We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Rosario Pension House
Nearby Hotels
Cebu Grand Hotel(Cebu City)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$53
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Mark Hotel(Cebu City)(Great Value!)
$36
$26
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$57
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Harolds Hotel(Cebu City)
$60
$53
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Cebu(Cebu City)
$217
$160
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
11
22
10
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
22
10
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roomhot watertocinocable tvtoilet paperfree wifitight budgetbuffet breakfastair conditioningbalconypesosshowerantslaptopsecuritytaxiayala
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 44 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My previous two reviews of this humble,but good, hotel/pension house (what is it really,a pension house or a hotel?!), highly praised it but,unfortunately,I cannot do the same now basing on our "experience" there last May 12 to June 3,2011! No,it's not as bad as it sounds here,it's still quite a good hotel ,except that it somehow has deteriorated in its upkeep and maintenance,to the point where they don't seem to care much (or know!) about fixing any problems occurring (or has occurred!)! The worst example of this was the hot water in our bathroom,which was out of order when we arrived AND STILL out of order when we left 23 days later! Their reason for the delay in repairing it was that the "part" for it had to be ordered from Manila,but unless Manila was on the other side of the moon (and even then!) it never arrived while we were there! (We had to use an electric water heater jug,which we had with us, for our hot water when taking a bath!) And this was not the only problem! The day AFTER we arriived our overhead round fluorescent light "expired",but the replacement,which turned out to be an old used one,also expired just after one day! And it took them almost a whole morning to replace it - not only because what they used as replacement was not of the same size but also because they did not have any spares and still had to buy it! Sounds like the "Keystone Cops",doesn't it? Any more "problems"? Yes! The airconditioner was not really doing its utmost of cooling the room,specially during the hot afternoons! (Last year,as we always stayed in the same room during the three times in as many years we stayed in this hotel,it too "expired" on our very last day there; thank God we only had a morning left before our departure!) Any more "problems"? Yes again! They could either repair the two venetian blinds in the room,or replace the one which was quite obviously much smaller than the window it was supposed to cover!
Would we stay there again? Probably yes, as in spite of the above "complaints" we still rate the hotel, overall, as good value for money! And its location is superb! But,for heaven's sake,to Management: "take care" of your hotel; employ a qualified,and experienced, Service and Maintenance Mgr. to keep it "up to scratch and as good as new"! Don't let it be until it crumbles down just to save a few centavos! You have a "rough diamond" there you know!

Room Tip: As said above,we always stayed in the same room (on the 3rd floor) in the 3 times,in as many years, we stayed there,problems or no problem!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andresing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The room we got was one with twin beds. The place is showing its age although one can see efforts to maintain and give it a face lift. The amenities are good for a budget hotel.

There is hot and cold shower and faucet in the bathroom and the bathroom tiles shows its age. The room has good air conditioning but the air grill is gone. The TV is LCD with cable channels. The dress has a light. Closet is a little low for my height. The ceiling shows prints of fixtures of old which have been removed. There is a square hole on the ceiling.

Breakfast buffet is available for P120 or roughly $3 with limited choices. The taste is about average.

Plenty of taxis go by 101 Aboitiz Street, where this hotel is located, so no problem if you need to hail a cab. In front of the hotel is St. Therea's College Cebu. Two laundry shops are nearby and convenient. There are cafes in the arcade next door, even a Mister Donut. An Internet cafe is also at the arcade.

My colleague ordered beer sometime close to midnight. I was surprised it was the security guard who sent it up to the room as waiters and kitchen personnel are not available at night.

There is an elevator but it is quite small with a capacity of only 6 persons tops. The entry to the elevator is narrow. It might not be good for wheelchaired persons.

Wifi is free, although in five days, I had two nights of spotty or no Internet.

Noise or even people talking in the hall can be easily heard inside the room. Must be the unplanned acoustics in the place.

For those with vehicles, parking is available at the side of the hotel. If you park deeper insde the parking area, you will notice a house whose occupant specializes in restoring BMW's.

Overall, the stay was average but kind of pleasant.

This hotel was not our first choice. The first choice was fully booked and so was the third choice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hitman531ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at three Cebu Pension Houses this July. Casa Rosario was best among them. We stayed for ten days, often taking a second room for the family to use. Location is close to Osmena Fuente Circle, on a sometimes busy side st ( due to St. Theresa School.). Front desk staff is helpful and accomodating, maid service is spotty, often leaving trash in hallway for days at a time. Restaurant is OK, but you may tire of their limited menu after 3 days. I would consider returning here again if I am in the city. Keep in mind there are dozens of low-cost options in central Cebu City.

Room Tip: Rooms tend to be noisy, request room not on Aboitiz St.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lolo789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Definitely one of the best places to stay in Cebu, GREAT staff, very professional, hardworking and very corteous, they'd go the extra mile to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. If Cebuanos are known to be Good and Loving people then the staff is even better, professionally trained to work in a hotel, most especially the front desk clerks. Management indeed has found a "GEM" in these staff.

I stayed there for a week, never a day need i complain of anything. Price, Service and Accomodation is incomparable if you are looking for a place to stay in a tight budget. Everywhere within the hotel is clean, security is adequate, service is fast and efficient, rooms are descent and best of all room rates are way below on what you might pay on other hotels of the same level.

Location is just perfect, its near anything you might need when you are travelling, Mobility is fast since there is always a taxi waiting outside the hotel, or if you might choose to walk there is always something within walking distance, be it a mall, a bar, a laundry service, a restaurant or even a church.

It has been recommended to me by friends here in the US and now i do the same to all my friends wishing to travel to Cebu and experience the difference in culture and good values that the Cebuanos have.

So on my next Vacation to Cebu, its definitely straight from airport to CASA ROSARIO.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank garycebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

My friends and i shared a family room for several nights during Sinolog while in Cebu, close to everything you might need. The room was clean , and the staff friendly and accomodating, easy to get a coffee just around the corner and laundry just next door. As i said we were there during sinulog so it was very noisy with a streetside room during the celebrations, otherwise very quiet hotel. I highly recommend, as its easy on the pocket and a nice spot to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aqueouslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews