We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Horror Stories”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Prix Hotel & Suites Cebu
Ranked #64 of 76 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Hawaii, Honolulu, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Horror Stories”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Okay, I booked this way in advance in May and was looking forward to my stay. I stayed there before and liked the central location of it. Well there was the earth quake and tried to contact Gran Prix and Agoda who booked my hotel, no response. So one of our friends went there before us and told us that there was damage and we booked one day at the Fuentes Pension House, another bad story. We eventually made our way to the Raja Park, it was good and clean.

We went to Gran Prix and the acting manager came to speak to us. He said the manager quit and the hotel does not charge Agoda until the guest checks in. He said sorry about that, well that didn't help us. So we just went on our planned trip.

So I guess you could say we double payed and our other money is out there in Agoda even though I have written them before and will try again.

So I guess the moral is book straight to the hotel at least you can some kind of service. Many time you don't pay till you arrive.

Room Tip: i cannot give a good review of services as we couldn't stay there because of earth quake damage.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mabuhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    39
    15
    22
See reviews for
13
26
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have tray meeny hotels and i have too say here in Gran prix hotel cebu i meet a nice staff i meet the manager firs day she was nice and she giv me a good rates room is ok they clin every day if you won or need staff is ok they are smiling and if you need info they will tray to help you so if you like small hotel near shoping mall and night life this is a place
what i was not like the tv stay to high on wall so you need to stay in bed to look tv and coz tv is small too hope the will put down tv mybe 20 to 30 cm down so more eacy too see tv rest is ok here..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedro5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipolo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My family and friends enjoyed our stay here while we were in Cebu last year.
The rooms were small but very clean and cozy. The bathroom was quite big.

It is a very basic hotel but you will have a peaceful sleep because of the clean and cold room. The sheets were also commendable.
The location was great and I also liked their surprise breakfast. When we asked the staff regarding our breakfast, we were given a stub and we had our breakfast at Jollibee!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaVitayBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
225 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The staff are friendly but you get overwhelmed by the inefficiency of their system. Not the staff's fault but of manangement. They did not receive my booking online. When i emailed them confirmation letter, the staff realized that my reservation was printed and not found on their system online.

The room was clean but it's ultra small. I'd say it's 10 square meters maximum. The toilet bowl's water tank is not in order and the bidet gets stuck such that high pressure water continues to flow. Imagine the horror i had with this.

Only other positive of this hotel is its location. It's centrally located and everything is just 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VincentRapisura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We were skeptical about it as the locations of this hotel chain in manila are in the bus stops or not really good ones. But this! Is the best location in Cebu. All public transpo passes thrh here. Room is not spacious- bed, desk, and thats it. Ideal for one night stay or if you are out the whole day. One bad thing is the toilet seat cover is loose. Suprisingly, they offer compli breakfast it really made my day! Good value for money!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geloapacible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Would only really recommend for a quick overnight stay on the way elsewhere. Room very small/compact, no windows. While no street noise, the TERRIBLE internal soundproofing caused every slamming door, conversation in hallway/neighbouring rooms, footsteps and noisy air-con etc to contribute to the lack of sleep. However free Wifi in lobby, clean linen and small limited choice local breakfast included. Handy location to shopping and staff friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiKat815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

After bohol we went to cebu to have a day tour and overnight stay as well. The room was quite small but still ok for 4 persons. clean and the staffs were friendly. You can request to serve the breakfast in the room. The hotel is near the robinsons mall and regency hotel if you plan to try the skywalk,etc. foods resto of your choice were just a walking distance. We found the zubu chon at one mango mall and the lechon was great. When we check-out, they gave me a flower (1rose) as a valentines gift, sweet :-)
Maybe they will give another flower if i said that was my Birthday also :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AeyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
0.3 mi away
Rajah Park Hotel
Rajah Park Hotel
#57 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
#31 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Plaza Hotel
Holiday Plaza Hotel
#49 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#65 of 87 in Cebu City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palladium Suites
Palladium Suites
#160 of 212 in Cebu Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Well Hotel
The Well Hotel
#14 of 76 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Prix Hotel & Suites Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Prix Hotel & Suites Cebu

Property: Gran Prix Hotel & Suites Cebu
Address: Maxilom Ave | 3rd Floor Coast Pacific Business Center, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Prix Hotel & Suites Cebu 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Prix Econotel Cebu officially rolled out its red carpet to both foreign and local travelers, as the newest and most innovative econotel in Cebu. It's first in the Visayas, Gran Prix Econotel Cebu takes pride in its personalized, efficient and fast service, comfortable accommodation, affordable rates and perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Gran Prix Hotel & Suites Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Prix Hotel And Suites Cebu
Gran Prix Hotel & Suites Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing