We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oldest house in Cebu” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yap Sandiego Ancestral House

Yap Sandiego Ancestral House
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Cebu and Lapu-Lapu Cultural Tour
Ranked #5 of 110 things to do in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sheffield, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Oldest house in Cebu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

for a tour fee of 50 pesos, nice place that is still well maintained by the YAP family. The place still holds a lot of ancient artifacts and the 6th or 7th generation family members still do stay there sometimes. A nice landmark of Cebu.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank quixotiksoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    159
    55
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

The Sandiegos are good friends of my family and I have always been fascinated by their ancestral home ever since I was a child!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank 471BOVIC471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Cebu City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A glimpse of old Cebu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I love how they arranged everything in the place. It is a very beautiful museum of delicate antiques. What I love about the place is the homey style and feel, unlike other museums where you feel being watched all the time and thus make your visit uncomfortable. The Yap Sandiego indulges your curiousity and encourages you to touch and experience for yourself the traditional game of Sungka, or hold between your fingers an ancient egg-beater.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RaraFoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binãn, Laguna, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Restoration badly needed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

There was a delivery truck blocking the house and it was raining and the ancestral house was closed because the ground floor has flood water and the roof was dripping with rainwater. It is really an ancestral house that needs restoration. Old treasure wasted.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank DrRichard_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“breathtaking place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

the yap sandiego ancestral house was Au-some..breathtaking old house,, i was actually starstruck when i entered the house cuz a lot og huge and big saints inside,,the small sto Nino in the racking chair was also cute,,heheh but a bit scary,, i had also touched the 1940's carnival glasses and plates which was more interesting because my tour guide from CEBU TRIP TOURS told me that those old carnival glass and plates where given to you once you win something at the carnival before,,its like a token perhaps,, moreover i was more amazed when i found out that the roof was made of terracotta tiles which weighs 2 kilos,,wow!!.. We also went to the bedroom and i was so surprised when i saw this old version of baby crib,,

Yap Sandiego is a must see attraction we ,,thanks to my tour guide From Cebu Trip Tours which really gave me the best service ever!!!!..had fun also at Sto Nino Church, Magellan 's Cross, Toist temple, and so on so if you want to have a half day tour that is just PHP800.00 just call the Cebu Trip Tours # 318-7129 to arrange the best attractions in cebu..with nice and friendly guide with you!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Rach0923474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yap Sandiego Ancestral House also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Yap Sandiego Ancestral House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing