We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-so restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Merto's

Don Merto's
Ranked #265 of 693 Restaurants in Cebu City
Price range: $2 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Don Mertos Restaurant and deli offers continental cuisine, US and Australian steaks, Spanish-inspired dishes such as Callos & Lengua and our own Lola's favorites.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
560 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 570 helpful votes
“So-so restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

First meal in the Philippines. Actually (and unfortunately) the food was quite forgettable (however, I do remember the waiter constantly clearing his nose, yuk) - prawns were the best thing that we ate, smooth with flavour; the pasta bake, nothing to it really, and what there was was too salty; beef soup was also too salty and the boneless ribs were a tiny portion and it turns out that removing the bone removes the fun, nibbling the meat is part of the experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank krys_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caloocan, Caloocan, Philippines
Level Contributor
212 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“No perfect meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I use to buy dark or mint chocolate chips (they are good) but never tried there food. Since the taxi i was toke don't want to wait for me just to buy the chips. I decided to take my lunch here. I order vegetable salad and pork (chop) and beans. Salad was good. The pork chop was tough ( over cook) beans was good. Maybe they have not perfected it. Written on the menu (new). Anyway with a tripavisor sticker on the wall. I might have to try other dish.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PCT555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“twice bitten”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We were recommended this place. Pity, as we wont go back again. Been twice, thats enough.

Their coffee, is brewed, its a deli, come on, what no Espresso machine, please. They do serve their coffee with some delicious Belgium wafer chocolates. That is the high point tough.

Did go back today to try a meal, very very dissapointed. My partner ordered the Lamb chops, ( as they call them here) 1 small bite of meat on each, there were only 3 and that was it. I ordered the Jimmy Rib Eye, med rare, it arrived with a huge amount of fat on one end, AND it was blue. For those of you that dont know what a blue steak is, its seared on both sides and served, RAW. As mine was. so was my partners lamb chops, they were taken away, with no apology. When they were returned they seemed to be a bit further cooked.

But so much sinew, not what i was looking for. My partner was still hungry, so ordered a salad, which was just.

The service staff need to more attentive. Maybe im more used to the standard from overseas, but this place let itself down badly. And they have a 4.5 Trip Advisor on the wall. Someone likes it.

Not me or my partner, we wont bother any more.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony_Jessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Charming Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Love everything about this place! Great service, prices are affordable, food taste great. Plus, they have the best cookies in town!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebu city
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“the best steak in cebu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

no kidding, this resto cooks the best steak in cebu... we had this steak-tasting activity and Don Mertos was the most pleasing and sumptious. i love the atmosphere too!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank exiephillippalileo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Merto's also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Don Merto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing