We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent budget choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Rosario Pension House
Ranked #23 of 78 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 25, 2011

this is a simple however very good choice when you are in Cebu. Rooms were clean, bathroom was nice, beds were excellent and good wifi at reception. My wife enjoyed the breakfast next morning. Price was 1300 PHP (for a room with 3 beds) which we tought was very good value (including aircon)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michalinho13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Casa Rosario Pension House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 43 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

With so much choice of affordable accomodation in cebu city i would not stay at casa rosario. I had the water to my room cut off 40 minutes prior to check out time, something i've never encounted at my many hotel stays around the world. When i questioned this i was basically told that it's normal practice, if so, inform the guests of this when they check in.

Room Tip: avoid rooms at the front of the building, too much street noise.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oziboy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

simple accommodation but great experience, low rates, good breakfast, free internet, central location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeas19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

i go to cebu quite often almost evry month and choose to stay on this place, everything is near redemptorist church, convenience store, fuente and almost all hospitals are near.excellent service upon arrival, rooms are spacious and clean, hot and cold showers worked w/ internet also, hot and cold water dispenser available at all times on all floors and with elevators..

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marge1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My previous two reviews of this humble,but good, hotel/pension house (what is it really,a pension house or a hotel?!), highly praised it but,unfortunately,I cannot do the same now basing on our "experience" there last May 12 to June 3,2011! No,it's not as bad as it sounds here,it's still quite a good hotel ,except that it somehow has deteriorated in its upkeep and maintenance,to the point where they don't seem to care much (or know!) about fixing any problems occurring (or has occurred!)! The worst example of this was the hot water in our bathroom,which was out of order when we arrived AND STILL out of order when we left 23 days later! Their reason for the delay in repairing it was that the "part" for it had to be ordered from Manila,but unless Manila was on the other side of the moon (and even then!) it never arrived while we were there! (We had to use an electric water heater jug,which we had with us, for our hot water when taking a bath!) And this was not the only problem! The day AFTER we arriived our overhead round fluorescent light "expired",but the replacement,which turned out to be an old used one,also expired just after one day! And it took them almost a whole morning to replace it - not only because what they used as replacement was not of the same size but also because they did not have any spares and still had to buy it! Sounds like the "Keystone Cops",doesn't it? Any more "problems"? Yes! The airconditioner was not really doing its utmost of cooling the room,specially during the hot afternoons! (Last year,as we always stayed in the same room during the three times in as many years we stayed in this hotel,it too "expired" on our very last day there; thank God we only had a morning left before our departure!) Any more "problems"? Yes again! They could either repair the two venetian blinds in the room,or replace the one which was quite obviously much smaller than the window it was supposed to cover!
Would we stay there again? Probably yes, as in spite of the above "complaints" we still rate the hotel, overall, as good value for money! And its location is superb! But,for heaven's sake,to Management: "take care" of your hotel; employ a qualified,and experienced, Service and Maintenance Mgr. to keep it "up to scratch and as good as new"! Don't let it be until it crumbles down just to save a few centavos! You have a "rough diamond" there you know!

Room Tip: As said above,we always stayed in the same room (on the 3rd floor) in the 3 times,in as many years...
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andresing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The room we got was one with twin beds. The place is showing its age although one can see efforts to maintain and give it a face lift. The amenities are good for a budget hotel.

There is hot and cold shower and faucet in the bathroom and the bathroom tiles shows its age. The room has good air conditioning but the air grill is gone. The TV is LCD with cable channels. The dress has a light. Closet is a little low for my height. The ceiling shows prints of fixtures of old which have been removed. There is a square hole on the ceiling.

Breakfast buffet is available for P120 or roughly $3 with limited choices. The taste is about average.

Plenty of taxis go by 101 Aboitiz Street, where this hotel is located, so no problem if you need to hail a cab. In front of the hotel is St. Therea's College Cebu. Two laundry shops are nearby and convenient. There are cafes in the arcade next door, even a Mister Donut. An Internet cafe is also at the arcade.

My colleague ordered beer sometime close to midnight. I was surprised it was the security guard who sent it up to the room as waiters and kitchen personnel are not available at night.

There is an elevator but it is quite small with a capacity of only 6 persons tops. The entry to the elevator is narrow. It might not be good for wheelchaired persons.

Wifi is free, although in five days, I had two nights of spotty or no Internet.

Noise or even people talking in the hall can be easily heard inside the room. Must be the unplanned acoustics in the place.

For those with vehicles, parking is available at the side of the hotel. If you park deeper insde the parking area, you will notice a house whose occupant specializes in restoring BMW's.

Overall, the stay was average but kind of pleasant.

This hotel was not our first choice. The first choice was fully booked and so was the third choice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hitman531ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at three Cebu Pension Houses this July. Casa Rosario was best among them. We stayed for ten days, often taking a second room for the family to use. Location is close to Osmena Fuente Circle, on a sometimes busy side st ( due to St. Theresa School.). Front desk staff is helpful and accomodating, maid service is spotty, often leaving trash in hallway for days at a time. Restaurant is OK, but you may tire of their limited menu after 3 days. I would consider returning here again if I am in the city. Keep in mind there are dozens of low-cost options in central Cebu City.

Room Tip: Rooms tend to be noisy, request room not on Aboitiz St.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lolo789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.0 mi away
Rajah Park Hotel
Rajah Park Hotel
#57 of 91 in Cebu City
91 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premiere Citi Suites
Premiere Citi Suites
#49 of 91 in Cebu City
144 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Mark Hotel
St. Mark Hotel
#16 of 91 in Cebu City
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#6 of 91 in Cebu City
155 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fuente Pension  House
Fuente Pension House
#12 of 78 in Cebu City
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Grass Hotel
Palm Grass Hotel
#7 of 78 in Cebu City
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rosario Pension House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rosario Pension House

Address: 101 F. Ramon Aboitiz St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range: $32 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Rosario Pension House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Casa Rosario Pension House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rosario Pension House Hotel Cebu City
Casa Rosario Pension House Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing