cebu, Philippines. Although the hotel is a good 30-45 minute travel to/from the race site at Mactan, Shangrila (depending on traffic conditions), the hotel is a short 5 minutes walk to Santo Niño Church, Island Souvenir shop, grocery store, McDonalds, and Mang Inasal restaurants. Hotel has wifi at front lobby and 2/f dining area. Room has cable television and descent toilet and bath. You can also avail of massage services for a cheap PhP 300 full body for 1 hour. You can also order your favorite Filipino dish for breakfast and lunch/ dinner for about PhP 100. Most of all, customer service is excellent. All are always there to make your stay as pleasant and memorable as possible!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilperezinsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have stayed her in the past and it is not a bad place for the price. However, this time I booked on line at their web site and when I received my confirmation, in it, it said the 30% booking is not refundable (of course I did not read the fine print). I had booked for 3 nights and I had to leave early and only stayed one night and the booking company kept the deposit. Book through one of the major booking companies and not through the hotel. Or better yet, there are many hotels in that price range and stay at one of them. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryWW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Davao City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It's a good hotel and in good location.We were there from July 12-15. Very accessible and everything you need are only steps away. Staffs were very attentive and smart. There's a lot of better hotels/inns around, but if you're not a "picky" type, you will fit here. I did fit here because i love walking around, exploring the city streets rather than commuting (you will not see the whole thing if you are inside the jeep). Definitely i will always come back to this hotel if time permits (hehe).

Suggestion/s:
1. Provide any brochures so that guest/s will know where else they can go.
2. A city map so guest/s will know which way to go.
3. Magazine also.

I saw the travel and tours in the corner. But i think, there are some guests who just want to go by themselves rather than paying extra for a tour. Anyway, that is only my own suggestions.

Thank you Sampaguita Suites!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DAQV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Everything was just average. But I gave them a slightly higher rating thanks to the very good manner and attitude of the staffs there. The safeguard always helped us open the door when we stepped in and out (not something we expected from a budget hotel). The receptionists always greeted us with their great smiles. Even the cleaner on my level said 'good morning, sir/madam' in every morning.
Location wasn't that great.
Room was ok, but need some renovation soon.

Room Tip: It surprised us that online booking rate through website like asiaroom.com was actually HIGHER then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren_Le_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#37 of 83 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#32 of 83 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#33 of 83 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#44 of 83 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sampaguita Suites JRG
Sampaguita Suites JRG
#43 of 83 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
GV Tower Hotel
GV Tower Hotel
#71 of 83 in Cebu City
3.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location

Property: Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location
Address: Plaza Garcia Building | Magallanes St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
#10 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, ETB and Hotels.com so you can book your Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location Hotel Cebu City
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing