We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hamburger”
Review of Casa Escano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Escano
Ranked #23 of 86 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Two nights in Casa Escano. Stayed in one of the farthest rooms. There was no intercom so if you need anything, you will have to walk over to the coffee shop.
There were one or two mosquitoes in my area.
Otherwise the place is okay.
A little pricey to me though.
The coffeshop serves a mean burger! Yum.
Outside the hotel are restos with home-cooked style food. Just ask the guard for directions.
The hotel is a few minutes away by cab from the Ayala mall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the coffeeshop. The 'far' room I stayed in was like an afterthough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustJulie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedco, Owner at Casa Escano, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear JustJulie58,

Thank you for your review on our burger. Its actually one of our bestsellers & most of our customers who come back for it swear that its the best "value for money" burger in town.

Since we are a B&B, we do not have intercoms or telephones in our rooms. We also respect the privacy of our guests.

Thank you for staying with us & we hope to see you in your next visit to Cebu.

Sincerely,

Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 153 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staying one night in Cebu we chose to stay here. Quet with no noise from the traffic, confortable beds, clean. GGood breakfast With several Choices included. Everything for a resonable price. We also tried their restaurant in the evening. It was good. May go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulf Wike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedco, Owner at Casa Escano, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear UlfWikeL.jungblad,

We are glad that you liked our small & quaint B&B. It is a place for guests who would like to veer away from the "standard" high rise hotels. We also boast of the food in our restaurant & invite you to try our burger & steaks.

See you in your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family and I stayed from Aug 6 to 8, 2013 and found this hotel built in 1950 a charming, quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle of Cebu City. After a day out island hopping or a tour of the historical sites of Cebu City, it was nice to be back at Casa Escano to unwind. The staffs were kind, helpful and friendly. They were always at hand to lend a helping hand. One even walked us out to the nearest jeepney stand, hailed down a jeepney and made sure that the driver understood where we wanted to go to. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The location is central and safe. It was our first stay at Casa Escano and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SJKfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedco, Owner at Casa Escano, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear SJKfamily,

Thank you for your kind review of our B&B. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & were warmly welcomed by our staff. We expect to see you in your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The property is beautiful but the staff make it exceptional. We were greeted by name. The room are beautiful. The hotel are impeccably kept. The service is incredible and the staffs are for you all the time. Very kind gesture and exceptional customer service. Treat yourself to this one of a kind oasis!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atanas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedco, Owner at Casa Escano, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Atanas T,

We appreciate your compliment on our staff. Most of whom have been with us since we opened 5 years ago. It goes without saying that if our staff are happy with their work then they also keep their workplace as clean & functional as possible.

Would be happy to meet up with you & chat over a round of drinks.

Sincerely,

Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Commendable staffs.. helpful, polite, and always smiling.. makes you feel you're always welcome. I arrived very late at past midnight bec of more than 2 hrs flight delayed but the on-duty security guard that night handled everything w/o any hassles. Room is spacious and well-kept, has a strong wi-fi signal and really cold airconditioning :) Water pressure coming from the shower is somewhat slow but is strong coming out from the tap. Lastly.. the location. It is close to Lahug where the Ayala Mall and IT Park is situated w/ lots of really good restos. Will definitely stay here again on next visits.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILuvTravel713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed there from the 06.12.2012 till 09.12.2012 (3 nights). Excellent place: welcome drinks (watermelon juice from Don Merto's restaurant), comfortable rooms, a nice location. Staff was very hospitable, especially one of the waiters (sorry, can't remember his name but he's from Bohol). We were able to exchange the money there (couldn't pay the driver as we only had a big money), book a Cebu tour (although I believe you may find a cheaper option). Wi-fi was excellent (perhaps because we had a wi-fi router right near our door), also we had a water cooler 3 meters out of our room.

Room Tip: Our room was just near the water cooler and wi-fi router, and we liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruslan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our room was spotless, spacious, and nicely furnished. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, providing numerous touring and dining suggestions. The service was impeccable. We were truly treated like guests. The location is unbeatable, walking distance to everything! Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krum D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedco, Owner at Casa Escano, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Krum D,

Thank you for your great review ! We strive to maintain our rooms & facilities just like as they were brand new.

I believe you were not able to see much of our city or island & would suggest that you stay longer next time so you can see all the other places & adventure our island has to offer.


Sincerely,

Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.4 mi away
St. Mark Hotel
St. Mark Hotel
#15 of 92 in Cebu City
181 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
1.8 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 92 in Cebu City
1,399 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#12 of 92 in Cebu City
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Escano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Escano

Address: 94 Juana Osmena St. | Capitol Site, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range: $40 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Escano 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Escano is an ancestral home converted to a bed & breakfast. Casa Escano has a 11 rooms, one family room good for four guests, 2 superior rooms good for 3 guests, 4 deluxe rooms good for two guests and 4 standard rooms good for 1 guest. Casa Escano has a rustic, homey environment, quiet and free from the hustle and bustle of traditional hotels. We also have ample parking good for 40 vehicles. Total square footage of the property is 2000 square meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Casa Escano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Escano Hotel Cebu City
Casa Escano Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing