We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for solo travelers/ or groups who are looking for an affordable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugbutel Family Hotel
Ranked #53 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed October 10, 2013

it was my first time in cebu last january 2013. Since my main goal was to experience the world-famous Sinulog and add the fact that i really don't allot a huge amount of money for accommodation(better spend more money on food pasalubong and fare expenses), Sugbutel was like God's Gift for me!

I easily detected the building since it's along the main road(near SM and the ferry ports). Lobby was clean and the front desk staff were accommodating. I reserved via email and they easily found my records.

I availed the cheapest accommodation that they offer, the dorm type. It was located on the 3rd floor. the elevator was kinda small but it's ok, not a big deal. Upon arriving at the floor, there's a security guard in the lobby and he asked for my reservation files and ID. If you're super tired from traveling, it will be a hassle but just think of it as their way of dependable security. Linens and towels are not automatically placed on the dorm bed so you have to ask for it on the lobby area(3rd floor) and leave some ID.

The lobby per floor are equipped with cctv cams(if i remember correctly), a pc unit and tv.

The bed was enough for my body size and there's a security locker below. You'll also have your own electric socket and light in case you want to read books at night and the main room lights are already switched off. Airconditioning units are working properly so you better request for some blankets.

I took a ship(2Go Travel) on my way back to manila so the hotel was also the best choice for me since it's near the ferry port. It's also near SM Cebu where there's a jeepney terminal bound to cebu city and even other places.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank musickaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 144 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Dorms were the only available beds. It is loud and people don't seem to follow the rules stating for guests to be quiet. The staff does not reinforce the rules. The bathrooms are dirty as it is public. Its P350/PAX For beds with linens no pillows or towels. P1050 total for 3. Not worth it. However if you have no where is to go then It's the place to go.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

In total we have stayed there 3 nights on different occasions. Rooms are clean and the place gives a safe impression, which is not unimportant for a place like Cebu.

On the first occasion we stayed there, there was however a notable issue with the reservation.
After having made the reservation by telephone round 8 pm for that evening, I received a text at 9 pm the same day saying that they could not guarantee my reservation and that they prefer walk in guests! I could not believe I had just read that. As I was on a plane that was about to take off, I could not call them again. Fortunately the room was still vacant when we arrived there around 11:15 pm. Although all went well in the end, in my opinion it you can't just cancel a reservation after having accepted it at first. Apart from this, all was fine: very basic room, quiet, clean, no window though (might be an advantage rather than a drawback).

Beware of phone reservations: before you know it, they can be cancelled!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stef133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed in one of the executive rooms at the Sugbutel, a perfect choice! Sugbutel is 'big' in dorms, but also has some great 'normal' rooms.

The hotel is quite a walk from the centre. When we where there it had just rained a lot, which makes walking almost impossible. Taxis are (as anywhere in the Philippines) cheap and omni-present. The jeepneys, which run in front of the hotel, don't go to the centre, but do go to SM-mall.

The room was nice and clean, with a good bed. The service and security is perfect. When we had a problem with our toilet, the maintenance guy was there within a few minutes to fix it.

A downside to it is that there is no bar or restaurant nearby. No breakfast or dinner here. SM-mall is very close, with plenty of choice in (fast)food, but a bar would have been nice. At ground level there is a small shop, which sells some drinks and snacks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I thought this hotel is just like the other "low priced" hotels and pension houses in Cebu, but was amazed to see that it's a way way better than the rest - the place is clean and the room is nice. And I like their bed and the pillows - I used to have backaches when sleeping in hotels..but in this hotel sleeping is very comfortable. The staff as well are very nice and friendly. I was attending a company training until 6PM but was still able to do a lot of shopping because SM City Cebu is located very near to the hotel. Will be going back to Cebu on October and will surely stay again at Sugbutel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjmanila_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had read the mixed comments here in Tripadvisor, but since Sugbutel is located really close to ferry terminal we decided to try it anyway.

We did not have a reservation and upon walk-in they told us that there is no room in normal dorms, but with 500 pesos (double the usual price) we could stay in “Premium dorm”. We took the offer and headed to upstairs where very impolite security guard demanded to see our ID:s again (it’s not like 3 guys with pack bags would come to rob the place. Well at least they do have a good security!)

We were handed out sheets and towels (seems that also in premium class you have to do your own bed) and the employee working upstairs asked to get our passports which we could claim back upon returning the sheets. Seems that we looked really untrustworthy! We did not want to give out our passports and settled on leaving 1000 pesos as a security deposit instead)

Premium class dorm was just the same that every other dorm, but included a water bottle. There was the premium advantage of having only 4 beds in the room, but as the whole sleeping area of about 50+ beds is open space this really did not make any difference. Felt like a rip-off all in all. For some reason the package does not include actual pillow (or pillow casing for the weird pillowish part of the bed – can be seen in photo). As there was big group of Asian tourist leaving early around the morning (4:00AM) and making a lot of noise we hardly got any sleep even as sleeping with earplugs.

There was no hot water when showering (might been just part of the day. That is common in Philippines) But if name says Bath I would expect some hot water at least.

Internet did not work at all. You could connect the wifi network, but there was no internet connection. We had asked about internet upon check in, so at this point we were quite pissed off. When asking about it again they told that "it is slow, because so many people are using it". However that was not the case, there just simply was no internet connectivity at all. One person who had stayed there for several days said that the internet has not been available during his stay.

When leaving we asked how to get Pier 4 (ferry to Tegbilaran) and were told that it is way too far to walk and takes 10-15mins with taxi. We took taxi from the front of Sugbutel and drove about 2 minutes to destination, which was very close. Luckily the taxi agreed using meter.

It would be a decent place to sleep for few hundred, but paying 500 and getting all this negative service made it a very bad stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tropico_MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I got stranded in Cebu due to peak season of sea trips going to Leyte. So while I was walking out of the pier I just used my phone to see if there are hotel vacancies nearby. I checked this Sugbutel and found that it was really affordable and so I booked it and before I reached the place, I already got my voucher. The place was clean. But the wifi is poor. If you just need a quick and affordable stay, you could consider this one. But it feels just like living in a dorm.

Room Tip: I think there are special solo rooms which cost a little higher. For me, as a male, it's ok st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeeJ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.6 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#38 of 92 in Cebu City
362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#28 of 92 in Cebu City
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Red Planet Cebu
Red Planet Cebu
#9 of 92 in Cebu City
863 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Maxwell Hotel
The Maxwell Hotel
#36 of 92 in Cebu City
108 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paragon Suites
Paragon Suites
#31 of 92 in Cebu City
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugbutel Family Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugbutel Family Hotel

Address: S.Osmena Blvd | cor. Road East, North Reclamation Area, Don Alfredo D. Gothong Centre, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range: $22 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sugbutel Family Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugbutel Family Hotel is formerly known as Sugbutel Bed & Bath, Cebu's first modern bed and bath facility - featuring 320 beds equipped with modern facilities and amenities. We are located 3 minutes away from one of Cebu's major malls, SM City Cebu, and 5 minutes away from the Seaports connecting to neighboring islands like Bohol and Leyte. We offer 24/7 security and CCTV cameras, 24/7 backup generator service, Free Wireless Internet Access and all our rooms are fully air conditioned. Convenience store and canteen at the ground floor and restaurant at the 3rd floor. We would also like to introduce our latest addition to Sugbutel Family Hotel - 47 private rooms furnished with twin or double beds, custom made fixtures, LCD cable TV, private toilet and hot and cold shower, and individually controlled air-conditioning. A safe haven for travelers of different kinds - Sugbutel Family Hotel continues to create better ways for the travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugbutel Family Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugbutel Bed And Bath
Sugbutel Bed & Bath Hotel Cebu City
Sugbutel Family Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing