We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aging quite well” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giuseppe Pizzeria & Sicilian Roast

Giuseppe Pizzeria & Sicilian Roast
Ranked #43 of 693 Restaurants in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Aging quite well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I had visited this place a few years back and it still stands out as the reigning king of brick oven pizza in Cebu. There is a certain sweet spice in their dough which I like, but the texture is what makes it special. It is crusty holds the ingredients perfectly even if you hold it as a slice, which is how I enjoy my pizza. The mozzarella is high quality but does not overwhelm and the sausages, clearly imported, were perfect. There is a classic vibe to Giusseppe from its chalk boards and to the easy going table set up. They could use a few more parking spaces, however as we had to retire to the street. With the meal we tried a more than passable carpaccio and a veal scaloppini which was good, nearly exceptional. A molten chocolate dessert was barely warm and clearly had been served past its expiration date, and that was the only serious flaw.

I still remember one of the servers from my last visit and they are very professional. Quiet, but always there when you need something. They were wise with their wine list; Some reasonable country selections mixed with more conventional choices but all within bounds of their food offerings. Giuseppe feels like a modern Italian restaurant should feel. One foot in today, and another in yesteryear, with few stereotypes in play, and its food identity profoundly classic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    34
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A slice of pizza that is a meal in itself...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Order any family sized pizza, and it's already good enough for two people who hadn't had lunch and dinner. A sure hit to pizza lovers! Try the seafood pizza and the neopolitana. Did I say you could order half of any two pizza styles you would crave for? Yes, and they would be more Han happy to suggest good combinations.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gardener_phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Italian in Cebu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had a late lunch of arugula salad with lemon, olive oil and parmesan, homemade pasta with basil and cherry tomatoes, a seafood platter and kesong puti raclette and triangles of toasted
panini. Excellent!! and it was an experience shopping for Italian condiments on the second floor, and meeting the gracious owner. My favorite meal experience in Cebu (not counting the great breakfast experience at a friend's house)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NoraCManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We love this place so much that we keep bringing friends over to experience it. Love the pasta and pizza options. Serving is quite big too, and quite a good value for money.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelchicme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Value Restaurant in Cebu ?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I was treated to a meal at this restaurant by some fantastic people I met in Cebu.This was a first visit for all of us & first impressions were good.The place seemed relatively new & was very well kept.The layout was great as you could see the kitchen & staff preparing the food.Most of the menu consisted of dishes priced between 260 - 320 pesos for a small portion & 480 pesos for a large.We all ordered small portions, however they were by no means small and were in fact very generious in size.I ordered a Spaghetti, Tomato & Sausage dish which was absolutly delicious.We all agreed that the Italian food here was so tasty & such great value that it would be difficult for an authentic Italian place to compete with these standards.By far the best restaurant ive eaten at in a long time.I highly recommend you visit it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JONO5K1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giuseppe Pizzeria & Sicilian Roast also viewed

 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Giuseppe Pizzeria & Sicilian Roast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing