We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sugbutel: One Of Its Kind, Only In Cebu City!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugbutel Family Hotel
Ranked #51 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed March 3, 2010

So far the cheapest accommodation that I have found in Cebu City. Sugbutel charges Php250 per person per night (on the business class accommodation). It prides itself of being the Cebu’s first bed and bath facility of its kind, inspired from the capsule hotel concept popularized in Japan. This hostel type of accommodation is one of the many projects of Carlos A. Gothong Holdings Inc, a recognized real estate company of talented young professionals who successfully launched One Edison Place in 2006.

We actually stayed on their 1st class accommodation which has a daily rate of Php 350 per person. The room is very simple, no frills. We were given the room which is good for 2 persons. It is also quite comfortable, enough to justify the meager rates that they charge for your stay. The beds are cushioned and the sheets are well laundered. When I was ushered into our room, it felt like I was inside the cabin of a ship. The beds resemble those that are seen on shipping line cabin accommodations. And guess what? The beds are equipped with its own curtains!

Staying in Sugbutel for a little over 3 days was an entirely new experience for me because of its unique approach to bed and bath accommodations. One gets the value for money. It may not be as comfortable like the regular accommodations that we are accustomed to but you can be assured of a comfortable rest while in Cebu on a budget trip. Aside from having the cheapest rates in Cebu City, they still offer promos so you still can save a few extra pesos! The following are the amenities provided for while staying in Sugbutel:

BED FEATURES:
- Overhead light
- Small safety box under the pillow for your private belongings
- Shoe ledge
- 220v electric outlet

ROOM AMENITIES:
- Fully air-conditioned
- CCTV cameras
- Free wireless and hi-speed internet connection
- Non-Smoking area
- Piped in music

FACILITIES & SERVICES:
- Spacious and elegant toilet and bath
- Entertainment lounge with home theatre system
- Atrium
- 24-hour back up generator
- Parking spaces
- Baggage deposit counter
- 24-hour security

HOSTEL OUTLETS:
- Convenience Store
- Laundry Shop
- Internet Shop (opening soon)
- Pasalubong Center
- Canteen & Food Stalls

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank divine_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 142 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2010

Sugbutel is one of the new breed of mega hostels, with more than 400 beds. They have 2 types, First Class for 350 and Business Class for 250. There is no difference between the beds, they are all dorms. First Class has a few rooms that are only 2 beds, while most are 8 beds. First class comes with sheet/towel/blanket that Business class don't come with, but that you can rent for 60. The main advantage to First Class is that it is almost completely empty so you are almost guaranteed a dorm to yourself.

Good wireless connection, a theater that screens television shows and movies and you have the option to rent a locker. Very clean. Location is not close to much other than SM Mall which is walking distance.

It's a little bit faceless and humongous, but still a decent place at a decent price.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fersure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank jerome34a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dammer_thetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: que eu saiba todos sao parecidos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaís A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Алексей Ч
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.8 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#39 of 91 in Cebu City
359 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#25 of 91 in Cebu City
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Maxwell Hotel
The Maxwell Hotel
#37 of 91 in Cebu City
107 reviews
1.6 mi away
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
#27 of 91 in Cebu City
91 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#38 of 91 in Cebu City
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugbutel Family Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugbutel Family Hotel

Address: S.Osmena Blvd | cor. Road East, North Reclamation Area, Don Alfredo D. Gothong Centre, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range: $24 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sugbutel Family Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugbutel Family Hotel is formerly known as Sugbutel Bed & Bath, Cebu's first modern bed and bath facility - featuring 320 beds equipped with modern facilities and amenities. We are located 3 minutes away from one of Cebu's major malls, SM City Cebu, and 5 minutes away from the Seaports connecting to neighboring islands like Bohol and Leyte. We offer 24/7 security and CCTV cameras, 24/7 backup generator service, Free Wireless Internet Access and all our rooms are fully air conditioned. Convenience store and canteen at the ground floor and restaurant at the 3rd floor. We would also like to introduce our latest addition to Sugbutel Family Hotel - 47 private rooms furnished with twin or double beds, custom made fixtures, LCD cable TV, private toilet and hot and cold shower, and individually controlled air-conditioning. A safe haven for travelers of different kinds - Sugbutel Family Hotel continues to create better ways for the travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Sugbutel Family Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugbutel Bed And Bath
Sugbutel Bed & Bath Hotel Cebu City
Sugbutel Family Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing