We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location
Ranked #26 of 86 Hotels in Cebu City
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have been to Cebu twice and stayed in this hotel twice!
Basic rooms....alot of upgrades necessary.TV sets are antiques,beddings pre-war,toilets small and a squeeze, cafe with limited menu.Some decent eateries nearby.
Okay for those who intend to visit touristy spots nearby.Pier to bohol island nearby.
The reason why I stayed there twcie ...13 days/9 days...was the staff there.I was so taken up with them and became fond of all of them.That made up for all the shortcomings of what a decnt hotel should offer.
The bunch of service boys were just great, namely CHAN, JAMES ,E-MAY,the security guard RAMIL and receptionist JOANNE.
I enjoyed my stay there,thanks to all the staff and especially those mentioned above.
They are prized and i do hope the owners will take notice that they are a good bunch of faithful employees,and take notice of their 'real assets' and keep them employed there happily.
Otherwise, there are many choices hotels with much better amenities overall and good priced too.

Room Tip: higher floors...........less noise and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melvin_rodri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your generous rating of our staff. Rest assured that they will be complimented for making your stay pleasant.

While our hotel may not be the best accommodation in Cebu, we pride ourselves to offer the following qualities that are unmatched:

a. location - as you have mentioned, we are proximate to tourist destinations, as well as to the sea travel port of Cebu;
b. price - while some of our rooms maybe be small, our single room is the most affordable in the market. Unlike other hotels, we don't charge extra for the basic comforts such as 24 hrs air-conditioning and cable tv, hot and cold shower, toiletries and wifi. Furthermore, our housekeeping service is available 24/7. That is why a lot of people prefer us, especially those who need log term accommodations;
c. accommodations - we have a wide range of room types, from family to single occupancy. Our single occupancy rooms are really the smallest, but the most affordable of all our room accommodations. In terms of appliances, we are not proud of our CRT televisions, but it works, and serves the purposes of our guests. Our beds and linens may not be first class, but they are sturdy and comfortable.

Nevertheless, we thank you for your comments. We will take these as suggestions when we upgrade our facilities.
We look forward to serving you in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    75
    78
    12
    8
See reviews for
42
44
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The best thing about the hotel is its location. Almost all of Cebu City's must visit places are a short distance away. Its very accessible you can get a metered cab or ride public transportation a few steps from the hotel. They had a promo for free 15 minute massage from the spa on the 2nd floor. Best value for backpackers like us!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your inarguable review. Your description of our hotel holds the true essence of our continuing success. Location and price is the name of our game, alongside good hospitality, maintenance and housekeeping.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The place is great! It's really near tourist destinations. The staff are very helpful.

Wifi is only available in the lobby area and is not even good at all.
If you're not picky about internet connections, this place is a good deal.

Elevator can only accommodate a few heads.


Right next to it is a souvenir shop for shirts and other clothing.


You can't really go wrong with Sampaguita Suite especially if you're on a limited budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badroilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for sending a review of our hotel. The concern about the Wifi has already been attended to since the time that you came and stayed with us last August. I suggest that you visit us again to see the difference. We always make sure that we listen to our guest's concerns. We aim to do and better serve our guests as much as we can.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

stayed here with a group of friends a few years back.

the location of this cheap accommodation is a real plus.
Cebu City's top tourist destinations are just a short walk from this hotel.
Fort San Pedro, Magellan's Cross, Sto Nino Basilica, Metropolitan Cathedral, Parian District and even the pier if you're going to Bohol.
a jeep away is Fuente Osmena and the nearby Larsian for your cheap barbecues.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jglaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your short review. It's kind of outdated though (Jan 2012) but nonetheless we'd like to invite you again to see the difference and compare how much we have improved our services and facilities. We have added a few more rooms at the ground floor for those who don't want to use the elevator. We have friendlier and more accommodating staff.

Do tell us again how we are now than before. we'd be happy to hear from you again! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I check here last december 2 until 3.just only for overnight stay because were going to bohol in morning.very nice staff. Have restaurant 24hrs. The waiter 'emay' give us the food before we leave.. The bellman also 'james' i think assist w/ carrying my bag.. Its near also in tourist spots like magellan's cross,the basilica de sto.nino,fort san pedro and plaza independencia. .
Nice hotel!! I will reccomend this to my friends. Great job. :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graceyld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much for the very kind words and your compliments on the hotel staff- James and Emay. They will be commended for this. Your review will encourage our staff to work harder and strive further to make our guests who stay at our hotel most pleasurable and endearing.

Again, our heartfelt thanks and God bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Santos City, General Santos, Philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

we stayed here last october 21-24, 2012 with my husband and 8yr. old son. i chose these hotel for its great location which is very near tourist spots. and also its affordability because we travel on a budget. the friendly and courteous staff is also a plus factor. my son enjoy the elevator so much. keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. We truly believe that our manpower is our strength. They do deserve to be praised and complimented. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila, PH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

when we arrived in Cebu we asked the person at the Concierge desk what is the best hotel in downtown cebu they said SAMPAGUITA SUITES. so we tried.

Fairly new hotel with touch screen elevator, not so big rooms but clean, friendly staff they even assisted us how to go to the places we want to visit. the hotel is just a stone throw away from Magellan's Cross and shopping centers... walking distance to Yap-SanDiego Ancestral house, Heritage of Cebu monument, Plaza Independencia, Fort San Pedro, Port of Cebu... one ride of Jeepney to the famous Larsian, Robinson, SM etc...

our plan was to stay just 1 night because they dont have smoking room but since the hotel is affordable, close to the locations we want to visit and has friendly staff we decided to spend the rest of our vacation at this hotel... they dont have wifi inside the room so we have to go to the lobby just to go online and to smoke as well, bearable since we're only at the 2nd floor. but it would be better if they have wifi inside the smoking room hahaha..

but over all we enjoyed our stay!
-two thumbs up for this hotel (one from me & one from my fiance)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank levz000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you so much for that very nice and pleasant complement. We're so glad to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I hope that this will be the last time that you will visit Cebu and our staff as well. We look forward to seeing you again. Warmest regards and God bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.3 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#37 of 86 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#30 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#33 of 86 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#61 of 86 in Cebu City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.8 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
1.1 mi away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#5 of 86 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location

Property: Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location
Address: Plaza Garcia Building | Magallanes St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
#11 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location Hotel Cebu City
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing