We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite stay at Gran Tierra”
Review of Gran Tierra Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gran Tierra Suites
Ranked #2 of 76 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Suite stay at Gran Tierra”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Located near the busy hub of Fuente Osmena, this boutique hotel is a gem in the area. 

The staff welcomes you warmly with their generous smiles & a welcome treat - a freshly-baked soft pastry w/custard filling that melts in your mouth w/ just enough sweetness to erase all your tiredness & makes you want to eat more. You may order these from the frontdesk as these come in fresh daily from the owner's bakeshop near the market. Try the cheeseroll too.

The rooms are aptly-sized. We got:
1 Single room (1 twin bed for 2pax, extra charge for 2nd pax)
1 Family room (1 single bed w/1 queen-sized bed for 3pax)
1 Double room (2 single beds for 2pax)

Rooms are very clean. Each room has a 19" flatscreen LCD TV w/cable channels, 1 long table for vanity's sake & enough to place your handbags & cosmetics, it also holds a tray w/a pitcher & glasses for your water needs (hot&cold water dispensers in the hallway has plenty of refillable water for the guests). Rooms also has bedside tables, warm lighting, a/c, small closet w/hangers. Toilet has basic toilettries, hot&cold shower. You have to make sure you request beforehand for a floormat to soak up the splashes from the shower but they will provide you with it once you request to make up room and they see that the floor's all wet. Nice attention there.

The staff is very attentive & helpful in their service: from email/ texting/ calling about our reservation & queries about their services; from check-in to check-out & all the details in-between. 

They serve breakfast at at least Php150 per order. But you may opt to take a nice morning walk 2 blocks up to the known coffee shop by the corner or tge fastfoods across the coffee place. 

Cabs are easily found in the area, we walked from Fuente circle back to the hotel & it was safe & quiet what with a reputable hospital nearby.

Massage service (no hanky panky) is also available for guests although we didn't get to try it. Deliveries from outside establoshments are encouraged, the frontdesk has flyers of different restaurants that offer quick delivery.

The rooms at Gran Tierra may not be as big as suites but our stay was sweet indeed.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank alexij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    59
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
26
43
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

If your going to spend a couple days getting medical tests this Motel has a good location. Located between Chong Hua and Cebu Doctors Hospitals you can walk to both easily. They offer free parking and a guard watches your car. The free wifi, hot and cold bottled water, and pastries sure come in handy. We brought instant coffee and mixed it with their hot water from 5 gallon bottled water dispensers. They have a latte machine at desk but we did not ask for one so not sure if it's free.

Room Tip: Get a back room, the front ones are noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cheadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

This hotel sits right smack uptown Cebu. A safe, quiet and less crowded area. Only a few meters away from Cebu Doctors Hospital, The Provincial Capitol, the famous Cebu Larshian (Rows of BBQ stalls), Fuente Circle etc. You can easily go around the city since transportation is plenty (Jeepneys and Taxis).
Rooms are basic (a/c,cable tv,phone, hot and cold shower).
The only things that bothered me were the rather hard mattresses and curtains that didn't quite extend to cover the entire window. We checked in on a ground floor interior room and our only view was the firewall and the hotel's laundry area with rugs hanged on a clothesline.
They don't serve meals but they have a menu of several restaurants nearby you can call for delivery.
No laundry service, but there's a laundry shop about 50 meters away.
Generally, this is a nice place to stay. and contrary to the others who gave bad reviews about the staff. I found them to be actually courteous, polite and attentive. Will come back the next time I'm in Cebu.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StartWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Our hotel room is simple- white/beige walls, white curtains, plain linens, dark wood vinyl flooring, simple wood laminated cabinet & table, flat screen TV and don't have too much decorations which made the room look very clean. Bathroom is also clean.

The room rates are also very affordable. We got a Family Room which is good for 3 people and it only costs P1,189.00 (as of April 2011).

The location is quiet since it is about 2 blocks away from the highway. But it is 5-10 minute-jeepney ride to the Fuente Circle where the major establishments (food chains,mall etc) is located.

They don't have it's own restaurant but there's a coffee shop (Bo's Coffee) 2 blocks away from the hotel. They also don't have an elevator (the hotel is 2-storey) so if you're traveling with someone who'll have a hard time using the stairs, you might want to reconsider.

We just kind of had a hard time making reservations because we had to deposit the whole amount to their bank account. It would have been easier if we can reserve online using a credit card.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blush18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuw Vennep, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Gran Tierra suites is in the Capitol region of Cebu City. That means, everything you "need" is very close by. Some are even walking distance. Ofcourse, one has to consider the fact, it's not the richest neighbourhood of Cebu City, so if you can't deal with that, you should find another area in the city.

Anyway, upon arrival we got these amazingly yummy welcome pastry, and the rooms were good. The beds are really hard, which kept me awake the first night, but i was getting a bit used to it the second night. The third night: no problem! Rooms are not super big, but for sure they're not small either. You get a bed, a closet and a t.v.

Breakfast is not included, but there's a Bo's Coffee just 1 block from there. Actually, the hotel even has a "menu" in the room, that consists of menus from the local fast food restaurants. They dont charge any corckage for brought in food.

The place was clean enough, very affordable and will be our place again next time we go to Cebu.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeanutH_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parts unknow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

First the positives. This hotel is near many places like Fuente Circle, NBI, Capital Site, Robinson's Cybergate. It's centrally located if you are planning to go south and north of Cebu. There are plenty of places to go as formentioned, most will cost you about 60 pesos to 130 pesos for places in Cebu City. In addition there are many fast food restraunts that deliver to the hotel for a fair price.

Grant Tierra Suites has very nice staff, from the reception desk to the hotel security; the entire staff was very friendly and delivered great services.

That bad.....while the staff is great the rooms and the location of the hotel itself has to be improved. I dont think managment can do much about the surrounding neighborhood, but it's in very poor condition with a number of people always standing by just looking at visitors come and go. I'm not sure if these people are working around the street or homeless, but the area is very dumpy....not an area I would want to walk around at night. There is also lots of trash on the streets, I even saw rats the size of a chihuahua running the streets there.

The outside view of our hotel room was an eye sore. Hanging clothes and a dirty building about 10 feet away; it would be better to enclose the windows or paint them or make them where you can see out, because its scary... Also, every morning some vagrant would wake us singing loud right outside our window...

The room. Well, not so clean for my standards. We were there for a while, and although the room was "cleaned daily" the furniture collected significant amounts of dust. We also had to request a few times that our dirty dishes be changed...the two worst things about the room was the hard bed and dirty bathroom. First the bed was so hard I am still having pain in my back. Don't be fooled, these beds are not firm, they are nearly rock hard....the bathroom was disgusting, mostly the shower. Any time you are more worried about what is getting on you than what you are washing off of you there is a major problem... there was mold and mildew all over the shower. I feared going in there everday as i tried not to touch the walls of the shower.

These a small fixes, but huge problems for Gran Tierra Suites. When I visit there again, I would not stay at this location, unless they change there ways of cleaning... at the same time keep up the great customer service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank imabadman30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

The location is perfect because it is quiet. super clean facilities. I love Gran tierra :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsOrobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.2 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
1.0 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#25 of 87 in Cebu City
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
#22 of 87 in Cebu City
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia
0.3 mi away
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
#31 of 87 in Cebu City
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Maxwell Hotel
The Maxwell Hotel
#36 of 87 in Cebu City
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Tierra Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Tierra Suites

Property: Gran Tierra Suites
Address: #27 Don Mariano Cui Cor. Don Jose Avila, Cebu City, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Tierra Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Gran Tierra Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Tierra Hotel Cebu City
Gran Tierra Suites Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing