We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Service and Food, Extensive Menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canvas Bistro Bar Gallery

Canvas Bistro Bar Gallery
Ranked #30 of 616 Restaurants in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Canvas Bistro Bar Gallery offers casual bistro dining with modern industrial look, serving Australian Cafe style food, using traditional Western cooking techniques infusing the flavours of the East, while maximizing the use of local produce for sustainable practice. Bar serves a limited but good selection of Australian wines, cocktails and non alcoholic tonics.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Food, Extensive Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Though I'm not a very frequent customer, each visit to Canvas never fails to satisfy my gastronomic demands. They offer a lot of dishes (and good drinks to go with that!). Service is just wonderful. Staff really "care" for you and would patiently listen to your demands (e.g. add more garlic on top of the mashed potatoes and stuff like that; don't get me wrong, the guy in the next table was speaking a bit too loudly). Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Katja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    57
    17
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I've been a lot of times at Canvas. The chef is an australian guy that really seems to care about cooking good food. They serve the best caesar salad in cebu city. They also have a very good imported steack from AU and a descent wine list, with a good merlot for 700 php. Service is excellent. This is the only retaurant in Cebu that constantly serves all the starters together, as well as the main dishes! (Often in other places you'd have your starter served when thepeople with you would wait for theirs). The waiters really know their jobs and it needs to be said. The decor is also nice and cozy. I'd change the chairs though, they are not very confortable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jasperzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For the price, the quality and flavors of the food, this bistro is top value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

After our last meeting that day, our group searched for a restaurant for dinner at The Terrace section of the Ayala Center. The menu was displayed outside the bistro, and we were curious to try the crocodile, and the ostrich dishes. It's an aussie bistro, owned and operated by a real Australian chef.

I wasn't impressed with the interior. The grey, minimalist, industrial decor made it a bit gloomy. It could use a better redesign.

We ordered Aussie Beef and Onion Pie, Ostrich Steak, Crocodile in Jambalaya Rissotto, different salads, the soup of the day; among many others. For desert, we all ordered the Sticky Date and Toffee Pudding (see the photo). Every dish was beyond all our expectations. None of us expected every order to be so good. It was the first time, any of us tasted crocodile (tastes like chicken), and first for most of us to taste ostrich (just like regular steaks). We didn't need much condiment. Every dish was flavorful. Our unanimous favorite was the desert. We expected a really heavy, moist, cloyingly sweet christmas fruit cake; but wasn't. And we were attracted by its presentation. True to the name of the bistro, it looked very much like an abstarct painting.

The service was prompt. The prices were surprisingly affordable. And we all hope to return, and sample more of the dishes on the menu some day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RTG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food and Service - Superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I am a self proclaimed workaholic, therefore, whenever im on my rest day i make sure that i eat my heart out at the best food joints here in the metro. It was a saturday night when me and my girls decided to have our monthly get together and ofcourse our indecisiveness when into play. It took us over an hour and a half to decide where to eat, we visited a much more cheaper restaurant however they were packed with people. I then suggested to try out Canvas Bistro Bar Gallery since they've never been there. There has not been a lot of changes since my last visit, either way the bistro was still nicely lighted with chic interiors.Its ambiance was fantastic , it was slightly fancy but not too intimidating. We then ordered their appetizer that was in a big platter with a variety of finger foods to choose from ,tried out their pasta and their desserts. They have huge serving, good for sharing- so you actually get what you paid for. Another thing that i love was that their head chef did actually welcome us and asked for some feedback, with great food and service i was so happy to give out such wonderful compliments. We were all a happy camper that night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank food_trotter_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
219 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fast beat background music | Bistro with western platters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The decor is original. The staff are well trained. The platters are well prepared. The price is a bit higher than others in its range. Portions are smaller too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SHADIADNAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canvas Bistro Bar Gallery also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Canvas Bistro Bar Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing