We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Check it out when you're in Cebu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Laguna

Cafe Laguna
Ranked #22 of 627 Restaurants in Cebu City
Cuisines: Filipino, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Check it out when you're in Cebu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went back to Cafe Laguna on our second trip to Cebu and we were not disappointed. The caldereta and liempo were excellent as their green mango shake. Service may have been a bit slow but it's understandable since the place was packed on a Saturday night. We ended the night by having a few beers at their outdoor seating and brought home two boxes of their 'kakanins'.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jojo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    107
    39
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cafe Laguna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a very good dinner at restaurant. My Wife who was a local like the traditional dish of chicken adobo. Good value.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This place is getting worse and worse... Too bad!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

there is something wrong on how they manage this 'used to be popular' restaurant... very bad and slow service, small portions, very expensive and bad facilities (dirty toilets) -- the food choice are good but very low quality and the people are appalling!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level Contributor
504 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 876 helpful votes
“like a nice shirt that has shrunk after washing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

their serving size became smaller unless i am mistaken. if i am wrong, then their serving size IS small to begin with. i ordered crispy pata, salad, lumpia. all are small compared to other cebu based filipino food restos OUTSIDE ayala mall. it might be the steep rent that is making the restos to make their serving size smaller. i remember when they were in lahug, the servings were bigger. nope, its not because its a long time ago since they were still in lahug. a resto with their main branch in lahug has serving size bigger than its resto in ayala.

i noticed lapses with service. some of our group of 12 didnt have utensils. when we ordered water, they left out 2 of us without water.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank al22tecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Everything was good but they run out of stuff early.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our first time there for early (7pm) dinner and the food and service were great! We liked it so much, we went back a few days later with reservations for 8 pm. By then they had already ran out of ALL our favorite dishes.

If you get there early enough try the fresh lumpia ubod - it's the best I've tried anywhere. Their kare-kare, bulalo, crispy tadyang, pinakbet and grilled tanigue are also winners.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Laguna also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Cafe Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing