We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and photo opportunities”
Review of Taoist Temple

Taoist Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.00*
and up
Private 5-Hour Cebu City Tour with Lunch
Ranked #3 of 112 things to do in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston
Level Contributor
227 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great views and photo opportunities”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I had read online reviews and was warned about the hike up the steps to the top of the temple. I prepared myself and wore a sports bra, gym pants and sneakers. The "hike" was a joke, I admit I was a little out of breath but it was fine. I was over-prepared.

The temple is still a functioning religious institution and there were worshipers present. We respectively walked around and observed the beautiful architectural details.

The Cebu city view from the top was beautiful. I would definitely recommend hitting up this local attraction.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    440
    217
    25
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“If in Cebu, come and see!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

In the majestic Beverly Hills, Cebu! set against million peso houses is an amazing majestic and peaceful Taoist temple, come and offer an incense before travelling through. Cebu's busy streets!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KCFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Solemn and Majestic”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I liked the place very much it is very solemn and majestic, but some visitors are noisy and are disrespectful. I would love to visit this place again, perfect for meditation and painting or sketching.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Knicolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“do not miss this!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The temple itself is so beautiful and well preserved. Situated on top of a hill, great view awaits you. It is very quiet and solemn, I like it that not so many tourists are here. Travel time to go here from the city is about an hour. This can be included as part of your city tour deal with cabs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank katanisven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Climb 81 steps and then see if your wish will come true!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The Taoist Temple in Cebu will always be part of my itinerary whenever I'm in Cebu despite the 81 steps I have to climb to get to the main temple. The 81 steps represent the 81 chapters in the Taoist scripture. Upon reaching the temple, you are rewarded by the breathtaking view of the Cebu harbor and Mactan Island. They have a huge painting of the Great Wall of China near the main entrance of the temple.

See if your wish will come true using the kidney shaped wooden blocks. My wish to go to the USA came true several decades ago so now I keep coming back again and again to see if my other wishes will also be fulfilled.

Then you have to climb another 40+ steps to reach another temple at the very top. View there is also magnificent. You can either tell your driver to pick you up at the top or climb down again. Best to exercise by retracing your footsteps. Going down gives you another angle of the view.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank profzulueta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taoist Temple also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Taoist Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing